Ratings based on 582 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.4 out of 5
36% of guests recommend
2.4 Room cleanliness
2.7 Service & staff
2.6 Room comfort
2.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ravenna

Posted Nov 25, 2016
Discreto motel per passare una notte di passaggio.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 4, 2016 by Direttore Generale, Hotel Management
Caro Maurizio, apprezziamo tutte le vostre risposte positive e sono contento di sapere della vostra soddisfazione presso la nostra struttura. Le gentili parole sarà molto apprezzato dal nostro staff e spero che si farci sapere se c'è qualcosa che possiamo fare in futuro per rendere le visite al nostro hotel ancora meglio. Non vediamo l'ora di potervi accogliere tornare presto e speriamo di fornirvi una superba esperienza completamente durante il vostro prossimo soggiorno qui! Saluti, Vikram Patel
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Rash

Posted Nov 14, 2016
When going to previous hotels booked through Expedia I have never had issues. I've come to expect certain standards from hotels that Expedia brands. The day of checkout I noticed I had a rash as if I had been bitten by some sort of insect or dirty spreads on the bed. I am highly disappointed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 19, 2016 by Hotel General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Zaire, I am sorry to hear that you weren't pleased with your experience at our hotel. I also apologize for the fact that our team members were not aware of your discomfort. Our entire staff is here to ensure that our guests have a comfortable and satisfactory stay, and I'm sorry that we did not achieve this goal while you were here. I hope that you will give our property another chance to welcome you here during your next visit to the area. Regards, Vikram Patel
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Needs fumigation

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: Location in relation to Philadelphia. Plenty of restaurants around but all close to early!
Cons: Roaches throughout rooms. Needs serious fumigation!!!!
Location: 13 minutes to Philadelphia
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 19, 2016 by Hotel General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for letting us know that you found our property to be in a very convenient location for traveling to the Philadelphia area. I am sorry, though, to hear that you experienced a pest control issue while you were our guest. We take all reports of insects very seriously and will be addressing your concerns with our pest team immediately. I apologize for the fact that this incident occurred and I do hope that the remainder of your stay here was pleasant. We value your business and hope that you'll continue to choose our hotel whenever you're in this area. Regards, Vikram Patel
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Roach Palace

Posted Nov 11, 2016
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Roaches EVERYWHERE, dirty & even non-smoking smells.
Avoid this place!! Motel 6 may have missed this one when they renovated or the management doesn't even care. We showed up late night, around 3 am. Check in wasn't bad... but our reservation got mixed up a little and didn't reserve two nights but the guy handled it well. It went down from there... The heater in our room banged so loudly we couldn't use it and had to be cold the first night. I killed two roaches before I even went to sleep. I killed one more when I woke up. Took a little banging but I got the heater to shut up for a few hours before it started again. After running errands we came back around 7 PM. Killed TWO MORE ROACHES. Tried to call the front desk from the room but apparently the phones are for show cus there was no dial tone... Called from my cell and the guy asked if I want to check out and get my money back or switch rooms O_O i'm thinking to him self so either I have to deal with the roaches or Aleve? They didn't offer any discount or anything. We choose to switch rooms since we didn't really have a choice, and there were still roaches in the new room!!! It may be $60 a night but that was not worth it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 19, 2016 by Hotel General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Quortney, I am deeply sorry to hear that you were completely dissatisfied with the experience you had at our hotel, and I apologize for the fact that our team members were not able to effectively address any of your concerns while you were here. I will let our professional pest control team know of your concerns immediately, as we value the absolute satisfaction of our guests. I hope that you'll give us another chance to welcome you here during your next trip to the area. We'd love to be able to earn a much better rating from you following your next visit to our hotel. Regards, Vikram Patel
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It aS ok the door was open when we got there

Posted Oct 8, 2016
Pros: Tv
Cons: There date smoke burns in covers and the force as open even before we got there and they had no phone in there
Location: There were some good stores
I like it if I had to stay there plus it was not that expensive but for a vacation no I would not like to stay
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 19, 2016 by Hotel General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for all of your very valuable feedback. We're always glad to hear about the things that pleased our guests, as well as the areas in which we could improve. I apologize that you weren't completely pleased with the experience you had here and I'm sorry for any discomforts that you faced while you were our guest. I do like hearing, though, that you found our hotel to be a good value and that you'd stay here again if simply looking for a clean room and a budget experience. I hope that you will, indeed, be able to return soon. Our team would love to have another chance to earn a full 5-star rating from you. Regards, Vikram Patel
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rockville, MD

