Ratings based on 851 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Sink smelled like sewage

Posted May 20, 2017
The bathroom sink smelled like sewage. The staff did assist with using drain cleaner, but the problem intermittently persisted. The hotel did not offer to move my room even when I asked. Fitness room had no water and was very hot with no ability to change the temperature. Without these issues it would have been fine.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Alexandria, VA

Quick stay

Posted May 18, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Could use a few more people working the front desk.
We just needed an overnight stay to pick up our BU student. This hotel is perfect in its location to Boston University.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Stay feedback

Posted Apr 26, 2017
Very good location, facilities and overall atmosphere.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location

Posted Apr 8, 2017
The best thing about this Holiday Inn is the location. You're across from a Green line T stop which makes navigating the city very easy. You're very close to Coolidge Corner with nice restaurants, bagel shops and an excellent vintage movie theater. If you're motivated it's also relatively easy to walk to downtown. The worst aspects are an indifferent front desk staff (at night), $38 parking in a very cramped garage, and poor maintenance of general facilities. I'd stay here again because I love Coolidge Corner, but please remind your early AM front desk staff that it's nice to actually help your guests.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Look elsewhere

Posted Apr 5, 2017
Pros: The location was very good.
Cons: Cleanliness, mildew and swimming pool odor, room amenities.
Location: Beacon street was convenient to an event we were attending. Nice restaurants and a food store was nearby.
The description of the hotel didn't match what we experienced. The hotel was dingy and the odor of the swimming pool, located out in the open, emanated even into the restaurant area. We reserved three rooms and the coffee maker in one did not work, the lighting in another was horribly dim, and the bathrooms had fans with no switch to turn them on. The entire stay was disappointing. There was a terrible rainstorm and everywhere we walked there were leaks in the ceiling. We had to eat breakfast at a table with an umbrella but the leaks dripped off the side and onto the table anyway. The only bright side was the young lady who checked us in. She was helpful and very friendly.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Paramus, NJ

Never Again

Posted Apr 2, 2017
Pros: The location was convenient to Boston Children's Hospital.
Cons: The room needed to be well-cleaned and renovated.
We stayed at this hotel once before, a few years ago. This time, we were on the ground floor. The room was dark and stuffy. The bathroom had a tiny shower, and the toilet was very low to the ground. The wallpaper was peeling. Yuck!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 4, 2017 by Roberto, Hotel Management
Oh no, how can we make your stay better?
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

rip off

Posted Apr 1, 2017
Pros: clean
Cons: nicer employees
it was okay. clean, easy to get to - but the continental breakfast cost $13 and the only option for parking was $38. This was absolutely ridiculous
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 5, 2017 by Roberto, Hotel Management
Thank you for the feedback, we'll work hard to make your stay better.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

close to medical community

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Pros: best shuttle drivers!
Cons: All that I mentioned above
Location: location was key to medical community.
hotel is in dire need of updating and/or a good cleaning. Bathroom floor was dirty, as was the floor of the shower. The light on the table separating the beds had only one working light bulb. The lamp on the desk next to the bathroom had to be shut off by pulling out the plug; the on/off switch was broken. The privacy curtains when closed did not close completely; there was visible space between where the two ends of the drapes met. When the light was on in the room (room 148) I stood outside of the room and could see into the room where the drapes had a gap. Lastly, the toilet was so low to the floor it was ridiculous. I am not a "tall" person by any means but I found the height of this toilet way too low especially if the occupant had any type of disability or was over 5 1/2 feet tall.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 16, 2017
Worst holiday inn ever! Outdated and very dingy. Pool area was not clean on the pool deck a dirty diaper was left… Unbelievable
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Hampshire

Hotel is convenient to everything.

Posted Mar 12, 2017
Pros: Front desk staff were friendly and patient.
Cons: Can't think of a thing.
Location: We were at a conference at Boston University, so being right on the T was perfect.
Not inexpensive, but close to transportation, which was important to us. It is convenient to anything one could want - in Brookline, Boston, Cambridge, and beyond.