Ratings based on 841 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sandbach cheshire

Posted Aug 3, 2017
Very nice hotel with pleasant staff. Breakfast buffet had everything you could wish for apart from warm plates!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent

Great place for a Bruges mini break

Posted Jul 12, 2017
Pros: Location was great for a 3 night break in Bruges.Staff really friendly and helpful.Bikes can be hired from the hotel-thoroughly recommend this
Cons: Breakfast was good but didn't vary from day to day . Move the wardrobe so the doors can be opened without the bed getting in the way!
Location: Central location near the fish market which seemed to turn into a music venue/bar some evenings.Walk or bike to get around.
A great location and very friendly staff particularly on reception.Our room was clean with comfy beds and a decent shower but it was badly laid out and quite dark with only a small window and no view. We did see into other rooms on occasion and there were clearly far superior rooms to ours so would recommend seeing a picture of the room booked first if possible or consider an upgrade.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Perfect location for Bruges

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Pros: The staff is very nice, helpful and accommodating. The hotel is a historic site with a great sauna we used a couple of times.
Location: The main art museums, fish market, main plaza, boat ride, etc. are all walking distance.
This charming hotel is located walking distance from most of the important sites and museums we wanted to visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Charming hotel with friendly staff.

Posted Jun 30, 2017
Good location, nice breakfast and bar area. Rooms very historic feel to them.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

Comfortable hotel very close to the historic cente

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Pros: Comfort, location, facilities -- all excellent.
Cons: The room was a little on the small side. It would have been perfect as a single, but was something of a squeeze as a double.
Location: The historic centre of Bruges is literally a few minutes walk away, and the whole city centre is walkable, with plenty to see and do.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Hotel Jan Brito; it was ideally located for a Bruges city break, and is very comfortable. The staff were welcoming and helpful, particularly in ensuring that a gluten-free breakfast was available for my wife. The sauna and steam room made for relaxing evenings after lots of walking round the city during the day.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a 4 star or even 3 star hotel

Posted May 15, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Location is a 10 min walk to the square.
Cons: To know this is a 2.5 star hotel so you are not so disappointed.Nothing compared to our 4 star hotel we left in Amsterdam before we got to Brugge
The hotel is for sure not a 4 star hotel.Rooms are very small.The 1st room that we got had a distinct urine smell to it not just in the bathroom but in the room itself. We told the receptionist about the smell and she offered to change our room.We had to repack and move to the other room which I guess it was not too bad since there was not a lot of room to unpack in the first place. The 2nd room didn't have the smell but still very small.The only place to open our large suitcase was on a small table right by the door and we opened our carry on on top of the chair they had in the room.No way you could open 2 suitcase in the room in any form or fashion.2nd night of our stay I took a shower around 8pm noticing the water was barely warm.By the time my husband took a shower water was ice cold and of course the temperature outside is in 50's (not warm at all). It was a rainy cold day so we wanted to turn on the heather to dry up the room since our clothes were wet from the rain.The wall heater unit they had in the bathroom & in the room will not come on(the night before they both worked fine).We called the receptionist and she came to our room & said the reason is that our room is not cold enough and the system has a thermostat and that's why.Didn't make sense since the unit didn't have a thermostat.The next day on checkout we heard the receptionist apologizing to another guest who was checking out early unhappy that there is something wrong with their heating & water system.
5 out of 5
by Eric

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 14, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Christchurch NZ

Great hotel..location and staff amazing

Posted Apr 28, 2017
Was the perfect choice for us..set on the period suiting the history of the city
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location, old world charm & attentive staff

Posted Apr 25, 2017 on Hotels
The location was great -- very close to the Markt and all vast majority of tourist attractions. The hotel is lovely. Several buildings have been combined so that rooms are in separate buildings that are connected fairly seamlessly. The decor is traditional. There are elevators, a place to enjoy breakfast, a comfortable bar and several small gardens. The rooms are small but comfortable. The armoire in our room was oddly placed against a wall where one had to go around the bed to get to it and the bed made it difficult to open the doors while standing in front of it. The bathroom had been updated tastefully and the hotel supplied a hairdryer, shampoo and other sundries. The staff was friendly, professional and very helpful. There was an error where we were led to believe breakfast was included but after looking at the notes from the person who checked us in, they settled in our favor. Breakfast included coffee, tea, milk, juices, cold cuts, cheese, yogurt, cereal, breads including croissants, scrambled eggs, sausage, ham and boiled eggs.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Fabulous Hotel in great location

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Pros: Everything...the staff were so friendly and helpful, the location is perfect and the room was just what you want.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Great location, only 5 mins walk to the main square (Markt) and all other top tourist attractions are within walking distance.
What a fabulous hotel. Great location, only 5 mins walk to the main square 'Markt'. Very friendly and helpful staff. Our room was a double room, the perfect size with all the amenities you need. The sauna and steam room (private use) is a must after a day walking around. All must see tourist sites are within walking distance, and great restaurants and cafes (highly recommend a visit to Dell'Arte restaurant/cafe...fabulous food and great prices...2 mins from Markt). Would suggest a taxi to the Train Station (only 9 euros)....about 30 mins walk. We will definitely stay here again.