Ratings based on 616 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Grand hotel in the old style, excellent service

Posted Jan 11, 2018
Very comfortable hotel, highly professional and responsive staff, within walking distance of everything there is to see in Bruges. Outstanding breakfast buffet. Cosy bar area with armchairs and open fire. Bus right outside to go to the train station.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wales uk

Very good location

Posted Jan 5, 2018
The location was great. The room was nice and clean. We stayed in room 412 right by one of the hotels staircases so was very loud at some points. If you wanted to use the pool you had to pay 10 euro each which I have not experienced in a hotel before so that was a little disappointing. The lounge area was lovely and the bar was beautiful
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel very close to the town yet quiet

Posted Dec 8, 2017
Nice to be in the centre of the town yet have a peaceful hotel. Lovely little pool and sauna. The only complaint I have is that my beautiful four poster bed had a very uncomfortable, rubber like mattress protector which was not comfortable to sleep on at all.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dissapointing and overpriced, untrustworthy.

Posted Dec 5, 2017
We thought we were heading for luxury hotel but ended up dissapointed, the room was not the same as pictured, it was alright but not what you expect for £600 for a weekend. The room service was slow, we ordered food one night and it was horrible. Staff were polite and we didn’t complain about the above, which was foolish of us. However I probably wouldn’t have taken the time to review this hotel if it wasn’t for the following We were originally informed that breakfast was included when checking in. The hotel then charged us £25 a head for this. When I challenged this it was reluctantly taken off our bill. About an hour later the amount of £75 was taken out of our account. With an email stating that they planned on taking our money. The hotel weren’t willing to deal with us face to face, they were much more comfortable taking our money over their mistake behind our backs. Not only this but they faked a signature on the breakfast slip, this is probably the most shocking bit.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 8, 2017 by Vandenheede Kristof, Hotel Management
Dear Mr and Mrs, Please note that the picture the overview picture is and not the picture of the room. That's mentioned on the website of Expedia . The correct pictures are displayed room per room as you see on the website of Expedia . There is also clearly mentioned that breakfast = 25.00 EUR / person . Please note that you need to contact Expedia if you feel that they don’t show the correct information. However during the booking process it's mentioned However it’s clearly mentioned on the website during your room selection. You had breakfast in the hotel and you were informed at the moment of reservation and check in ( via registration form which you signed ), that breakfast was excluding.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yorkshire, England

Beautiful room

Posted Nov 20, 2017
Probably the cleanest hotel room I've ever stayed in. Nice view of the canal, could hear the horse drawn carriages in the morning, which is a much nicer sound to wake up to than traffic. Beautiful room, 242, comfortable king size 4 poster bed, light spacious bathroom, spotless. Would definitely stay here again. Helpful, friendly staff. Great location. Stay here!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Scotland

good hotel--room on third floor too small

Posted Nov 10, 2017
Pros: Clean, professional staff, good position.
Cons: Could a B+B option be included ? WE did have such a deal before.
Location: Near main Market square so a good place to be.
Visited with family for a special birthday. We have been twice before and enjoyed the experience. This time we were given rooms on third floor which were small and had a sloping roof which took up a lot of room (had to bend to get into bed. I realise the hotel was full and we did book via expedia. I would suggest that you ask which rooms you are allocated to ensure a better stay).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cedar Hill, Texas

Best Hotel in Bruges

Posted Oct 17, 2017
I've stayed many times, always perfect with a great staff. Absolutely wonderful breakfast and the rooms are lovely. I can't wait to get back to my favorite room. I appreciate how accomading the staff is. The terrace in the back is lovely for morning coffee. Highly recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Amazing Hotel!

Posted Oct 7, 2017
Pros: Absolutely everything! Impeccable service, beautiful surroundings, convenient location. . .
Cons: There was no in-room coffee just Lipton tea but that was a minor inconvenience.
Location: The hotel is within a short walk from the historic center of Bruges. Very conveniently located to a number of main attractions, restaurants and shops
The hotel is perfectly situated and within easy walking distance of the center of Bruges. I would highly recommend booking a room with a canal view for anyone who is willing to splurge a little more; the added ambiance is well worth it. I would also recommend splurging (at least once) on the hotel’s breakfast. The hotel offers opulence at a reasonable price especially if booking a bit off season.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing Hotel!

Posted Oct 6, 2017
Pros: Absolutely everything!
Cons: The only downside was not having access to coffee in my room but it was a minor inconvenience.
Location: Within easy walking distance to the center of town - including the all the main attractions, restaurants and shops.
The hotel is beautiful and within very easy walking distance to the center of town. If you can afford to splurge, a room with a canal view is well worth the price as is splurging on the breakfast offered by the hotel. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who enjoys a bit of luxury when traveling and is willing to spend a bit more for accommodations.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oxford. UK.

Nice hotel close to centre & all amenities

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Pros: Great central location and friendly staff.
Cons: The room lighting and showering favilifies.
Location: Great central location, easy walking distances to all restaurants, museums and shops. All streets are cobbled so take good walking shoes.
Lovely hotel and very helpful friendly staff. We were up in the roof so great views over the rooftops from the velux windows. The only downside was the room was fairly dark which would have been improved by decorating in a lighter colour, or better lighting. We also had to shower kneeling down as under the slanted roof there was no roof for fixing a standing shower head.