Ratings based on 240 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.8 out of 5
54% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by Pauline from bronx ny

thank you

Posted Nov 20, 2015 on Hotels
thank you
Comment from Hotel Management
May 21, 2016 by pete, Hotel Management
you are very welcome Pauline
2 out of 5
by Andrrew from New Hampshire

Disappointed

Posted Nov 11, 2015 on Hotels
Moved our daughter into college in the Bronx and wanted something not too far away. Would not return to this hotel. The desk staff was nice enough, but the overall feel is dirty. Way overpriced for the quality of the room and the location unless you just want a crash pad for a Yankees game.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 16, 2016 by pete, Hotel Management
Please allow me this opportunity to apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. You willingness to share your thoughts is appreciated.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice for a weekend getaway.

Posted Nov 2, 2015
Staff friendly and considerate. Clean room. Nice continental breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 16, 2015 by pete, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing our hotel, and for taking the time to write a review! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your accommodations.
3 out of 5
by Jacques

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 1, 2015 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by Kristian B

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 29, 2015 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by Fred Alam from Rochester, NY

Acceptable

Posted Sep 14, 2015 on Hotels
Ok for a one night stay. The room and hotel were clean but worn. Needs updating. The staff was very good. Needed a cab to Yankee Stadium and they had one there in 2 or 3 minutes. If you're looking for a large selection for breakfast you won't find it here. Coffee, juice, some mini doughnuts bagels and muffins, and some cereal is about all you'll find. The room was ok but small. We needed a roll-away bed and the only way to use it was to block the door out of the room. I'm pretty sure that's against the fire code. Probably will look for something else near Yankee Stadium next time we're in town for a game.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 21, 2015 by pete, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We truly value the opinions of our customers and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations. We are currently renovating our rooms. And we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from White Bear Lake MN

A parking place with sleeping facilities

Posted Sep 9, 2015
Pros: Free Parking
Cons: Better breakfast, wi fi in the room
Location: Not a good neighborhood, unless you enjoy police and police cars.
Picked the hotel because we would have a car, and wanted a place to park it while visiting family in Harlem. Very close to the upper east side, but not a good place for transit, and not a place to go for a walk. Breakfast was marginal at best, wi fi did not work in the room, housekeeping forgot us one day. That said the room was clean and neat, the shower was hot, and the view of the Harlem high bridge was worth a look.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 23, 2015 by pete, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your candid review of your recent stay at our hotel. Howard Johnson is committed to providing our guests with the highest quality services and facilities. We sincerely regret we fell short of our goal in this instance.
5 out of 5
by Eric from Jacksonville, FL

Nice hotel employees helpful

Posted Sep 8, 2015 on Hotels
I like the hotel I mainly spent most of my time in the city but far as sleep very quiet ice cold ac was a plus if you looking for a convenient hotel close to Yankee stadium and subway you won't regret it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 21, 2015 by pete, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing our hotel, and for taking the time to write a review! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your accommodations.Our hotel aims to provide a truly unique experience, and we are thrilled that we were able to exceed your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future.
5 out of 5
by anne from Bronx new york

Best Vacation

Posted Sep 8, 2015 on Hotels
it was comfortable staff answererd all my qestions without any hesitations. will tay there again
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 21, 2015 by pete, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing our hotel, and for taking the time to write a review! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your accommodations.
2 out of 5
by elicia from Brooklyn

never again at this Howard Johnson on 167

Posted Sep 4, 2015 on Hotels
The ice machine wasn't working didn't like the room I will never come back to this hotel again but the other Howard Johnson Hotel is where are usually stay will definitely be back at that one
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 21, 2015 by pete, Hotel Management
Please allow me this opportunity to apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. You willingness to share your thoughts is appreciated.