Ratings based on 737 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Zero courtesy, Zero Hospitality

Posted Sep 13, 2017
We arrived at the hotel in the early morning after a long drive and a troubled state. Despite the late minute booking, and notwithstanding our agreement to take a room that is not fully ready, we expected a minimally courteous treatment whereby we didn't have to (1) carry our own linen to the room, (2) replace the dirty linen, and (3) clean the space ourselves. Except we did perform all of that ourselves while the receptionist simply watched. Whilst we understood that we could not expect a room on par with the hefty price that we paid, these are matters of basic courtesy and hospitality that the receptionist simply refused to provide because our booking was not refundable. In a way, we felt blackmailed, and for that we shall not refrain from spreading the word--in whatever way we can--about the negative treatment that we received at Pointe Plaza hotel
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrible Stay... Don't Waste Your Money

Posted Sep 1, 2017
Pros: They will hold your luggage after check out without any specific time limit which is great. How they secure your items.. not so much.
Cons: Everything. Clean the rooms. Update the hotel. Clean you "coffee center" located in the lobby, it's disgusting. Present a more professional front.
Location: The location was near an event I attended so it convenient. Lots of street parking nearby and not too far from bus stops and bike rentals.
Checking in was an easy and smooth process. Once I entered the room, things went down hill from there. The first room I was assigned was filthy. There were stains on the curtains above the bed that appeared to be dried blood. The stains were so big we thought they were a pattern. There were random brown spots on the other curtains in the living area. Only one towel set in the bathroom. Please keep in mind I booked the suite for 5.. why is there only one towel set?? I kindly asked to be moved to a different room. The new room had a dead bug on the bed runner and other issues but we eventually move to this room as it's the lesser of two filthy rooms. There were holes, dirt, and mold in the showers, the carpets were filthy, the walls were disgusting. After a while, I stopped observing my surroundings as I wouldn't have been able to stay much longer if I saw more. Pros: They will store your luggage after check out. Keep in mind they store your luggage in their ballroom and leave that door wide open. The lobby is usually filled with children and the attendant is usually busy in her cell phone. It was quite easy to walk past her to get to my bags without her even noticing. Free breakfast is offered. I didn't take advantage as the hotel was so unclean I didn't feel comfortable eating anything they offered. Location is quiet but as people previously mentioned, the area is mostly populated with Orthodox Jewish families. Families that weren't friendly and stared constantly.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Think twice before you book

Posted Aug 27, 2017
Hotel very different from pictures. Much much older and need a lot of work. Only ONE washing machine was working and was only available 10am-6pm. Locked up otherwise. Very inconvenient for our touring schedul. Breakfast seating area with limited number of seats. Couldn't find a table 2 out of the 3 days during our stay. Not exactly close to subway station. Need to budget extra time for the walk in our already very busy touring agenda. Saw 1 mouse walked by me one night when I walked from subway back to hotel. Had 12 police cars past with siren on when trying to wait for a bus to go back hotel from about 2 km away from hotel. Didn't feel safe walking. The G subway line don't really go to Manhattan or Citi Field. So basically, we need to budget extra 30 min EACH WAY for commute transfer. WATCH OUT for the NO CANCELLATION POLICY before you book. Anyway, we will never book this hotel ever again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal,Quebec, Canada

Best for familly

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Staff and hospitality
Cons: restaurant
best hotel for familly and good services....Thank's for all staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Friendly staff can't complain. Staff was very helpful on get taxi & directions
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fayetteville, Ohio

Love!

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Everything!
Cons: The breakfast room could be a little bigger.
We loved Point Plaza Hotel! Everyone was very accommodating!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Will not stay there again

Posted Jul 24, 2017
This is an apartment hotel type of hotel converted from an old factory located in the middle of an orthodox Jews community. It feels safe there, but the hotel is not necessarily very comfortable. With that said, it is spacious. Only that the location is a bit odd.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 8, 2017 by Katie, Hotel Management
Welcome to Brooklyn, here people from all races, religions, and from different backgrounds can live in peace and harmony without any prejudice or hate.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Nice hotel

Posted Jul 23, 2017
The hotel was clean and the beds were comfortable. However since we are a family of 5, 2 double beds aren't enough. There was a pull out sofa but it was very thin and uncomfortable. We did get a rollaway bed which was better. My biggest complaint would be not getting enough towels for 5 people. They only left 2 towels each time they cleaned the room. Everyday we had to ask for more towels. Most of the time they brought them quickly. The room was very spacious though. We didn't feel cramped at all.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 31, 2017 by Sal, Hotel Management
Thanks for Staying with us, and for your insight sharing your nice review. We hope you visit us again soon! P.s. The laundry dept. was made aware of your complained, I can assure you this shall not be repeated in future. Thanks So Much!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 21, 2017
Pros: Close to family
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay, very helpful and pleasant staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 31, 2017 by Sal, Hotel Management
Thanks for Staying with us, and for taking the time to review. We hope you visit us again soon!
4 out of 5
by Robert

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 19, 2017 on Hotels