Ratings based on 407 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Does not deliver on any promise.

Posted Jul 24, 2017
I stayed at McCarren hotel for 4 days. Some staff were friendly, one woman in particular was rude. The rollaway bed I was told upon arrival would be sent to the room never was. When I asked about it again, I was told that there were now none available. I asked that extra linens be sent to the room. They never were. The shower in my room overflowed onto the floor, and the shower grout was moldy. The safe I had been keeping my computer in malfunctioned the night before I had to depart, and I could not retrieve my computer. The man at the front desk said he would see about finding someone to get into the safe, since I had to depart early the next morning. He did not call me back. When I called him back after waiting a half hour, he said that he could not get ahold of the hotel manager, and that the hotel engineers would not get in until after I departed in the morning. At that point I was assured that my computer would be retrieved from the safe as soon as possible, and then sent to me via overnight Fed Ex. I was home for 3 days and had yet not received my computer. I called the hotel to get the tracking number, only to find that they had not yet sent my computer. It was still there. In fact, they did not send it until the next day, now 4 days later, and they did not send it overnight, but by ground. It took 10 days to get my computer back. Terrible service all the way around. Do not expect that what is advertised or promised will be delivered.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not as shown on website

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Location: There were no nearby places to eat or shop.
The Hotel lobby was loud with people running in and out from the pool. The website made the Hotel rooms look so nice and big. After going into the room you hardly had any space as the bed took up most of the room. We went back down and checked out with a full refund.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Howard Beach, NY

Gorgeous hotel in the heart of Williamsburg!

Posted Jul 7, 2017
I'm beyond delighted with my stay at the Mccarren Hotel. The pool area was beautiful and clean and the rooftop was amazing! You get a gorgeous view of Manhattan and you're withing walking distance of bars, restaurants & shops on Bedford Ave. The hotel staff was very attentive and professional. Highly recommend to people of all ages. Will definitely stay here again! Loved it!!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Would not stay again and would not recommend

Posted Jun 29, 2017
The staff in the lobby were all very polite and helpful. However the TV did not work, the housekeeping staff did not clean the room (we had to request towels) they did not restock the minibar, and the party upstairs in the lounge went on until 2:00am so we could not sleep. It is clearly a hotel which caters to parties not hotel guests.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from south fla.

Restraunt closed again!?

Posted Jun 7, 2017
Husband and i visit our son and family in williamsberg every year. We stayed at mccarron hotel almost 2 years ago and the Restraunt was closed for Construction. Stayed there for 7 nights in may 2017 (300+a night) and the restraunt closed again this time as well. The roof top was very pleasant and beautiful 2 years ago. This time not so pretty, and limited hours and days open . Waited the whole week to enjoy a nice evening of drinks on the rooftop overlooking the city . Employees encouraging the beautiful view and relaxing atmosphere all week (as if worth the wait, open fri.,sat.,sun.only) , just to find out its packed with the neighborhood young people and loud hiphop music. No place to sit by 4pm. Very disappointed. No room for guest at hotel to enjoy it. They should open rooftop more night for guest to enjoy. Esp. Since restraunt not open. Employees were very nice and place was very clean but we wont be back.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 26, 2017 on Hotels
Staff extremely helpful, knowledgeable and accommodating.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 24, 2017 on Hotels
Overall a good 4-star stay. the secondary lock on the door did not work, the room was a bit dinged up, and the light switches were mostly broken (the main light kept turning on and off...). The room service was not available because the restaurant was in construction. Regardless of these details, I would stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Good find in Brooklyn

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Pros: Good location, clean and comfortable.
Cons: More electrical outlets and perhaps a free bottle of water.
Location: The location is in Williamsburg just across the street from a large park. It is an easy subway ride into Manhattan.
A former New Yorker, I usually stay with family in Manhattan when visiting NYC. On this occasion I wanted to be close to my son who recently moved to Williamsburg. This was the perfect place. Just a few blocks from him. The lobby of the hotel is fairly spartan so I was surprised when I entered my room. It was very clean and spacious enough. The bathroom was large with a big shower and good water pressure. My only complaint was the lack of outlets. In this day and age, with the need to constantly recharged electronics, an abundance of outlets is necessary.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wellington

Great location to all cool spots in Williamsburg.

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Pros: Location and cool vibe
Cons: Rooftop open more nights
Location: Easy access to everything. Loved Peter Pan for breakfast and Sweet Chicks for lunch!
Great staff. Very helpful. Helped us secure a spot on the street for leaving a vehicle rental on first day. Quick uber drivers to go anywhere. Great location to walk or uber to all cool places in Williamsburg. Close enough to walk to the train into the city. Hotel nice and clean. Quiet. I would like to come back in the summer when the pool is open. Rooftop bar only open on Friday and Saturday. That was a little disappointing. Other than that, perfect stay.
5 out of 5
by Marsha

Wonderful Stay!

Posted Apr 10, 2017 on Hotels
Very friendly & accommodating! Front desk, Martin, Jessica & James couldn't do enough for us. They made us feel like family! Continental breakfast was included.,, nice surprise! They have a "baby's brunch" on weekends. So nice for our grandson. Will be staying there on all our visits to Brooklyn.