Ratings based on 137 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St Louis

Hotel room comfort

Posted Nov 2, 2017
Pros: staff, breakfast, location
everything about the hotel was good, We just didn't care for the updated furnishings, to modern
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok for a brief stay.

Posted Oct 4, 2017
Being remodeled; may want to stay somewhere else for the time being.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Alexandria, VA

Worn Out, Run Down and Depressing

Posted Sep 25, 2017
Pros: The young lady who checked us in was pleasant. (The one who checked us out was sullen and indifferent.)
Cons: Everything. They had a sign saying they were remodeling. I think they should have closed the hotel until the remodeling was finished.
I booked a stay with Hampton Inn Brookhaven mainly because Hampton Inn is part of the Hilton Chain and I thought it would be nice. It wasn't. The room was worn out and run down. The mattresses were lumpy and uncomfortable and well past their prime. The room smelled musty and damp. The worst thing was the air conditioner, which sounded like a cross between a cement mixer and an old-style airplane taking off. When it rattled to life during the night, the sound was so loud that it frightened me awake. I sat up with my heart pounding multiple times during the night, disoriented and frightened by the noise. Neither my husband nor myself got much sleep. We felt jet-lagged the next morning. When we tried to brush our teeth, the sink filled up with water and floating black things and would not drain. The breakfast was cold. We checked out 2 days early and moved across the road to the Holiday Inn Express, which was new, clean and pleasant.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tennessee

Not a typical Hampton, more like a bad motel.

Posted Sep 22, 2017
Pros: nothing.
Cons: everything.
Location: just stopped to sleep
Check in took forever, double charged, woke up to the loudest drilling I have ever heard at 8am. Management wasn't available to handle the situation (s) It was a hot mess. Never so glad to check out of a hotel after 4/5 hours of sleep. Still haven't been acknowledged. Do yourself a favor and pass right by this on your way to the Comfort Inn. We are huge Hampton Inn lovers but this is not a Hampton.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Worst night of sleep I have ever had.

Posted Sep 22, 2017
Pros: the room was clean when we checked in.
Cons: Everything.
Location: n/a
We checked in around 2am and the receptionist did not know how to book the rooms together through her computer, then she accidentally booked the wrong rate and did not know how to cancel and rebook the room - we were told we would have to deal with it when her manager came in the next day. Then we offered to book the rate online and she agreed, so we did and that is how we finally got into rooms 40 minutes later at 3am. She did not know how to request late check out either. Also, we were told we could only have 1 bottle of water per room as Hilton Plus members. Five hours later at 8am we were startled awake by a jack hammer directly above our heads dropping dryway on the bed. The construction crews ignored the complaints and continued to bang and scrape until we left. I asked several times to speak with management and that person was unable to get to work due to "personal issues". I left a card and have not been contacted.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel close to the interstate.

Posted Sep 8, 2017
Pros: Breakfast-that's it.
Cons: Construction should not be done on floors occupied. Pool was small and dirty.
Location: Maybe security is needed. Never a good thing when Police show up in the middle of the night.
When I checked, I was given a smoking room. The front desk attendant did give me another room, but it was on the third floor with construction. Hallways were a mess, very loud with construction. The pool was very small and dirty. Coffee was frequently out. The Police showed up one night, and that concerns for me for the safety of my family. Hampton would have to do something for me to earn future business. Otherwise, I will never book at the Hampton again.
3 out of 5
by Ellen

Renovation mess.

Posted Aug 26, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel is being renovated. They have been doing this for at least the past 3 months. Noisy, hallway carpet is dirty and tracked up because of it. I had a nonsmoking room but it smelled like cigarettes because the room next door was a smoking room. Air conditioning units need to be cleaned or replaced as they smell like mildew.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, convenient to every thing.

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Good hotel, but they were remodeling. Mirror in room broken, carpet damp. After the remodeling, it will be a nice hotel for travelers.
4 out of 5
by Thomas

Posted Jul 26, 2017 on Hotels
Beds were comfortable, room very clean. Very nice breakfast. We would stay again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from brooks from Michigan

Great hotel with great rates

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Visiting family in Mississippi, everyone was polite and helpful close to major freeways and local eatery