Ratings based on 424 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Great staff. But the rooms over the pool are loud with blaring music.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 24, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Chris, I would like to start by apologizing for the noise. Clearly, we did not deliver the experience that was promised. Please do not hesitate to call or email us to discuss this area further. Thank you so much for telling us about your stay. The McCarren Hotel & Pool
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 8, 2017
Thwros are super small but itfidntmatter to me. I was there to sleep. The pool was great. My room was ready waaaay before check in which is 4 Pm. So I got a full pool. Day. Outrageously high cocktail and food prices do be prepared for that. It was my daughters 30th and we got a perfect day on a very wet weekend. It cost a small fortune but it's exactly what I'd hoped it would be. Great sax player at the pool too.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 11, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for staying with us. I’m glad you had a great weekend and I hope you’ll be able to come back very soon. - The McCarren Hotel & Pool
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Does not deliver on any promise.

Posted Jul 24, 2017
I stayed at McCarren hotel for 4 days. Some staff were friendly, one woman in particular was rude. The rollaway bed I was told upon arrival would be sent to the room never was. When I asked about it again, I was told that there were now none available. I asked that extra linens be sent to the room. They never were. The shower in my room overflowed onto the floor, and the shower grout was moldy. The safe I had been keeping my computer in malfunctioned the night before I had to depart, and I could not retrieve my computer. The man at the front desk said he would see about finding someone to get into the safe, since I had to depart early the next morning. He did not call me back. When I called him back after waiting a half hour, he said that he could not get ahold of the hotel manager, and that the hotel engineers would not get in until after I departed in the morning. At that point I was assured that my computer would be retrieved from the safe as soon as possible, and then sent to me via overnight Fed Ex. I was home for 3 days and had yet not received my computer. I called the hotel to get the tracking number, only to find that they had not yet sent my computer. It was still there. In fact, they did not send it until the next day, now 4 days later, and they did not send it overnight, but by ground. It took 10 days to get my computer back. Terrible service all the way around. Do not expect that what is advertised or promised will be delivered.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 29, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for leaving a review. I would like to apologize that we did not deliver our usual standard of service. Clearly, there are areas that we still need to improve on. Please do not hesitate to reach out to us via phone or email if you would like to discuss this situation further. Thank you again for your feedback. The McCarren Hotel & Pool
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not as shown on website

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Location: There were no nearby places to eat or shop.
The Hotel lobby was loud with people running in and out from the pool. The website made the Hotel rooms look so nice and big. After going into the room you hardly had any space as the bed took up most of the room. We went back down and checked out with a full refund.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 29, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Martin, I am so sorry that we did not deliver the experience that was promised. We really appreciate that you took the time to point out where we can make improvements. If you would like to discuss these areas further, please call or email us. Thank you so much for leaving a review. The McCarren Hotel & Pool
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Howard Beach, NY

Gorgeous hotel in the heart of Williamsburg!

Posted Jul 7, 2017
I'm beyond delighted with my stay at the Mccarren Hotel. The pool area was beautiful and clean and the rooftop was amazing! You get a gorgeous view of Manhattan and you're withing walking distance of bars, restaurants & shops on Bedford Ave. The hotel staff was very attentive and professional. Highly recommend to people of all ages. Will definitely stay here again! Loved it!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 29, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Rosalynn, Thank you so much for all the kind words! I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope you'll have the chance to come back very soon. The McCarren Hotel & Pool
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Would not stay again and would not recommend

Posted Jun 29, 2017
The staff in the lobby were all very polite and helpful. However the TV did not work, the housekeeping staff did not clean the room (we had to request towels) they did not restock the minibar, and the party upstairs in the lounge went on until 2:00am so we could not sleep. It is clearly a hotel which caters to parties not hotel guests.
5 out of 5
by Miguel

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 20, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 20, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 19, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Long hot nights

Posted Jun 16, 2017 on Hotels
We have stayed here in the past and like the hotel and love the neighborhood. However, NYC was having a heatwave averaging 94 degrees outside and the A/C in our room did not work. The technician sent to the room could not get it to cool down. The hotel said they were fully booked for the 3 nights that we were there and did not have a room to move us to. It was very hard to get any sleep in a room at 79 degrees. After being out at meetings and riding the subway on 94 degree days it was disappointing to come back to a room that was 82 degrees in the middle of the day. Opening the window didn't help since it was very hot outside. They gave us a fan.