Reasonable Value

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Pros: The price was reasonable. The motel is close to Philadelphia, where I went for a wedding.
Cons: I have no suggestions for the motel itself. I would have preferred a place with a higher level clientele.
Location: The motel is close to Philadelphia's downtown, where there are many museums, historical sites, and restaurants.
The motel room was fine. Everything worked as it should. My only reservation about staying there is that the some of the clientele appeared to be lower class, which scared me a bit.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 8, 2016 by Hotel General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Michael, I hope that you had a wonderful time at the wedding that you had traveled to the area to attend! Thank you for choosing our Motel 6 to host your visit here, and for letting us know that you were generally pleased with the experience you had here. Our team members work very hard to ensure that all of our guests are comfortable while they're here and I hope that you would be willing to return to our property if your travels ever brought you back to this area. We would certainly love the opportunity to have you as our guest again and we look forward to being able to earn a full 5-star rating following your next visit to our property. Regards, Vikram Patel
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It's no frills but it's a room.

Posted Sep 19, 2016
The water was hot in the shower but it looks like the bathroom in every bad crime show you've ever seen. The room wreaked of smoke and I'd swear the desk said it was non smoking. We were on the ground floor and all night long it sounded like people were talking right outside the room (inside if I didn't know better) it kept us awake most of the night. It served its purpose for the night but it wasn't great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 26, 2016 by Hotel General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for providing us with such detailed feedback following your recent stay here. We appreciate knowing that you found our property to be a good place to rest for an evening and I hope that you were pleased with the overall value you received from our hotel. I do apologize, though, for the fact that there were several things about your stay here that you were less than pleased with, and I'm sorry for the discomforts that these issues caused for you. We appreciate your feedback and will continue to work to enhance the services, amenities, and overall experience that we offer to our guests. I hope that you'll give us another chance to welcome you here during your next visit to the area. Regards, Vikram Patel
2 out of 5
by Elliot

The stay at motel 6

Posted Aug 28, 2016 on Hotels
It was okay not a place for romantic get away
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 2, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Elliot, Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to welcome you to our hotel during your recent trip to this part of New Jersey. It's great to hear that you found our property to have adequate accommodations, services, and amenities, but I'm sorry to hear that it wasn't the romantic destination you were hoping for. If there's anything we could do during your future stays here to make you more comfortable, please do let our team members know about it. Your complete satisfaction is our goal and we're looking forward to working to earn a higher rating from you following your next stay here. Regards, Vikram Patel General Manager
4 out of 5
by Stefanos from Germany

ok stay.

Posted Aug 27, 2016 on Hotels
At first I was given a smoker room, even I had booked a non smoker room, but after request I was moved the new room. This room was ok for the price. The place can also be reached by bus. Many different stores are located in the area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 2, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Stefanos, I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay at our Motel 6 hotel in Brooklawn, NJ. Thank you for leaving a good rating for our property here on Hotels.com and for letting us and other users of this web site know about the things that pleased you while you were here. I do apologize, of course, for the fact that there was a slight problem with your reservation upon your arrival here and I'm glad to hear that this was quickly and effectively resolved for you. We hope to completely satisfy all of our guests and we are looking forward to continuing to host your visits to this area. Regards, Vikram Patel General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Eau Claire, WI

Dirty and falling apart

Posted Aug 23, 2016
I stayed for two days at this hotel. The floors were dirty. There were holes in the wall. The wallpaper was peeling up in the bathroom. All of the fixtures are falling down. The only nice thing was that it was quiet which was a surprise considering the many derelicts that were staying there. It really seems like a long-term staying facility for transients.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 2, 2016 by Hotel General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Ryan, Thank you for giving our hotel the opportunity to welcome you here during your recent visit to this area. While I'm glad to hear that you found our property to be quiet, I do apologize for the fact that there were several maintenance issues within your room that should have been addressed prior to your arrival here. We valued the feedback of all of our guests and I hope that you'll give us another chance to welcome you here during your next visit to the area. We'd love to be able to work to earn a full 5-star rating from you following your next stay here. Regards, Vikram Patel