Ratings based on 1,344 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from england north lincs

Posted Oct 18, 2017
Nicely out of the way of the centre on one of the lovely canals but only a ten minute walk back to the market square. Tea and coffee isn’t provided with the room something to note but over all nice old hotel keeping in theme with the city with modern on sweets
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Perth, WA

Good location but quite a poor experience overall

Posted Oct 10, 2017
No fan or air-con. Requested a fan - ancient and covered in dust but did the job I guess! Unable to leave windows open due to insects (previous review mentions plug in - this is repellent!!) Despite leaving curtains drawn and windows open slightly when we headed out each morning (to try and keep the room a bit cooler), we always came back to the curtains fully opened and the windows closed! So the afternoon/early evening sun had been streaming into our room making it uncomfortably hot and unable to cool with just a fan. Not quite sure why housekeeping insisted on doing this both days! Very poor standards of cleanliness - dirty toilet, old water marks on bathroom tiles, splash marks on mirrors, hairs on sink and toilet, lots of dust in room (fixtures and fittings, light bulbs etc). No tea/coffee facilities and didn't feel like there was anywhere in the hotel that we could request one (the bar was never staffed). There was a mini fridge in the room - but it didn't chill things very well. TV mounted on wall but couldn't be turned - needs to be on a bracket. Volume restricted!!! Unable to watch own movies via HDMI cable - no option to change viewing source! Our room was serviced daily but housekeeping left toilet cleaner in bathroom - at least they actually used it! The walls are paper thin so if you have noisy neighbours (like we did), then you'll hear everything - coughing, talking, snoring, footsteps etc. Excellent locaion Good sized room Nice canal views Lovely breakfast
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel 8 minute walk from Market Plaza

Posted Oct 1, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: some employees were not as pleasant as the others who were very pleasant and helpful
Location: Brugges, Brugges, Brugges
Pleasant rennovated 14th century building with walls of stone. Dining facility looks out on canal.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 3, 2017 by Hotel Ter Brughe, Hotel Management
Dear Guest We thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Maybe we can welcome you another time in the future! Kind regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bristol, England

Nice Hotel down a quiet street

Posted Sep 27, 2017
Lovely hotel, quiet location but close to the centre. Staff exceptionally friendly and helpful
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 3, 2017 by Hotel Ter Brughe, Hotel Management
Dear Guest We thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Maybe we can welcome you another time in the future! Kind regards
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Special birthday treat

Posted Sep 23, 2017
Always wanted to visit Bruges and the location of the hotel was perfect. Beautiful town, loads to see and do. Perfect for culture and history.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 25, 2017 by Hotel Ter Brughe, Hotel Management
Dear Guest We thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Maybe we can welcome you another time in the future! Kind regards
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Belfast, Ireland

This is not a 4 star hotel!

Posted Sep 17, 2017
This is the worst hotel I've stayed in for a long time. It bills itself as a 4 star hotel, I have NO idea how it acquired a 4 star rating, if indeed it did. The rooms were very very tired and required modernising, they were also small. The beds were very uncomfortable. The staff were almost invisible and when we did find a member of staff they were rude and quite uninterested in their guests. However the worst thing about this hotel was undoubtedly the breakfast. It was without doubt the worst buffet breakfast I have ever ever encountered. The hot food was cold and tasteless and continually running out, guests had to ask for more supplies regularly. The selection of breads and cold food was tasteless and very limited in selection. They couldn't even serve an acceptable quality of yogurt and muesli , I didn't know you could buy grey yogurt. Again staff in the breakfast room were supremely uninterested in their paying guests. And this hotel was definitely not cheap, despite this the decor, staff, facilities and food were all decidedly 2 star in quality.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 25, 2017 by Hotel Ter Brughe, Hotel Management
Dear Guest We are sorry to hear your stay was disappointing, we are disappointed as well as we make quite an effort to try to pleasure our guests during their stay. We would like to point out that our rooms are decorated in the feel of the age of the building (more than 500 years old). For some that might feel 'dated'. We offer a buffet breakfast with more than 50 fresh products. We are sorry to hear that you found that only average. The size of the rooms is mentioned in the description. All this information was to your disposal before making a reservation. Finally we would like to point out that we do not choose our stars ourselves, they are given by official authorities. Star classification also differs from country to country, which can lead to wrong expectations. We believe you had the wrong expectations. Regards
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Hotel full of character

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Pros: Old charm character
Cons: Drink facilities in the rooms
Location: A 5 minute walk to the main market square
The hotel is situated by a canal on the north side of the market square. The rooms are spacious and full of old charm character. The hotel is quiet. Breakfast was good. Luggage can be stored in reception after check out
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 25, 2017 by Hotel Ter Brughe, Hotel Management
Dear Guest We thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Maybe we can welcome you another time in the future! Please note that Tea or Coffee making facilities are not advertised as being present. We do have a bar and 24hour room service. Kind regards
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

canal side hotel

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Pros: The breakfast was good, and assuming you can get a window seat it had good views of the ducks on the canal.
Cons: The attention to customers, I reported a bulb had gone on after my first night and this was not fixed for the duration of my stay.
The hotel was well placed on the canal on the North side of town, and could have been great but for the small details. After the first night, I reported a bulb had gone in the room, this was not addressed during my stay. The bathroom had a shower over the bath but no shower curtain meaning it was difficult to shower without covering the floor of the bathroom with water.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 25, 2017 by Hotel Ter Brughe, Hotel Management
Dear Guest We thank you for your review. We apologize the light bulb was not immediately replaced. We are located in the centre of Brugge, a maximum of 10 minutes on foot of the Market Square. Please note that it is mentioned very clearly in the description that taking a shower is not possible (due to age and structure of the building). Kind regards
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worst place I ever stayed

Posted Sep 3, 2017
Pros: it seemed really nice on the outside
Cons: the hotel staff could be friendlier and they should close the room in the basement permanently.
Location: Bruges is the most amazing city in Belgium
They had forced us into the basement even though we payed for a premium room because they gave the rooms away. The staff was not friendly about helping us. The bath tub had a water roach in the bathtub. When we tried to show this to the front desk person she said usually they are clean and just ignored us. There was a terrible old smell and when we tried to open the window because it is the ground floor it is next to the water and all of the bugs flew inside. We could not stay there and had to book a different hotel around the corner and the hotel refused to refund the money.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 7, 2017 by Hotel Ter Brughe, Hotel Management
Dear Guest We believe you had the wrong expectations. Your review is also full of mistakes: first the room is in the basement, then it is suddenly it is on the ground floor? We do not sell 'premium rooms'. We also do not 'give rooms away'. Our Staff is always friendly and helpful. Their reputation is impeccable. It is not because they can not perform what you are demanding that they become unfriendly or unhelpful. It was your own decision to leave the hotel. You could also have contacted Expedia if you felt there was a problem. Regards
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Good position for exploring the town

Posted Sep 1, 2017
Cons: Breakfast room was a bit crowded - maybe a refectory table approach rather than separate tables would make it easier?
Enjoyed the canal-side position and the support from the staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 7, 2017 by Hotel Ter Brughe, Hotel Management
Dear Guest We thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Maybe we can welcome you another time in the future! Kind regards