Ratings based on 256 Verified Reviews

2.8 out of 5
53% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by Ken

Posted Jun 12, 2016 on Hotels
This place was
4 out of 5
by Brett from howell, nj

work..sleep and back to work

Posted Jun 10, 2016 on Hotels
room served its purpose.... free parking. hotel next door to police precent. room and bathroom clean. bed was comfy. i just needed a room to stay instead of long drive back to Jersey in between workdays.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Deplorable.

Posted May 6, 2016 on Hotels
My pillow case was filthy on one side, the room was freezing, and the breakfast sucked. The kitchen wasn't supplied with breakfast items that was needed like milk. It was my worst experience ever. A potion of my money must be refundable for false advertisement.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 23, 2016 by pete, Hotel Management
Please allow me this opportunity to apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. We truly value the opinions of our customers and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 2, 2016 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by Oliver from Norfolk. VA

No Chalk Outlines, But...

Posted May 2, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel is next to NYPD precinct, good or bad, you decide.There are no elevators and the front desk attendant is protected by a bullet proof window. Paint chipping, carpet ragged & dingy, WiFi never worked and when I turned on the AC it had an odor similar to old urine that quickly dissipated. On the upside, the staff was excellent. They answered all of my questions and called cabs when I needed them. So don't take out your frustrations you have with the facility on them, they deserve better.One quick word or two about the continental breakfast, nice try. A few frozen pastries and mini bagels alongside of some sub-par cereals does not a breakfast make, you have to try harder. One of the best features of the hotel is the free onsite covered parking. If you travel to NYC then you know the value of that. If I travel alone to the city I may stay here again, wait, who am i kidding? I will not stay here again. By far the worst hotel I have ever stayed in and I have been all over the world, including some 3rd world countries that had better accommodations than this. STAY SOMEWHERE ELSE!!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 23, 2016 by pete, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your candid review of your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve with each and every stay. I greatly appreciate your comments about aspects of the room that need updating.
3 out of 5
by William

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 23, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 23, 2016 on Orbitz
The hotel is a little old but the beds are clean and the bathroom is good sized. The breakfast was very nice. There was a lot to choose from. The gentleman who worked the day shift was absolutely awesome! When I asked for something he was quick to respond.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 20, 2016 by pete, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We truly value the opinions of our customers and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations. We are currently renovating our rooms. And we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
1 out of 5
by efrain

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 21, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointed

Posted Mar 30, 2016 on Hotels
The toilet cover was broken, the hair dryer was broken, the bathroom walls and boarders were dirty, the walls near the bed were dirty, the rugs can be shampooed, beds to small when your a plus size and sharing with your spouse, the beds gave my husband and I body aches all over! Crazy how we only stayed for about 5 hours and I wouldn't stay there again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 18, 2016 by pete, Hotel Management
Please allow me this opportunity to apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. You willingness to share your thoughts is appreciated. Howard Johnson is committed to providing our guests with the highest quality services and facilities. We sincerely regret we fell short of our goal in this instance. Your comments are important to the success of our organization, as we rely on you, our guest, to tell us how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs.
4 out of 5
by Daniel

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 3, 2016 on Hotels