Ratings based on 26 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
54% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a great experience

Posted Jan 24, 2016
This is a beautiful old fashioned hotel, sadly the staff don't do it justice. I went to the front desk a few times with issues but each time there was no one there and had to wait 10 minutes at a time. The room temperature was impossible to regulate except to open a window now and again. At -8 outside this was not a good way to manage it. Nil soap it the bathroom for washing hands. Breakfast was a very basic free for all in a tiny room. Not a great experience, sadly.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from British Columbia, Canada

Nice historic hotel near the river.

Posted Dec 29, 2015
Pros: Had a steam room and hot tub. Historic feel.
Cons: Designated smoking away from public gatherings. Steam room could be updated. Hot tub makes awful sucking noises.
Location: Down hill and cross country ski hills nearby, however the conditions in 2015 are poor. Man made snow on runs only.
Beautiful historic hotel with nice open spaces for gathering. However, smoking smell is evident in all public places.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice Hotel in Bruck; Close to Zell Am See

Posted Sep 2, 2015
The hotel was convenient, clean and comfortable for our stay near Zell Am see. It feels like a family-run establishment which is nice, but it did lack amenities you'd expect at more established hotels. They got all the big things right: location, price, cleanliness; but missed the small bits that make a hotel 4 or 5 stars: terrible towels, OK beds, no toiletries, no free wifi.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 16, 2015 by Matthew, Hotel Management
Hi and thanks for the comments. You refer to the small things that make a hotel 4 or 5 stars but we are only a three star which reflects in the price that we charge (under €50 per night instead of over €150, depending on the season). I note that you made comment about towels but it is a shame that you didn't say so at the time of your visit as we could have changed them for you. Toiletries are available; there is a bowl of soap and shampoo sachets on the reception desk but, for the sake of the environment, we do not put the in the rooms. The WiFi is no free, this is true, but this is because we do not include the charge in the room charge as you would find in more expensive hotels. We prefer that our guests do not have to pay for something that they do not want. If you want it, it is only €2 per day with the price being discounted when you buy extra days. All of this is reinvested in our network infrastructure with new Access points now being installed at around €350 each to provide the highest speeds possible and our network running at over 1gbps throughout the house.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, England

Good hotel in beautiful location.

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Pros: The rooms were spacious, quirkily furnished with lots of antique furniture and the beds were very comfortable.
Cons: The wi-fi could be free. The staff could make themselves more available when needed. Breakfast buffet was good but not subtantial.
Location: Perfect location for a trip up the mountain road to Gross Glockner.
Location was the key for chosing this hotel as it was at the start of the Grossglockner Hochalpen Strasse that we wanted to drive the next day. We were very pleased with the facilities the hotel offered, including suanas, hot-tub and exercise suite. We didn't use the outside swimming pool as we hadn't enough time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 16, 2015 by Matthew, Hotel Management
Thanks for your comments. It is nice to know that you were so happy with your stay. The pool was built last year and was only really made usable this year so, with it being so how this summer, we were very glad to have it. It is an 'Organic' pool; it does not use chemicals but, instead relies on organic water treatment. No problems with sore eyes from over chlorination and the like!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Never ever choose this hotel

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Pros: the location
Cons: everything
I stayed 6 bad nights at this hotel The hotel has bad furniture bad wifi bad housekeeping the breakfast contains of egg,cheese and bread only! but to be honest its location isn't bad.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 31, 2015 by Matthew, Hotel Management
Sorry to hear that you were not satisfied. Perhaps, if you had come to reception with yourconcerns, we could have helped. For example: The furniture varies from room to room. Perhaps you were in one of the rooms in the old building where the furniture is antique and you would have preferred a more modern feel? The WiFi runs at a maximum of 108mbit/sec over a high speed backbone > 2gbit/sec. If you experienced problems, we have an in house computer engineer who could have helped. We are currently upgrading the WiFi to support up to 450mbit/sec and higher. Breakfast does indeed include eggs, cheese (maybe 2 or 3 different types) and bread (maybe 3 or 4 different types) but you forgot to mention fresh white bread rolls, 3 or 4 different cereals, ham, sausage, maybe salami and other sliced meats, butter cakes, 4 different types of fruit juice, 6 or 8 different types of tea, coffee, fresh milk......
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Joe from West, Tx.

