Ratings based on 59 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

a nice stay!

Posted Jul 14, 2017 on Hotels
Really happy with this hotel. The hosts were amazing and very informative about the local area. Car parking on site was really useful!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Nice well kept property, very friendly staff makes you you feel at home
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Leigh-on-Sea, UK

Perfection!

Posted Apr 4, 2017
Pros: The owners, Hans and Angelina have created a paradise of a hotel. They are extremely friendly and hospitable. The parking is a massive convenience.
Cons: Tea/coffee making facilities in the rooms would be the only possible improvement.
Location: The breathtakingly beautiful, historic City of Bruges with its limitless attractions is about 10 minutes' cycle ride away. (We take folding bikes)
The Gasthof Groenhove is an imposing luxury establishment set in extensive grounds yet very close to the historic centre of the world's most beautiful city, Bruges.My wife and I have just had two 2-night stays and both of our rooms were of 5 star standard, the beds were both very comfortable and large and the bathrooms were superb with abundant hot water. The views from the large windows are of the immaculate gardens and it is difficult to believe the hotel is in a city. Both of our rooms were beautiful,enormous,light and peaceful. We thoroughly enjoyed our stays in this wonderful hotel!
5 out of 5
by Ryan

Convenient, clean, easygoing

Posted Mar 13, 2017 on Hotels
Great location in a quit area, easy walk into Bruges centre. Fantastic knowledgeable host Hans made us feel welcome and spent time to point out all the must do things in the area. Great breakfast would definitely stay again. Worked well for a family of five
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent

Just out of town hotel but good for getting around

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Pros: It was very quiet and comfortable with a lovely breakfast. There was ample free parking.
Cons: The noise from the rooms above could be noisy at times but it was generally a quiet location
We went to Bruge for a two night stay and were made very welcome by the owner and and although we arrived in the morning and were too early to get into our rooms we were given lots of information as to how to get into town and what to see. It was about 20 mins walking into the city so we left the car and did everyone on foot. Very comfortable hotel with ample continental breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 9, 2015
Lovely 20 minute walk to the city centre. Very helpful and friendly owners.
3 out of 5
by Rachel from alaska

Needs a great deal of upgrading, but excellent breakfast

Posted Oct 19, 2014 on Hotels
We chose this guest house according to most of the positive reviews I had read. We had not wanted to stay directly inside the center of Bruges, and this place was a fine location as to being a 10-15 min walk to the town. It was not the easiest to get to but that is just b/c of the traffic set-up. our room was okay, small, a bit too warm and having the window open with no screen allowed a few pesky mosquitoes in at night. The condition of the guest house interior was not very updated. For the price we paid, and the fact that it appeared to be fully booked, there could be a bit of the profit put into some upgrading of the carpet. The enclosed patio eating area was quite lovely and the breakfast served was excellent. Our hotel host was polite and friendly, but I wouldn't say he was as warm and welcoming as others described. We were wondering if it was due to being American (not to feel insecure) but he did seem to be more engaging with the other hotel guests who clearly were from other countries other than the US. Overall, we felt this was our least favorite out of all of our hotel stays while traveling to many locations throughout our 2 weeks in Europe.
3 out of 5
by alphadenver from Sussex

Nice Room

Posted Sep 18, 2014 on Hotels
A well maintained room with good bathroom in a nice hotel but be careful going up the stairs from the lobby as carpet is worn and could be a trip hazard. Unfortunately, we found the owner to be a little intimidating. We were disappointed with breakfast, having been told that this would be available between 08.30 and 09.30, we arrived at 08.50 and were bluntly told that there were no more eggs or croissants and we had to make do with what was left.
5 out of 5
by Matthew from Boston, MA

Friendly staff and quiet location

Posted Jun 30, 2014 on Hotels
We were very satisfied with this B&B for our stay in Bruges. My wife and I both enjoyed the walk to the city limits (10 min) as it was quite peaceful and safe. City centre was then only another 10 minutes walk from there. The B&B owners were polite, helpful and accommodating. They answered any questions we had and provided insight into the must-sees in Bruges. Breakfast was standard and the check-in/check-out was smooth. Be sure to let them know when you'll be arriving so you know they will be there otherwise you will have to call the number they have posted.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jules from Uk

Bring a kettle with you

Posted May 23, 2014
Pros: I did like the presentation of our room and the fact it was like being transported back in time.
Cons: Breakfast and a hot water machine and forewarned about non availability of bikes
Location: Not a lot to near by, unless you are into Ten pin bowling and finding somewhere to eat locally is a problem as most eateries are shut till wednesday
Rooms were lovely, but main reception a bit shabby. Breakfast is limited so get down early before some one else eats all the pies. The Hotel doesn't supply hot drinks after breakfast so if you have been out all day make sure you take a kettle with you for a cuppa when you get back. Opening times for restaurants vary and its a good 20 min walk to the main town of Bruge so wear sensible shoes - especially on the cobbled streets. But you can always fill up on munchies from the Careforre supermarket next door to the hotel Also if you are planning to use their bikes - you cant as they have been left to be garden ornaments as apparently it is to expensive to get them serviced, bring your own.