Ratings based on 25 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Beautifull oasis

Posted Feb 1, 2017
Pros: The amazing view of the golf course
Cons: Some updating is needed but we were told that it is slowly being up dated by a recent new property owner.
Location: Brownsville has many great restrauntants and is only 10 minutes away!
We stayed 2 nights at Rancho Viejo and had a great experience. The King suite we had was an amazing set up. More like a condo. Full kitchen and Living room. All staff at the front desk and in the bar area were friendly and provided alot of history for us. The pool area is a way from the rest of the main buildings but beauful and very fun! They pool staff were friendly and made our pool experience great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay!!!!

Posted Dec 1, 2016
Hotel staff was extremely friendly and helpful! They escorted us to the house and when ordered pizza escorted the pizza man to find the place as well... Had a nice three bedroom house right on the golf course!!! The breakfast buffet was excellent as well!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Golf resort

Posted Sep 25, 2016
The rooms and pool area were a little run down , in need of some attention. Felt like our stay was "out of season" Breakfast was very good, hotel staff friendly
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Antonio, TX

A little oasis in the Valley

Posted Jun 2, 2016
Pros: This was not your traditional hotel but had more of a home feel.
Cons: The quest quarters needed to be updated. They are very clean and quite large, but need a little facelift.
Location: The location is perfect - a golf resort with beautiful grounds. It is close to Brownsville and South Padre Island.
We were welcomed by a courteous and professional staff upon check-in, including warm chocolate chip cookies as a special treat. Our accommodations, although dated, were clean and very comfortable with a view of the golf course. We enjoyed the pool and the beautiful grounds.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Was definitely not what I expected! Don't stay!!

Posted May 1, 2016
Pros: It was a pretty golf course, I guess.
Cons: Maintenance. It needs a renovation....an overhaul if the room I stayed in was a common one used.
Location: Just off of the Expressway was convenient.
The toilet didn't work. The pool was dirty and full of leaves. The hot tub was barely warm. I wanted to go to dinner at around 5:00 pm, but the restaurant was closed. There was nowhere to get ice nor soda from a machine. The staff recommended going a mile down the road to a gas station. The shower floor was weak and dropped when you stood on it. Extremely spongy. The shower floor is shot! The tv didn't work. It took a non-English person 2 hours to get it to work. I asked the lady at check-out if perhaps the room I stayed in was not commonly used. She said it was one of the more used rooms they assigned! She said she was sorry for all my troubled and continued to charge me the $10 resort fee! I guess she wasn't so sorry after all, or maybe doesn't know the meaning of the word. I didn't feel safe. I checked out at 3:30 and spent the rest of the night sleeping in my car.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Antonio

Quiet, comfortable, and great views!

Posted Apr 7, 2016
Cons: The only thing that could've made it greater was having more sugar and creamer for my coffee. 3 sugars and 3 creams was only enough for one cup.
The stay was very nice and comfortable. The course views did not disappoint. I asked for a crib in advance and they had it in the room by the time I checked in! Absolutely pleased with my stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel---not fancy, but quiet, comfortable.

Posted Mar 14, 2016
Pros: Very quiet, good location to access several towns. Can go to South Padre for afternoon & dinner.
Cons: No fridge.
Right on the golf course. Clean, competent, with all amenities in a condo-like room.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ohio

Strange place

Posted Mar 10, 2016
Villas on beautiful country club grounds. Rooms were clean but need to be updated for the modern traveler. Very small room, few open power outlets, no min fridge. Our room had black mold on the bathroom ceiling. In room coffee set up had no spoons or stirring sticks. Country club restaurant is closed in the evening for a good part of the week leaving you with no close food options. Staff were excellent and very friendly. This place could be so much better than it is.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

No information - Villas

Posted Nov 30, 2015
Pros: There was a water view
The hotels are Villas divided into 3 separate rooms. The room we stayed in was large with a back patio that was on the resaca (small man made lake). On check in, no information was provided for wifi or breakfast. The room we checked into had a broken security latch, was fixed the next day after a follow up call to the front desk. First night was fine. The second night someone checked in next door with two small children that loved to run up and down stairs and scream until 11PM. Repeated calls to the front desk requesting assistance in with getting some quiet out of the neighbors yielded no assistance. A couple large bangs on the adjoining door put an end to the issue. We requested to be moved the next day to deal with the headache. The Villas are old. The rear door frame was rotted and had no secondary lock such as a latch or chain. The water pressure was low in both rooms we stayed in. The second room was quiet for our final night. Would have been nice to been provided the wifi code on check in, any details on breakfast location for our 3 nights and maybe put a menu in the room. Disappointing stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin

Nice place to stay

Posted Jul 2, 2015
Found just searching online but found it to be really nice. Beautiful views, room was comfortable just needed a desk & chair & place to put your stuff besides the floor. Pool was awesome!!! Staff was very friendly & helpful with directions.