Very nice hotel with much history!

Posted May 31, 2014
Pros: clean and large rooms!
Staff was very nice and included breakfast. The town of Bruck is beautiful!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 31, 2015 by Matthew, Hotel Management
Many thanks for your comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Martin from Surrey

Nothing is too much trouble!

Posted Jul 30, 2013
The staff at the Lukashansl are the most accommodating I found on my recent tour of Europe. They did everything possible to make my stay as comfortable as possible. And whilst the facilities at the hotel are good the location is superb - very convenient both for Zell am Zee and the Grossglockner Road. Recommended!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 31, 2015 by Matthew, Hotel Management
Thanks for your comments, Martin. It is nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much. One of the things that we find is that it is so much easier to help people who are happy and friendly towards us also; it makes us want to help you even more. Thank you for being such a guest and for telling others about your experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Paul from Phoenix, AZ

Somewhat Rickety Off-Season Ski-Bum Hotel

Posted Jun 19, 2013
Pros: Warm, friendly environment. Good breakfast. Family operated.
This was not a top-rated 5 star experience. But who cares? It seems like a friendly family-run ski lodge (off season for us in June). Rooms and common areas have been added helter-skelter in ways that make it so you have to keep your curtains closed for privacy against a common room on the other side of your room window. When the guest computer kept my Euro and crashed, the desk attendant handed me a Euro, shrugged, and told not to put anymore Euros in. As I recall, there was no soap in the bathroom. Still, if anything is lackingall you have to do is ask. If no one is at the front desk (which happens a lot), look around and you will find them sitting with family or friends at a table in the lobby doing paperwork or whatever. They will cheerfully get up and bring you anything you need. Bathroom towels are thin from years of laundering, but the tub in our room was awesome! A big old-fashioned 4-footed iron-cast tub w/ hand-held shower head. Perfect for a relaxing hot bath! In June the fireplaces are cold, but no doubt they are lit in winter to welcome a frosted skier. 2nd floor has an out-of-tune baby grand piano that my wife says probably plays by itself at night. No doubt! OVERALL A GREAT VIBE! Good for 4 stars based on family-friendly accommodating staff, wonderful rustic ambiance, and overall comfort.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Arousa from Saudi Arabia

Good price comfortable hotel

Posted May 25, 2012
Pros: Bed
Cons: Dog's poo on my way to my room
Location: Wonderful. At Bruk
It is a very good price hotel. 5 min away from Zell Am See by metro. The area is amazing. At Bruk. Food is not good. Thu you will find eggs in the morning. Bathroom is clean and comfortable.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hamburg

Lukashansl bedeutet nicht gleich Hotel

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Pros: Am besten hat das Personal gefallen, das jeweils sehr freundlich war.
Cons: Die genaue Beschreibung auf der Buchungsplattform kann so weit verbessert werden, dass ersichtlich ist, welche Kategorie gebucht wird.
Location: Das Hotel befindet sich in Bruck. Mit einem Auto kann man gut nahegelegene Klams, den Zeller See und Wanderwege erkundet werden.
Die Buchung über Expedia mit dem Zusatz "Annex" bedeutet keine Unterbringung im angegebenen Hotel, sondern in der Pension des Labels. Wir hatten Glück und wurden kulanterweise im Hotel untergebracht und nicht in der Pension. Die Ausstatung im Hotel war sehr urig und hat ein typisch österreichisches Flair. Das Frühstück ist ausreichend bestückt und bietet für jeden etwas.