Ratings based on 1,719 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nova Scotia

Comfortable, reasonable rate and a touch of nostal

Posted Oct 17, 2017
Pros: Cleanliness, friendly service, free parking, free Wi-Fi and reasonable rate
Cons: A larger breakfast room
Location: Less than 1/2 hour to downtown Montreal and there are plenty of places to see and eat and shop.
Most modern hotels have very similar decoration, room setup and furnitures, very much a cookie cutter approach. Hotel Brassard is different. It does not pretend to be a Hilton or Sheraton but stands out with a unique Colonial design. To the discerned eyes, it brings warmth and nostalgia while to others it may seems 'dated'. To me, it reminded me of my Grandma's home with an antique but cosy feel. The room is a standard size with a very bright and clean bathroom. The beds are comfortable and clean. All the modern day amenities are there; TV, Free Wi-Fi, fridge, coffee maker and free breakfast. To avoid the crowd at the breakfast room, I would advise taking a tray and take your breakfast to your room and enjoy it. Where you also save money is the free parking which could cost you $25.00 - $30.00 a day in most Montreal hotels. One of interesting features in the room is an Armoire instead of a standard chest drawer for your clothing. A very nice touch. All the furnitures are in Colonial taste and like the old days; practical and solid. A great place for family and business or large group. This is your basic hotel with a special atmosphere, friendly services and very reasonable rate. Those who are used to Hilton or Sheraton should give this a try with an new mind set and expectation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Beautiful European-feeling comfortable hotel

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Pros: The beautiful exterior, the wonderful staff, and the roomy accommodations.
Cons: More seating for breakfast and a larger area for the breakfast items.
Location: Very close to the freeway, but otherwise, not that many things within walking distance.
The outside feels like an old European mansion; love the character. The staff speaks English and were all courteous and very nice. They upgraded us to a bigger suite without us asking when we checked in! How awesome was that. It was the biggest suite and had a beautiful glass wall shower as well as a good sized hot tub! The living area was huge and the kitchen was well stocked and clean. They provided plenty of towels as well as all the small details of items you might need. The bed was comfortable. The only cons were 1. The pull out sofa's padding is on the thin side and the bedding for this pull out had a couple of crumbs, probably from the top of the sofa. 2. Though the breakfast itself is awesome, with many options, the area for breakfast is not very big. So when it is crowded, you have to move around a lot of people in a small area of space. For the Sunday we checked out, when we went down for breakfast, there weren't enough seats, so we brought our food upstairs and ate in our suite.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Salt Lake City, Utah

Nice hotel for the price

Posted Oct 13, 2017
Pros: Helpful staff and good size of room.
Cons: The color of the bedspread is too dark which makes it feel dirty.
Hotel is located on a one way highway near the Champlain Bridge, which makes it a little difficult to get to. The breakfast room is too small. Other than those it is a good hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scarborough

Good value and awesome

Posted Oct 11, 2017
We arrived at around midnight yet the staff was pleasantly greeted us and made us feel very welcome. He checked us in speedily so we could relax in our clean, spacious, and comfortable room in no time. The two hot items at the continental breakfast in the next morning were pleasant surprises too!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON

Big, comfy rooms

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Check in was very fast, room was totally clean, excellent sound insulation (except towards the hallway). Very good air conditioning that actually obeys your input. Air ventilation not blowing to your head when you are in bed, which is great. Huge beds. Breakfast area is a little bit small and one must push his way around, due to many people being there at a same time. Food offer ok, nothing to write home about. Hotel is on an excellent location if you have a car and you are in downtown within 15 minutes of great drive over the bridge with beautiful scenery. Overall, very good stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Barrie, ON

Great hotel right off the highway

Posted Oct 8, 2017
Conveniently located off major highway. Rooms were spacious, clean, comfortable, rates were reasonable and breakfast was included (although no Denny's it had many options and wasn't too shabby)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronto

V good hotel, excellent staff. Thx

Posted Oct 8, 2017
Very clean and enjoyable stay. Will recommend to friends and relatives . Very friendly and helpful staffs
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Wonderful hotel

Posted Oct 4, 2017
It's fabulous! Nice place , nice room , and quality service. From China town to here just 15 mins. Highly recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Lancaster, Pa

Very Nice

Posted Oct 3, 2017
Pros: Very clean and quiet.
Cons: Expanding the breakfast room would be helpful.
Location: Location is not the best as mentioned above.
This is a beautiful hotel but the only drawback is its location. It sits on a heavy traffic freeway. If you are coming from Montreal it is difficult to access because of divider, if you are coming from the US it is simple. Montreal is under a lot of construction, so be sure you have a working GPS. ATT has no coverage, so if you have them you are out of luck. WIFI is available in your room. The hotel is very clean. There is not a pool or restaurant - but the price is right which makes up for these 2 missing items. They have a morning breakfast room which gets crowded but the staff stays on top of it. The parking lot is huge and free. The rooms are very quiet and spacious. I had booked my room for 8 days, but had to cancel the last 3 days - it took awhile but the hotel did return all of my money for the 3 days which I appreciated.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 3, 2017
cozy place to stay and convenient location. friendly staffs