Ratings based on 180 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from orlando florida

Amazing

Posted Dec 14, 2017
We loved the hotel. The staff was very helpful and attentive. They helped us with suggestions, reserved a cab for us and even shared some tips on how not to miss our flight. Because of all this our stay was wonderful
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 15, 2017 by Public Relations, Anna, Hotel Management
Dear Tania, thank you very much for the lovely review! Our staff is indeed excellent, so we are happy that everything went great for you! We hope to welcome you soon at Die Swaene ****
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

conveniently located, charming with awesome staff

Posted Nov 30, 2017
Awesome location. Close to square and restaurants. Rooms are a bit dated. It’s an old building but bathrooms are updated. The lounge was great we used it for our gatherings each night. Special shout out to Anna at the front desk. She was awesome. Even offered to watch our kids while we went to get a drink. Very helpful. Kudos to her.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 2, 2017 by Team Die Swaene ****, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for the nice review! We're happy that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and city, and hope to see you and your family soon in Bruges! High five from Anna to the kids!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from tunbridge wells

Nice hotel. Friendly staff

Posted Nov 4, 2017
Really lovely staff. Nice hotel. swimming area needs improvement, but I think they’re working on that. Good position
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 4, 2017 by Salma, Hotel Management
Dear Nik, Thank you for your kind review. We are indeed improving the swimming pool area. We are pleased to hear that you had a great stay. Come back soon. Best regards, Salma
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Nice old style holes overlooking the river

Posted Oct 12, 2017
Pros: Old style friendly helpful staff
Cons: Reduce the breakfast cost
Location: Close to centre and shops lovely walks around the canel and old parts nice choice of reastaurants
Lovely friendly hotel but the breakfast is very very expensive and very little hot choice would not have this service again
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 4, 2017 by Salma, Hotel Management
Dear Kathy, Thank you for writing your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Die Swaene. There are a few hot things you can order at the breakfast buffet such as eggs, cooked however you like, with mushrooms, bacon, etc. Perhaps you were not aware you had this choice, and we apologise for that. Our variety of breads, cheeses and cold meats is larger than the hot foods. Best regards, Hotel Die Swaene
4 out of 5
by Yieming

Beautiful but aging, great quiet location

Posted Aug 24, 2017 on Hotels
Location is quiet opposite canal but steps away from Fish Market and Burg Square across the footbridge. Front desk staff is excellent recoomending just the right restaurants to fit my preferences. Beautiful antique furnished lounge with grand piano. Hotel is aging and water was off during the day for repairs. Staff provided a large bottle of Vittel. Room and bathroom were very clean. Bathroom tile grout in need of treatment to remove mildew stains. Front desk said renovation is planned for January to address this issue.
4 out of 5
by greg

Nice place with luxurious air.

Posted Jul 30, 2017 on Hotels
The place was great, it was a luxury hotel of old. The problem is that many of the furnishings in the carpet we're also very old and worn. The room was beautiful it had a new carpet , But the view was not great. Somethings were a little bit dusty but not too bad. With a little bit of a facelift this place would be amazing.
5 out of 5
by David

Posted Jul 15, 2017 on Hotels
Location was superb though finding it even with Sat-Nav was tricky as correct address essential. Staff very friendly, only criticism was the lack of tea/coffee making facilities as room service started at 7.30 a.m.
5 out of 5
by Martin

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 26, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location/Pet friendly-ish

Posted May 13, 2017 on Hotels
Easy access to the central area. Hotel is ok. One thing the hotel should advise beforehand is you are expected to take your dog with you at all times. Restaurants, bars, etc. Brugge is a pet friendly place, but you just can't take your fur friends in everywhere. We were not told this till we arrived, even after calling & confirming the hotel was pet friendly. Hotel has their own very convent parking.
5 out of 5
by dorothy from Luxembourg

Posted Aug 15, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent location, superb service and staff.