Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Very charming hotel

Posted Sep 8, 2017
I had the budget room, which turned out to be nicer than I expected. It is small, but nice. The breakfast room and lobby is very charming. The owner was great--very helpful, friendly and even taught my daughter how to fold the napkins. It is about a 10-15 minute walk to the center of town.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Charming B & B

Posted Apr 6, 2017 on Hotels
This hotel was so charming! The host waa welcoming and helpful, even gave us advice that saved us a bunch of time and hassle on the train. The room and bathroom were clean and comfortable, and we truly relaxed. The breakfast was a lovely spread, nice variety, beautifully presented. You can tell that this place is lovingly cared for by its host and it was a pleasure to stay there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Nice Hotel

Posted Oct 14, 2016
Location: It is approx. 10 - 15 mins walk to the Market Square plenty of restaurants, bars shops. there is a lot to do in Brugge, Museums, churches, nice park
We arrived at The Hotel Gulden Vlies, where we where greeted by a lovely lady who showed us where to park our car. On our return we where told that our room was ready and we could check in. The lady showed us a map and pointed out places of interest and places to eat and drink, told us about the Saturday Market which is from 9am to 13:30 I think. We stayed in room 1 which is at the back of the hotel nice and quite no noise of the traffic, only from the other guests. Our room was cosy with a double bed nice and comfy (firm) free wifi in room, a shower . The room was cleaned on a daily basis with fresh towels. Tea/ coffee facilities.Yes the room could do with a lick of paint other than that it was nice. Breakfast was a continental spread lots to choose from with Jazz playing in the background nice. This was our second time to Brugge, we did all of the sightseeing then this was just a relaxing break. We would like to say a big thank you to all the staff
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from L

Posted Oct 11, 2016
The hotel is in a great location 10 minutes walk from Bruge city centre. However there were lots of issues with our room. The seat of the toilet was broken, one of the bedside lamps was loose on the wall so that it hung down dangerously, the sliding door to the tiny bathroom was off its hinge so that it didn't close properly. thete was also an empty Tupperware container under the radiator. The owner of the hotel was lovely and the breakfast very tasty but the hotel is in desperate need of a refurbishment.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Value for money

Posted Aug 20, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed at this hotel to explore Bruges. It's a great location, just outside the main perimeter but close enough to walk and pretty quiet with free on-road parking nearby. There was free wifi, nice continental breakfast and friendly staff. However we did have a broken toilet seat and a sliding door to the bathroom that wouldn't stay shut and was an old recycled normal door which we thought was odd.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leicester, England

Lovely hotel close to centre of Bruges

Posted Jul 30, 2016
Pros: Everything
Excellent well run hotel with friendly staff, cant fault anything, nothing was too much trouble.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Apr 22, 2016
Good location , nice walk into the centre and parking at front (4hr limit in day time hours) which suited me fine as when I arrived in evening there were no time restrictions and I left at 11 am the next morning . Friendly staff and lovely room - only problem I had was a dripping shower ... Sounds picky but when room is quite at night it was really annoying. Great staff and great stay
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Birmingham, UK

Good if you want a quiet night's sleep

Posted Jul 23, 2014
We booked the Hotel Gulden Vlies for a quick overnight trip to Bruges. The hotel itself is a little old and faded, and we were surprised to find that the en-suite bathroom was a box built into the corner of the room with a sliding 'flap' as a door that did not entirely close it off! But it was clean, had an old-fashioned charm, the shower was good and the bed was comfy. Breakfast was a cold buffet which suited us fine. The hotel is a good 10 minutes walk from the city centre hustle and bustle. We quite liked this as it meant that the area was quiet when we wanted to sleep and the walk in was very easy. For the price, I would go back. Beware though, we booked through Expedia and the price quoted (on which we based the booking) was not the same as the price charged upon leaving. Also there was a one euro eighty tax per person added on, which all meant that the stay was about £10-12 more expensive than anticipated.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Excellent!

Posted Apr 8, 2013
Excellent place for that money! To town centre 10 minutes walk. Free car parking, it needs to be changed every 4 hrs but helpful staff did it for us! Very nice continental breakfast! Very helpful staff (help with luggage, gave free map and some recommendations on restaurants). Lovely atmosphere! Very good internet connection in the rooms! We get top floor room, but view was amazing! Definitely recommend and stay again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cosy, charming & friendly

Posted Dec 11, 2012
Pros: Friendliness/helpfulness of staff. Quality of breakfast. Nice and warm.
Cons: Walls a bit thin. No proper doors on bathrooms. Electricity intermittent at times.
Location: 10 mins walk from the centre of Bruges.
Very accommodating owners, very helpful with recommendations and tips for exploring the city. Hotel is very charming and cosy - the only thing that is a bit odd is that the bathrooms don't have proper doors. Instead, they have a kind of slide-door which serves as more of a flap than a door, so it's not the most private thing in the world. However, as long as you know the person you're staying with pretty well, this isn't really a problem.