Ratings based on 516 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.4 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
2.5 Room cleanliness
2.7 Service & staff
2.6 Room comfort
2.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from warren county nc

The worse I have seen

Posted Dec 29, 2015
Very very very bad!!!!!!!!!!dirty room. 2 towels. 1 wash rag. Drug trades in parking lot. Police rade and arrest in room two doors down from mine. Just all around bad.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2016 by Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
I am very sorry you had such a bad experience during your stay at our hotel. The issues with cleanliness will be called to the attention of our housekeeping for corrective measure. Your detailed review will be verified. Your comment on drug trades that took place in our property is truly concerning, this will be called to the attention of our management for corrective measure.
1 out of 5
by Not Provided

Posted Nov 10, 2015 on Hotels
Room was dirty. Used condoms on the floor. Condom papers every where. The rug was sticky. My brand new socks are black. They won't come clean. The door would close. I had to slam it. Very bad
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 23, 2016 by Sales Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, It’s great to hear from you, though I regret to discover that you didn't enjoy the services that we have offered you. I apologize if there was such a dilemma that happened during your stay, especially with the trash you mentioned and our housekeeping. We will devote ourselves to improving our housekeeping routines and accommodation. We will be new and improved by the time you come back. We look forward to serving you again.
1 out of 5
by Chandra from College Park MD

I don't pick this hotel again

Posted Nov 10, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel staff is not friendly Room is dirty They just provide aa small soop no losion or shampoo. No Ice in the ice machine. Don't even try to sit on couch. He might bought all other furniture from yard sale. Its notbwort paying 75$. 30$ is OK
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 23, 2016 by Sales Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Chandra, Our apologies if you did not like the services that we have given you during your recent stay, though we are still very thankful that you left us this review. We will definitely talk to higher management about your concerns, especially issues with our housekeeping, hospitality and appliances. We will check and verify all these so that we can prevent these from happening again. We hope you’ll give us a chance to show you our improvements in the future. have a nice day.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by iryna

do not book!

Posted Oct 16, 2015 on Hotels
AWEFULL!!!!! Filthy hotel
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 2, 2016 by Sales Manager, Hotel Management
Hello Iryna, Thank you for bringing to our attention your experience and comments regarding your stay. Your review will be escalated and trust that this is addressed accordingly.I regret to hear of your unusual, unfortunate experience and trust that this will be called to the attention of our team especially the housekeeping for corrective measure. We hope to see you again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ペンシルバニア

安さ重視

Posted Oct 16, 2015
フィラデルフィア弾丸旅行の際値段に惹かれて予約しましたが、このホテルはニュージャージーにあるのでまずシティセンターからの移動がとても不便です。州をまたぐのでタクシーも馬鹿高くなります。ホテルは値段から予想はしていましたが、タバコの臭いがきつく床は汚れていてベッドも身体が痛くなるようなものでした。雰囲気も恐くて身の危険を感じるほどでした。次フィラデルフィアにいくとしてもここには二度と止まりません。
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 31, 2015 by Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
こんにちは富栄、 私たちのチームを代表して、私は心からあなたが感じた不便をおかけして申し訳ございません、あなたがきれいなの質に不満であったこと。あなたのフィードバックは良好に保たれているクリーンの品質を確保するために私たちのハウスキーピングの注意に呼び出されます。あなたの洞察力のレビューを共有していただきありがとうございます。
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, PA

Horrific

Posted Oct 13, 2015
Pros: NOTHING
Cons: Everything, this hotel shouldn't even be in business.
This was a horrific experience. There were burn marks on the sheets, cigarette butts stomped out on the floor, roaches in the bathroom. The furniture was falling apart and the air conditioner didn't work, when it was turned on it sounded like a jet engine. I have pictures of everything I have articulated above should you need to see further evidence, I am happy to provide it. PLEASE remove them from someone you do business with.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 31, 2015 by Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Hello Gary, I regret that you were not very pleased about your stay at our hotel. Your feedback will be escalated for further verification. It is very concerning that you had such an unusual experience at our hotel and our staff on duty was not able to attend to you to address your concerns. Trust that our management will look into your shared experience very carefully.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Herndon VA

Trash Hotel

Posted Oct 12, 2015
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything, cleaning/ non-smoking rooms
Location: nothing
I asked for a non-smoking room, when i went to the room all i smelled was cigarettes. And i saw the room next to me someone was smoking. I called the front desk and complained for a non-smoking room. She said it was a non smoking room. and im asthmatic so its bad for me, good thing i brought my inhaler.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 31, 2015 by Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Hello Ajtih, I am very sorry to hear of your unpleasant experience during your visit. I will submit your review to management, I assure you that this will be verified, called to the attention of concerned staff. I apologize for the inconvenience, We will make certain that non-smoking rooms are closely monitored.
1 out of 5
by Jessica from brooklawn,nj

TERRIBLE

Posted Oct 12, 2015 on Hotels
terrible, worst hotel i've ever stayed at.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 23, 2016 by Sales Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Jessica, Thank you for bringing these issues to our attention and hope you will change your mind about seeking new accommodations. We understand your frustrations and we assure you that we will never give up on improving our hotel everyday. I hope you’ll give us another chance to show you our improvements in the future. Have a terrific week ahead.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Susan from Florida

UGH!

Posted Oct 9, 2015 on Hotels
We had reserved a non smoking room.. when we checked in the guy was pushing for a smoking room telling us there is no price difference.. Do not smoke and did not want a smoking room. first room.. horrible smoke smell.. second room, even worse smoke smell. Finally a guy walked with us to open up rooms until we finally found one with only a slight smoke smell but bad musty odor (which I prefer over smoke) we sprinkled carpet freshener on floor and sprayed perfume to try to help room scent. The room we got had no microwave, as stated and no ice bucket. there were other things missing too but those two were pretty important for us. They were taken from other rooms and put into ours. Also, when we tried to use the washer and dryer.. dryer didn't work.. so much work was needed on this hotel. Will not visit it again.. the two good things.. It was right on the bus line... and close to camp and closing for the Susan G. Komen 3 day walk.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 2, 2016 by Sales Manager, Hotel Management
Hello Susan, I regret that your recent experience at our hotel was not an altogether pleasant experience. Your comment about our non-smoking room is noted. We will do our best to further improve the cleanliness and hopefully meet your exacting preference. We hope to see you again.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 9, 2015 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 2, 2016 by Sales Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, We thank you for the opportunity to serve you at our hotel. I regret however that we failed to meet your satisfaction during your visit. We will do our best to make your next visit a better experience. Thank you for your business.