Ratings based on 603 Verified Reviews

2.4 out of 5
36% of guests recommend
2.4 Room cleanliness
2.6 Service & staff
2.6 Room comfort
2.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from brooklawn, nj

Lack of flexibility

Posted Apr 22, 2017
They refused to give us a nonsmoking room! The front desk was rude and all of our stuff now wreaks
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrendous

Posted Apr 7, 2017
HOLES IN WALL, WATER DRIPS FROM CEILING, DIRTY AND SMELLY ROOM , WRINKLED, TORN AND DIRTY SHEETS, TV BLURRY. STAY AWAY!!! Unless you don't mind all of the above
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 11, 2017 by Hotel General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, I am sorry to hear that you were completely dissatisfied with your experience at our motel. It's our goal to ensure that all of our guests find our property to be an excellent budget hotel and I apologize for the fact that we did not achieve this goal during your stay. We hope that you'll give us another chance to welcome you here during your next visit to the area. Regards, Vikram Patel
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North Jersey

Creepy crawlies!

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Cons: Hire an exterminator!
Location: The convince to downtown Philly was great.
Although the staff seemed like they were trying, the place gave me the creepy crawlies! When I woke up, I found out why. I had several bites on my leg and there was a cockroach on my tablet where I left it on the nightstand!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 17, 2017 by Hotel General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Denise, I am so very sorry to hear that your experience here was not a good one. We sincerely apologize for the fact that you encountered pests at our property and we assure you that we have followed up with our professional pest control team. I hope that you'll give us another opportunity to welcome you to our hotel during your next visit to the area. We'd love to be able to work to earn a 5-star rating from you following your next stay. Regards, Vikram Patel
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible Motel

Posted Jan 21, 2017
Pros: Location
Very Noisy: dogs are barking 24/7, people talking loud, we couldn't sleep. No coffee in the room or in the lobby. Rooms size are okay, but NOT clean. Bed size/good but NOT very comfortable. Customer Service: Zero!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 3, 2017 by Hotel General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, I am terribly sorry to hear that you were absolutely dissatisfied with your entire stay at our hotel. Further, I apologize for the fact that our team members were not able to correct any of the issues that you felt uncomfortable about while you were here. We value the comfort and complete satisfaction of our guests and are glad that you've taken the time to reach out to us with your feedback. I do hope that you'll give us another chance to welcome you to our hotel during your next trip to the area. We'd love to be able to offer you a much better experience during your next visit. Regards, Vikram Patel
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 21, 2016
The lady in Front desk service customer so bad, not even allow customer use their restroom while I'm checking in around 9:00pm. Waiting for 40mins she still can't help me to fix the problems. never going to this hotel anymore worst experience ever.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 29, 2016 by Hotel General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, I am sorry to hear that your stay here got off to such a bad start and I'm very concerned about the remarks you've made. I'm not sure I exactly understand the issue that occurred, but I do understand that you weren't pleased with the service you received from a member of our team. For this, I sincerely apologize. We hope to provide all of our guests with welcoming service and I'm sorry that this did not happen during your stay. I will address your remarks with our front desk staff, and I hope that you'll give us another chance to provide you with a 5-star experience during your next visit to this area. Regards, Vikram Patel
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cheapest place around for a reason

Posted Dec 19, 2016 on Hotels
Little to no amenities, ditry floor, smelled like smoke even though there was no smoking signs around motel
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 29, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for reaching out to us following your recent stay at our motel. We were glad to have the opportunity to welcome you as our guest and I hope that you did find our property to offer a good value based on the price that you paid to stay here. I would like to offer my apologies for the fact that you were not pleased with the general experience you had at our hotel, though, and I'm sorry for the fact that our team members were not able to address any of your concerns while you were here. We hope to provide all of our guests with a 5-star experience and I'm sorry that we did not achieve our goal during your visit to our property. I hope that you'll allow us another chance to welcome you here during your next trip to this area. We'd love to be able to provide you with a better experience during your next visit here. Regards, Vikram Patel General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel is rundown, Room had roaches!

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Hotel is in poor condition from the outside. Got to the room and it looked renovated and descent. We stayed in the second floor and had roaches in our room. Spend a little extra money and stay somewhere else. Believe me!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 16, 2016 by Hotel General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, I am glad to hear that you found your room here to be in a good condition, as we've certainly worked very hard to ensure that our guests have a comfortable place to rest and relax while they're here. I would like to offer my apologies for the fact that you encountered a pest control problem while you were our guest, and I also am sorry for the fact that you weren't pleased with the appearance of the exterior of our building. We will continue to work to make the changes that we can to ensure that we're providing all of our guests with a 5-star experience at our property. I hope that you'll allow us another chance to welcome you here during your next visit to this area. Regards, Vikram Patel
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hassle-free stay in clean environment

Posted Dec 10, 2016 on Hotels
Clean property with room cleaning everyday. Laundry facility on the ground floor. Vending machines on both floors. Free open wifi with good signal strength.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 16, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to let us and other users of this web site know of your complete satisfaction with our hotel! It was certainly our pleasure to host your recent visit to the Brooklawn, NJ area. We appreciate the 5-star rating and all of the positive remarks you've left about our Motel 6. It is our team's mission to deliver such a satisfactory all-around experience to all of our guest and our staff will be delighted to know that they achieved their goal during your time here. I hope that you'll continue to allow us to welcome you to our property whenever your travels bring you to this area. We're looking forward to being able to welcome you back for many more great stays! Regards, Vikram Patel General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New jersey

Facility old and dirty

Posted Dec 1, 2016 on Orbitz
The facility is in very bad shape, the door of the bathroom was broken
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 9, 2016 by Hotel General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Vidal, Thank you for reaching out to us with your concerns following your recent stay at our hotel. I am sorry to hear that your experience here was not a good one and I apologize for the fact that our team members weren't able to address your concerns while you were our guest. The comfort and complete satisfaction of our guests is our primary goal and I hope that you'll allow us another opportunity to welcome you here during your next visit to the area. We'd love to be able to welcome you back and provide you with a much better experience. Regards, Vikram Patel
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disgusting and stinky!

Posted Nov 30, 2016 on Hotels
I cannot put into words how disgusting the room was. Extremely dirty, run down and stinky. I should've slept in my car. Never, never again will I stay at a Motel 6.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 9, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, I am very sorry to hear that you were completely dissatisfied with your recent stay here and I apologize that our staff was not able to address any of your concerns while you were our guest. This type of experience is certainly not the type we wish to offer to our guests and I'm sorry that this is what you found here. We will work to address the concerns you mentioned here and I hope that you'll give us another opportunity to welcome you here during your next visit to the area. Regards, Vikram Patel General Manager