Ratings based on 245 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.8 out of 5
53% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by Fred Alam from Rochester, NY

Acceptable

Posted Sep 14, 2015 on Hotels
Ok for a one night stay. The room and hotel were clean but worn. Needs updating. The staff was very good. Needed a cab to Yankee Stadium and they had one there in 2 or 3 minutes. If you're looking for a large selection for breakfast you won't find it here. Coffee, juice, some mini doughnuts bagels and muffins, and some cereal is about all you'll find. The room was ok but small. We needed a roll-away bed and the only way to use it was to block the door out of the room. I'm pretty sure that's against the fire code. Probably will look for something else near Yankee Stadium next time we're in town for a game.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 21, 2015 by pete, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We truly value the opinions of our customers and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations. We are currently renovating our rooms. And we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from White Bear Lake MN

A parking place with sleeping facilities

Posted Sep 9, 2015
Pros: Free Parking
Cons: Better breakfast, wi fi in the room
Location: Not a good neighborhood, unless you enjoy police and police cars.
Picked the hotel because we would have a car, and wanted a place to park it while visiting family in Harlem. Very close to the upper east side, but not a good place for transit, and not a place to go for a walk. Breakfast was marginal at best, wi fi did not work in the room, housekeeping forgot us one day. That said the room was clean and neat, the shower was hot, and the view of the Harlem high bridge was worth a look.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 23, 2015 by pete, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your candid review of your recent stay at our hotel. Howard Johnson is committed to providing our guests with the highest quality services and facilities. We sincerely regret we fell short of our goal in this instance.
5 out of 5
by Eric from Jacksonville, FL

Nice hotel employees helpful

Posted Sep 8, 2015 on Hotels
I like the hotel I mainly spent most of my time in the city but far as sleep very quiet ice cold ac was a plus if you looking for a convenient hotel close to Yankee stadium and subway you won't regret it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 21, 2015 by pete, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing our hotel, and for taking the time to write a review! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your accommodations.Our hotel aims to provide a truly unique experience, and we are thrilled that we were able to exceed your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future.
5 out of 5
by anne from Bronx new york

Best Vacation

Posted Sep 8, 2015 on Hotels
it was comfortable staff answererd all my qestions without any hesitations. will tay there again
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 21, 2015 by pete, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing our hotel, and for taking the time to write a review! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your accommodations.
2 out of 5
by elicia from Brooklyn

never again at this Howard Johnson on 167

Posted Sep 4, 2015 on Hotels
The ice machine wasn't working didn't like the room I will never come back to this hotel again but the other Howard Johnson Hotel is where are usually stay will definitely be back at that one
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 21, 2015 by pete, Hotel Management
Please allow me this opportunity to apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. You willingness to share your thoughts is appreciated.
1 out of 5
by Daniel G.

Posted Aug 24, 2015 on Hotels
hallways smelled of smoke not worth 180.00
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 21, 2015 by pete, Hotel Management
Please allow me this opportunity to apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. You willingness to share your thoughts is appreciated.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pennsylania

Experience at the Hotel and getting to it.

Posted Aug 7, 2015
Pros: The room was clean and the people were friendly and very helpful.
Cons: The continental breakfast and eating area could be improved. Not sure how the area could be because of the limited space. Could offer more food types.
Location: We did not do anything in the area. It is a decent place to go to sleep. The area was clean as far as we could tell, felt safe and taxis were close.
We had no issues with the room. We got there before check-in time and they stored our luggage. I should have reserved one with queen or king beds so that was my problem. The room was very clean. We had an issue with the toilet cover. I was going to tell them when we checked out. But when we got back to our room that night, it had been repaired. We had no issues to and from the hotel. We were able to catch a taxi not far from the subway. On our way to catch the taxi from the subway, we had to walk down this steep hill but we found this cute little grocery store where we stopped and bought stuff to eat in our hotel room that night. The area we went though was crowded but clean. The people we had contact with were friendly and helpful. Even though we did not need the off street parking at the hotel, it was there and under a roof. The hotel called us a taxi in the morning to take us right to the correct subway we needed. The only downside, I believe, is it took time on the subway to get there from Manhattan. It was recommended that we not go outside after 9 or 10 at night. But we never felt uncomfortable getting there, being there, or leaving. So, I believe, we had a good experience. I would recommend the hotel to anyone who is just looking for a place to sleep. It is not fancy. They should be prepared to take a taxi, since it is quite a walk from the subway and it is rather hilly in that area. Don't go outside after dark unless you take a taxi.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 21, 2015 by pete, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing our hotel, and for taking the time to write a review! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your accommodations.Our hotel aims to provide a truly unique experience, and we are thrilled that we were able to exceed your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to ou
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Howard Johnson chain should double check the name

Posted Jul 31, 2015
Room even smelled like urinals! Very bad experience!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 7, 2015 by Pete, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We truly value the opinions of our customers and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Windsor, CT

OK hotel close to Yankee Stadium

Posted Jul 19, 2015
Pros: The staff was nice.
Cons: Remodeling is desperately needed. Once remodeled with new a/c and such this would be very convenient for another baseball game.
Location: We walked back from Yankee Stadium and felt very safe. Easy access back onto Major Deagan Expwy so we didn't stick around.
I chose this hotel due to the close proximity to Yankee Stadium. The staff was very nice. Parking was a little tight for my pick up truck but if you have a car it is sufficient. The room was very dated. The remote control only worked for volume and on/off. The a/c worked great but was set at 60 degrees and couldn't be changed, only turned off completely. Very little in the way of bed covers. We only stayed in NY because we didn't want to make the drive back to CT after the game. If the room was priced under $100 it would have been worth it but with tax and all it was $200, not worth it. Should have driven home.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 21, 2015 by pete, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We truly value the opinions of our customers and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations. We are currently renovating our rooms. And we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
1 out of 5
by Blossom

Posted Jul 7, 2015 on Hotels
Wouldn't stay there again. Not clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 19, 2015 by pete, Hotel Management
Please allow me this opportunity to apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. Your willingness to share your thoughts is appreciated.