Ratings based on 88 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Historic hotel near the train station

Posted Oct 17, 2017
Stately brownstone on a neighborhood street near the train station.
5 out of 5
by Richard

A great place to stay

Posted Jun 19, 2017 on Hotels
Really cool place, well positioned and with very kind and welcoming hosts and its own jazz venue. I really loved the authentic style with all the original fittings. Beautiful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from stockholm

Great warm and friendly real brownstone experience

Posted May 19, 2017 on Orbitz
Exciting to stay in an environment that is in tune with jazz in a most heartfelt way- neighborhood is great too and well worth exploring
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nicosia, Cyprus

A home away from home

Posted May 7, 2017
My second stay in the same room. Although the house was full, it was always quiet and I never had to wait to use the shared bath. My only regret was that again my travel schedule meant I had to miss the hostess Debbie's famed Friday jazz night and fish fry! I will be sure to stay on a Friday next time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Brooklyn B&B. Amazing place to stay

Posted May 4, 2017
Sankofa is the place to stay If you want to taste the delights of Brooklyn life at it's finest. It's like stepping back in time with all the comforts of 21st century living. Debbie & Eric are the most welcoming hosts & friendly Brooklynites you're likely to meet. Fantastic breakfasts, very close to the Nordstrom A/C line metro (3/4 minute walk). homely living spaces, comfy beds & with Jazz sessions live in your living room on Friday & Saturday evenings. With the ebb & flow of people coming in & conversations with some local musicians its fantastic. If jazz ain't your thing the old brownstone walls keep it peaceful in your room. It is $20 for the Jazz but you get some lovely food (fried fish & slaw.....oh the slaw is to die for.) & what Debbie is doing for jazz in the area by keeping the sole of Brooklyn alive is well worth the $20 dollars. This 19th century building is a buzzing, living, breathing part of a community & it was magical to be able to share it with all the other occupants whilst we were there. Local amenities are v close by. Debbie & Eric I wish you all the luck in the future. Be sure If I'm back to NYC anytime I'll be sure to look you up. Greg.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Step back in time and enjoy

Posted Mar 14, 2017 on Hotels
Love the southern hospitality in New York city
5 out of 5
by Stacy

Sneaky Good Place to Stay

Posted Jan 5, 2017 on Hotels
My Boyfriend and I Stayed for New Years and it was a great experience. The owner Debbie was so welcoming from the second we walked in the door. She gave us suggestions around the neighborhood and just made our stay very welcoming. We also had amazing privacy and it was an overall great experience. We will definitely stay here anytime we come into Brooklyn
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Debbie is a great host, very friendly and she even invited me to her Thanksgiving feast. Also on Friday nights they have a live jazz session in their living room, absolutely brilliant!! Only 15 mins to Manhattan via the A train and the station is less than a block away.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Washington, United States of America

Excellent warm and welcoming BnB in Brooklyn.

Posted Nov 6, 2016
Pros: The best thing about the hotel was the lovely service from the staff, and the great conversations every morning over breakfast and coffee.
Cons: There was an issue with the hot water at the time, but I'm sure that will be fixed by the next time we show up.
Location: The BnB is just 3 blocks from the A and C lines on the subway, and a 15 minute walk to the Botanical Gardens and 20 min walk to Williamsburg.
Staying at the BnB with Denise running the show was an excellent choice. The hotel is an old row house renovated and turned into a multi room BnB. The service is fantastic with great made to order breakfast in the morning, and late night jazz and speakeasy drinks in the parlor at night. The beds are spacious and comfortable, rooms large, and just 3 block to the subway.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

I would not recommend this place to anybody

Posted Nov 2, 2016
Pros: Fairly close to subway
Cons: All the details that are mentioned in the review
Location: The location has beautiful brown stone homes and is about 15 min walking to shops and restaurants that are typical to the area
The room is dark , dusty and dirty. The carpet was never vacumed. No lock or key to the room door. Noisy area at night. No TV . No reading light. No desk and no chair to sit on. We had to buy our own breakfast since Breakfast preparation started at 9:00AM ,and we came to NY for sightseeing not for breakfast waiting Shared bathroom was dirty Owner is very nice but it did not serve our purpose of staying in a nice clean and comfortable Setting