Ratings based on 484 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

coffee

Posted Nov 10, 2016
Pros: Staffs were helpful
Cons: The Coffee Cup in the room was not clean
Location: The hotel was close to the Metro station and bus stop
Amenities our lady good, service is also very nice
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 13, 2016 by Steve - Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review of our property. Please allow me to apologize for the coffee cup. We will use your feedback to better train and inspect our rooms. Thank You again, Steve
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Warning! Reservations are not guaranteed!

Posted Oct 26, 2016
Pros: A parking garage is located in the hotel but be prepared to pay $50 per day.
Cons: When I checked into the hotel with my daughter to attend the Head of the Charles I was told the room I booked with two queen beds was no longer available and they switched me to a room with one king size. They informed me that because I booked through a third party, they had no obligation to honor my request. They only guarantee reservations made directly through the Marriott corporation. After a lot of discussion, they ended up switching us into a room reserved for a Marriott Platinum Elite member who had not checked in yet. Too bad for them. The staff lacked knowledge about local transportation and could not even tell me what T line to take to watch the Head of the Charles. In fact they had no idea that the Head of the Charles was happening that weekend or even what it was. We were unable to order any movies in our room and when we asked for assistance there was no one who had any knowledge about how to repair, replace, or remedy this situation. In fact we were kept on hold for more than 20 minutes when they tried to find someone to help. We stayed for two nights and our room was never cleaned by housekeeping. The towels were horribly thin and rough. The towels that I clean my car with are better. When I checked out they told me that I could only get a copy through the third party that I booked through. This staff need to get training in customer service. Simple pleasantries like a smile or a hello were lacking. Didn't feel welcome, appreciated, or cared for here.
Location: Handy location in Brookline. Close to local shops. The T is just one block away but no employee here knows how to use it or where it goes.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 1, 2016 by Steve, Hotel Management
Dear Lynne, Thank You for your feedback. We will use it to retrain our staff and improve our amenities. Our rooming preferences do get provided to our loyal Platinum, Gold and Silver rewards members first as third party reservations are booked at a non-guaranteed, run of the house room type. Unfortunately during the Head of the Charles we were sold out and all of our room types that you preferred were spoken for. I am happy to see that the staff was able to provide you with a room that you preferred. Thank You,
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Great location

Posted Oct 17, 2016
The hotel is on a quiet side street right off of Beacon St. where everything is within walking distance. I was greeted by Josh who was very warm, welcoming and took great care of me, even asked what view I would like. The room was very clean, updated and stylish. The room was quiet, the bed was great. Overall I would recommend this hotel to anyone.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 8, 2016 by Steve the Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Dave, thank you for your review. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and I will be sure to inform Josh of the positive comments regarding his service. He's been a great asset at the hotel and it's nice to hear that his hard work is recognized. We hope to see you again soon. Thank You, Steve Altieri Front Office Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CT

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Very clean and updated. Food court a nice feature.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 23, 2016 by Steve the Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Thank You for your positive review of our property. I will pass on the positive feedback regarding cleanliness to our housekeeping team. Thank You, Steve Altieri Front Office Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston

Beautiful hotel close to shops and T

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Pool water cold. Noticed some guests had goodie bags some didn't
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 23, 2016 by Steve the Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Dee, Thank You for your review. I apologize for the temperature of the pool and I will speak to our engineering team to ensure this doesn't happen again. The gift bags you saw were for a wedding group and were provided by the Bride and Groom for their guests. Thank You again and we hope to see you soon. Thank You, Steve Altieri Front Office Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from fl

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: nicel
Cons: Get better beds the beds were so hard
People at the front desk rude and couldn't tell anything about anything around there
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 3, 2016 by SteveTheFOM, Hotel Management
Dear Linda, Thank You for your review of our property. We will use your comments to better train our staff to provide better service and hope to better serve you in the future. Thank You, Steve Altieri Front Office Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 4, 2016 on Hotels
Overall, a pleasant stay. Street noise was louder than anticipated, could probably be minimized with room location.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Israel

A very convenient hotel in a good location

Posted Sep 1, 2016
Pros: The hotel is in a great location in Coolidge corner in Brookline, minutes from the Green line train, a wealth of eateries and other attractions.
Cons: The water pressure in the shower could be stronger. Toilet seat would not hold up vertical...
Location: Great selection of restaurants, cafes, shops, the Coolidge movie theater and JFK's birth home within walking distance!
The experience was overall fine EXCEPT for the booking by Expedia: we booked a room for 4 persons : 2 adults and two kids and the booking explicitly verified that the room is suitable even for 4 adults. When we got to the hotel and into the room we found out that the folding sofa can accommodate one kid at most! When we complained about this at the reception the hotel staff said that they were not notified by the third party (Expedia...) about the number of people expected. Luckily the hotel staff responded well and managed to find us another room with two queen beds which was totally adequate. However, However, this lack of coordination between the Expedia and the hotel can be very problematic.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from denver Co

People where not helpful or nice

Posted Sep 1, 2016
The people wherent nice at all and the peson as I checked out had no idea of my bill. The parking was,so expensive even though rgey where tons,of parking everywhete. The,air conditioning in room was super lowd.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel near universities and shops.

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Great location, very walkable, clean and efficient. Staff was average with an indifferent attitude.