Ratings based on 168 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Nice boutique hotel on a canal

Posted Oct 17, 2015
Stumbled on this on a spur of the moment trip to Brugge. Very friendly staff that wants to be helpful. Melissa was especially friendly. She gave us a number of recommendations on restaurants and shops all of which were spot on. Our room looked out over the canal and was very romantic. Breakfast was nice but a bit over priced. If we come back toBrugge we will stay here.
5 out of 5
by Sabrina from Orange County, California

Gem in the heart of Bruges!

Posted Oct 11, 2015 on Hotels
Had a wonderful stay at this quaint and charming hotel. The staff was extremely kind and helpful. The rooms were decorated with lovely antiques and a beautiful king size bed but the bathroom was modern with bright lights and a heated towel rack! The location couldn't have been better situated on a quiet street but only a 3 minute walk to the main market square in the center of town. If I ever get to go back I'll be staying at Hotel Die Swaene!
4 out of 5
by Jeremy

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 30, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 30, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

traditional stylish hotel

Posted Aug 30, 2015 on Hotels
I feel comfortable
5 out of 5
by Dennis from USA

Serenity!!!

Posted Jun 12, 2015 on Hotels
Lovely! Recommend the suite with canal view!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 12, 2015
Lovely stay with very helpful and friendly staff. The room was comfortable. We had to ask for an iron/ironing board as they were not in the room, but they were provided immediately from reception. We particularly loved being able to get up and use the pool before breakfast.
4 out of 5
by Nicole from New York

Elegant retreat in the heart of old Bruge

Posted Jun 8, 2015 on Hotels
This hotel was perfect for our visit to Bruges. The font desk service was IMPECCABLE. I've never had such outstanding attention from a hotel before. The view of the boats passing by each day on the canal was worth it. I loved the double sink bathrooms and the bed was beautiful. I was not crazy about the separate twin beds but this was common in most hotels I researched. The hotel pool was an awesome addition. It is a 5 minute walk to Market Square and it's really an ideal location.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Raleigh NC USA

Perfect Location next to the canal

Posted Jun 1, 2015
Pros: The canal view and very close to the town square.
Cons: Management approach to its customers. I got no email or contact but they knew they were overbooked. We could tell something was wrong immediately.
Location: close to everything, shopping, markets, town square, museums, churches, belfort.
We paid the full higher non-refundable canal view room rate well in advance to ensure a canal view room. When we got there we were told the hotel overbooked and there was no canal view room available. At the booking time there were other area hotels with canal view rooms that didn't require full non-refundable pre-payment but we picked Die Swaene. Talk about disappointed. Later conversations with a manager we were told that it was Expedia's problem but was now worked out. Expedia needs to call them to verify canal view rooms are available. What? Conversations with other hotel employees were aimed at blaming other problems including us. We were moved to canal view room the next day. But was not offered any refund or amenities to offset our financial loss and nothing could compensate for not having the room we paid for and basically being dismissed.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location and service.

Posted May 18, 2015 on Hotels
Staying at the Pergola part of Die Swaene Hotel, we found to be a little more updated than across the canal but the standards of both are more than adequate and we were very comfortable here, we were even able to have our early morning coffee brought across from the main building, great service!! The staff are very willing and helpful, definitely a place to return to both for all of the above and it's position in Bruges.