Ratings based on 415 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nottingham

Nice hotel with great staff

Posted Mar 3, 2017
Pros: Staff.
Cons: Decorate rooms. Magnifying mirror.
Location: Handy for Brookfield shopping. Close to A10, Broxbourne, Cheshunt etc. Also close to Paradise Wildlife Park which we are told is excellent.
We only stayed one night but used the bar and the restaurant for breakfast which was very tasty. The staff were very friendly and attentive. The room was okay, a little tired and probably in need of modernising. A magnifying mirror would be useful as I couldn't see to put my make up on. Very comfy bed. We forgot to let the desk know that someone prior to our visit had left a carton of milk behind the patio door (perhaps to keep it cool). We left the curtain open so it could be seen. Perhaps it could be passed onto housekeeping to make that kind of check. Overall a very pleasant stay and we would recommend it.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 19, 2016 on Hotels
Staff we're polite and curtious. Bedroom was nice, but would be better to have lighting in the center of the room so I could read a newspaper without having to stand in the corner to see paper. Also bathroom very, very dated. The lift must be the slowest in the world. Also serious health and safety matter the lift door opens before it has stopped moving!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Seconds from Marks and Spencer shopping plaza!

Posted Dec 18, 2016
Pros: its proximity to all things great. easy to get everywhere from this location. Cambridge beckoned one day. English countryside the other!
Cons: The rooms are looking dated but alas, very clean! Wonderful housekeeping staff.
Location: Marks and Spencer
Does this hotel need some updating? Yes Are the rooms spotless? Yes Is the staff wonderful? Yes Is it a good value? Yes I had a wonderful 4 days here visiting friends in Hoddesdon.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from m

Staff were friendly but very noisey hotel.

Posted Dec 13, 2016
Was given two double beds instead of king size as advertised on website. Loud Christmas party in function room till early hours of morning. Could hear everyone going pasts in the corridors. Bathroom was very tired looking with what looked like DIY fixes, plug did not work, taps very lose and leaking. Cleanliness wasn't great, hairs in plug hole, dust on surfaces and hairs on bedside table. Scaffolding outside which we were not told about online when booking
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice overall

Posted Dec 11, 2016 on Hotels
Nice hotel, expensive considering where it is. Nice room, clean, good condition, everything working. Quite a lot of road noise though despite soundproofing. Pool & spa were small but adequate for a short stay. Would stay there again if needed.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 11, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Harry Potter stay

Posted Dec 6, 2016 on Hotels
Pool was lovely. Room Was fine but dated. Staff very good and helpful. Good hotel to stay with children. We stayed when we visited Harry Potter ( 25 mins away).
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 5, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very good.

Posted Nov 27, 2016 on Hotels
Fantastic staff and very very good food. Best porridge fit breakfast too. Will go back again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 21, 2016 on Hotels
The staff were lovely very friendly and helpful.