Ratings based on 1,059 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Union, NJ

Perfect for a stay in the city

Posted Jan 16, 2018
We used to live in Brooklyn and we’re back for a wedding. I have over time spent time in a handful of NYC hotels and this one was much nicer than most in its price range. First, you’re going to get the Brooklyn experience here. That means smaller rooms than you have experienced before. But still a larger bathroom than I’ve ever had in my apartments. Also, there’s only one elevator. And it’s small Like I said, the Brooklyn experience. The staff is definitely “Brooklyn nice”, which means helpful with a little bit of sarcasm and directness to it. If your poking around the cabinets for napkins, for example (as one unwitting patron did) your going to get “what are you doing?” follows by retrieving napkins for you. It is clearly an older building, but it’s been beautifully renovated. Our room was quite lovely and comfortable. My only complaint is the bathroom lighting was terrible - it made me look like a zombie. But it’s close to Atlantic Center which will get you a train to anywhere. Plus your near enough to the restaurants in Park Slope and across the street from Dinosaur BBQ which is amazing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel close to train station, basic services

Posted Jan 9, 2018
Pros: I like that the metro was very near from the hotel. And the Brooklin 5fth Avenue was near too.
Cons: the bedroom temperatura could be warmer
Location: You have the 5fth avenue near and the metro station . The nice neigborshoods to visit, and you can go very fast to DUMBO or to the Atlantic Mall.
We were one week ago, and the hotel is basic but all we needed just to sleep good. the breakfast was basic, the bedroom was good, just the temperature was a little cold. The metro station is on the corner, and is located near from a good shopping mall and near of 5fth Brooklin Avenue that is nice. I recomend this hotel to any traveler.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 16, 2018 by maggie, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lenox MA

Affordable

Posted Jan 9, 2018
Affordable hotel reasonably near Park Slope and subway. Comfortable bed. Strong smell of cleaning product or air freshener in room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 16, 2018 by maggie, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 7, 2018
the elevator broke,,, and I was at the 9th floor,,,,,
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from brooklyn NY

Good value hotel

Posted Jan 4, 2018
Easy access from hotel to Manhattan, short walk to shops . Even breakfast which is rare in New York.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 7, 2018 by maggie, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worst Hotel

Posted Dec 17, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Housekeeping
One of the worst hotel, I was not expecting such service from Holiday inn, stayed there 5 nights but house keeping cleaned room only once, even though I requested front desk before leaving the room but no one showed up, I even emptied bin myself, the phone never worked in my room so I had to go to front desk for everything. Very disappointed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 26, 2017 by maggie, Hotel Management
Thank you for your candid review. We apologize that your recent stay did not meet expectations. We appreciate your comments and will share these with our team so that we can continue to improve our services. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future, so that we can provide a better experience. Sincerely, Magaly Jimenez Guest Service Supervisor
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from brooklyn

Hotel in brooklyn

Posted Dec 10, 2017
Very disappointed as had stayed there before Had trouble with the bathroom with toilet out of use for two days think due to lack of communication between staff This was only remedid after speaking to the manager who in all fairness offered a refund which I am still trying to sort out Also asked on arrival for coffee machine in room but that never happened
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 15, 2017 by Angelica, Hotel Management
Pat, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel and please accept our sincerest apologies for the disturbance you have experienced during your stay due to the room conditions. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. We value your comments and welcome the opportunity to serve you again. Sincerely, Angelica Franceschi Guest Service Supervisor
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nothing too much trouble

Posted Dec 8, 2017
Had medicine that needed refrigeration and as soon as the staff heard they sourced me a room fridge instead of making me make do with ice. Excellent customer care.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 9, 2017 by Angelica, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. Sincerely, Angelica Franceschi Guest Service Supervisor
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great

Posted Nov 21, 2017
Hotel needs not to charged clients fees for their parking lot since the person would be actually staying in the hotel room. Bad idea for charging people for infact 40 dollars for parking overnight.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2017 by Angelica, Hotel Management
Anonymous, Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We apologize for the inconveniences you faced during your stay, as that is not up to our normal standards. We will share your feedback with our staff and make the necessary changes. We hope you choose to stay with us again, so we can show you our true level of service. Sincerely, Angelica Franceschi Guest Service Supervisor
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lincolnshire, England

Brooklyn hotel

Posted Oct 31, 2017
Pros: Location Staff
Cons: The lift is a little slow
Location: 100 yards to Metro (R) line which takes 15 minutes into Downtown Manhattan, 9/11 memorial etc...
Excellent location for the centre of Brooklyn and the 4th/Union metro station into Manhattan. Opposite the Dinosaur B-B-Q retaurant which is a great bonus after a long days sightseeing and not wanting to go far for dinner. Staff were very friendly and although did need prompting to clean our room one day it was done immediately. Breakfast was good with all the usual US fayre, pancakes, sausages, gravy etc... and 24/7 coffee which we found welcoming. I would recommend this hotel on the basis of location and value for money outside Manhattan, oh, and the extremely comfortable bed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 15, 2017 by Angelica , Hotel Management
Paul, Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. Sincerely, Angelica Franceschi Guest Service Supervisor