Ratings based on 413 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 8, 2017
Thwros are super small but itfidntmatter to me. I was there to sleep. The pool was great. My room was ready waaaay before check in which is 4 Pm. So I got a full pool. Day. Outrageously high cocktail and food prices do be prepared for that. It was my daughters 30th and we got a perfect day on a very wet weekend. It cost a small fortune but it's exactly what I'd hoped it would be. Great sax player at the pool too.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 11, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for staying with us. I’m glad you had a great weekend and I hope you’ll be able to come back very soon. - The McCarren Hotel & Pool
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Does not deliver on any promise.

Posted Jul 24, 2017
I stayed at McCarren hotel for 4 days. Some staff were friendly, one woman in particular was rude. The rollaway bed I was told upon arrival would be sent to the room never was. When I asked about it again, I was told that there were now none available. I asked that extra linens be sent to the room. They never were. The shower in my room overflowed onto the floor, and the shower grout was moldy. The safe I had been keeping my computer in malfunctioned the night before I had to depart, and I could not retrieve my computer. The man at the front desk said he would see about finding someone to get into the safe, since I had to depart early the next morning. He did not call me back. When I called him back after waiting a half hour, he said that he could not get ahold of the hotel manager, and that the hotel engineers would not get in until after I departed in the morning. At that point I was assured that my computer would be retrieved from the safe as soon as possible, and then sent to me via overnight Fed Ex. I was home for 3 days and had yet not received my computer. I called the hotel to get the tracking number, only to find that they had not yet sent my computer. It was still there. In fact, they did not send it until the next day, now 4 days later, and they did not send it overnight, but by ground. It took 10 days to get my computer back. Terrible service all the way around. Do not expect that what is advertised or promised will be delivered.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not as shown on website

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Location: There were no nearby places to eat or shop.
The Hotel lobby was loud with people running in and out from the pool. The website made the Hotel rooms look so nice and big. After going into the room you hardly had any space as the bed took up most of the room. We went back down and checked out with a full refund.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Howard Beach, NY

Gorgeous hotel in the heart of Williamsburg!

Posted Jul 7, 2017
I'm beyond delighted with my stay at the Mccarren Hotel. The pool area was beautiful and clean and the rooftop was amazing! You get a gorgeous view of Manhattan and you're withing walking distance of bars, restaurants & shops on Bedford Ave. The hotel staff was very attentive and professional. Highly recommend to people of all ages. Will definitely stay here again! Loved it!!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Would not stay again and would not recommend

Posted Jun 29, 2017
The staff in the lobby were all very polite and helpful. However the TV did not work, the housekeeping staff did not clean the room (we had to request towels) they did not restock the minibar, and the party upstairs in the lounge went on until 2:00am so we could not sleep. It is clearly a hotel which caters to parties not hotel guests.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from south fla.

Restraunt closed again!?

Posted Jun 7, 2017
Husband and i visit our son and family in williamsberg every year. We stayed at mccarron hotel almost 2 years ago and the Restraunt was closed for Construction. Stayed there for 7 nights in may 2017 (300+a night) and the restraunt closed again this time as well. The roof top was very pleasant and beautiful 2 years ago. This time not so pretty, and limited hours and days open . Waited the whole week to enjoy a nice evening of drinks on the rooftop overlooking the city . Employees encouraging the beautiful view and relaxing atmosphere all week (as if worth the wait, open fri.,sat.,sun.only) , just to find out its packed with the neighborhood young people and loud hiphop music. No place to sit by 4pm. Very disappointed. No room for guest at hotel to enjoy it. They should open rooftop more night for guest to enjoy. Esp. Since restraunt not open. Employees were very nice and place was very clean but we wont be back.
4 out of 5
by Susan

Nice but room for improvement

Posted May 16, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel was clean and comfortable. Bedding was lovely and shower was amazing. I was disappointed to learn that they did not offer room service as the write up on the site represented room service as an amenity. It was my reason for choosing the McCarren over the competition and the staff did not offer an explanation. The hotel safe also was not working. On my Friday night stay, returning to the hotel at midnight, I was surprised to find that the rooftop lounge was still booming, unfortunately with very loud music which made sleep impossible on the fourth floor beyond 1:30 am. I was also awakened early am by unreasonably loud housekeeping staff talking just outside my room for an extended time on both mornings of my stay. Not cool. The pool looked great but I was unable to take advantage due to a cool, rainy weekend. The staff was very pleasant and the complimentary coffee and umbrellas were a nice touch. I think the hotel needs to up its game with respect to the noise factor and to be clear about the availability of room service.
5 out of 5
by Sheila

beautiful boutique hotel

Posted May 5, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent service and location
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

LAPTOP WAS STOLEN. HORRID STAFF AND MANAGEMENT,

Posted May 4, 2017 on Hotels
Our laptop was stolen out of our room. Staff was atrocious. After filing a police report we spoke to the management who was so concerned about denying culpability they forgot that a hotel is about hospitality. A thousand things could've been done to make us feel comfortable about an awful situation, but we got nothing. We even talked to the corporate office of HRI Lodging, and we were berated by their risk management telling us to "prove it". I hate writing reviews, and dealing with this. If they had give me a free beer at the bar and just listened to me gripe I probably would've let it go, but no way never am I letting this slide. Also, not nearly as important but their pool was closed. Nowhere on the Hotels.com website was that mentioned. It also was green, cloudy, and improperly maintained giving the whole lobby a sulfur smell. Ruined our whole vacation. A multi-million dollar real estate corporation that doesn't care at all about their guests well-being.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 1, 2017 on Hotels