Ratings based on 1,355 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 19, 2017
Lovely hotel Great comfort Great food Excellent location
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from lancs

stunning hotel to go with beautiful city

Posted Nov 15, 2017
Pros: location luxury
Cons: few more bar snacks
Location: perfect location walking distance for all the attractions
The hotel is ideally positioned in the centre of Brugge, please note the car park is at the rear and roads around the hotel are mainly one way. the service is five star from start to finish, clean , spacious rooms.. ours was next to the chapel !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hampshire, UK

Nice hotel, can’t beat its location

Posted Oct 29, 2017
....but the staff seem to always be hurrying guests. Hotel bar closes, next minute your locked in and made to walk outside the hotel to re-enter. Chamber maids always knocking on your door, especially annoying at 09:30 am on a Sunday!!! Beds are twins, they change the topper depending on the booking but I was extreamly disappointed as you could feel a distinct join on the beds - not really what you expect in a 5-star hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

A comfortable Hotel very close to all attractions

Posted Oct 28, 2017
Pros: This Hotel is very closed and certainly within walking distance from all tourists attractions, restaurants, and all sorts retail of shops.
Cons: Customer relations.
Location: The location of Duke's Palace is second to none. One can walk to all attractions the city has to offer,restaurants and shops of all kinds.
We found the hotel to be very closed to all tourist attractions,local shops and restaurants of all tastes. As we arrive very early at the hotel, we did not expect our room to be ready, we left our luggage with the reception and went for a walk of the city. On our return to the hotel at about 3.00pm we went up to our room only to find four pieces of luggage that did not belong to us. We feel that the security in place should be reviewed. The room was comfortable with all facilities one would expect from a 5* Hotel. Having said that the furniture and decor looked tired and a bid out of date. We used the hotel restaurant on two occasions. On our first visit both the service and food were of excellent standards but this was not the case on our second visit for dinner. The lobster bisque was not edible and was not touched. The plates were taken away and the staff did not even had the courtesy to ask way the soup was not even touched. At the end of our meal and the presentation of the bill a charge for the soup of 28Euros was made. We did raise our dissatisfaction for being charged for something served that was below standard and not edible. Though the said amount was taken out of the account the Restaurant Manager' excuse was that of a miscommunication. We feel that this hotel has seen better days and is time for a complete overhaul. The hotel status as a 5* is well overrated and can, at best, only be a 4* at the moment.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Awesome hotel in the middle of everything!

Posted Oct 27, 2017
Loved every minute! The hotel is very luxurious, breakfast delicious, staff very helpful and friendly
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Great location but not worth it

Posted Oct 20, 2017
Pros: Location is top and staff generally are very nice.
Cons: Communication and housekeeping need work.
Location: Everything in the city is in walking distance.
This is allegedly the only 5 star hotel in Flanders. The hotel is proud of its rich heritage and rightly so however this manifests as slightly drab and dated. It certainly feels authentic though. Staff are generally friendly and professional. Check in was smooth and quick, I fortunately arrived at a quiet time as reception consists of a small lobby area. The entrance to the lift is a pair of narrow openings barely a meter across and at right angles to each other. It feels like going to a secret place certainly not a main thoroughfare. My room was supposed to be superior/deluxe-save your money. Aside maybe from a small seating area and an alcove with a luggage shelf (badly lit and unusable) there was nothing superior about it. It was located below a staircase which was strange and occasionally noisy. Noise from the neighbouring bathroom was also an issue. Bed was enormous extremely comfortable. All rooms have hypo allergic bedding which is good. My real issue was housekeeping. On the first day my room was not cleaned and I was accused of having left the 'do not disturb' sign on all day, which I hadn't. Eventually my room got cleaned. On the day of departure housekeeping disturbed me twice as I was preparing to leave. With 11am check out surely that could have waited. Communication seems to be lacking in this area. The hotel is in s great location. It's a short hop to the train station- I advise taking a taxi though as those cobblestones will ruin your shoulders.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Wonderful stay

Posted Oct 15, 2017
Perfect stay. Luxurious hotel, excellent staff and location. Cannot wait to return!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 14, 2017
Loved the hotel and staff was helpful. Rooms beginning to show their age with bumps on furniture and stains on carpet. Nice bathroom spoiled by a less than powerful shower.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tehran, Iran

Two nights stay in Bruge

Posted Oct 4, 2017
Clean room, friendly and helpful staff, easy access to the city centre and great breakfast
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Impressive Hotel with a touch of class

Posted Sep 22, 2017
The hotel certainly met our expectations. To celebrate a 'big birthday' we were in a Junior Suite which was spacious with a double aspect view. The breakfast restaurant was welcoming with a good selection of hot and cold food. All the staff were helpful and friendly throughout our stay. The grounds at the rear of the hotel were extremely well tended and although it was autumnal we sat outside for a coffee. Just one adverse comment. A number of delegates from a conference gathered outside the main entrance to smoke.