Ratings based on 1,384 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northampton

Charming Bruge

Posted Dec 10, 2017
Lovely old period Hotel close to the Xmas Markets. Bruge is a friendly city with plenty of charming restaurants, shops and bars. Ideal for a shirt stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Norfolk UK

Nice hotel

Posted Dec 8, 2017
Pros: Not too far from the centre, 100 yards off the bus route so handy for transport
Over all our stay was good but or room did not have an enclosed shower, it was free standing with no screen so floor got wet when showering.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel

Posted Dec 7, 2017
Pros: We liked its old world charm.
Location: Good location,quite and right on the canal. Short walk into the centre and nice walks along the canals.
Lovely hotel ,very friendly and helpful staff. Nice location close to the centre but a bit difficult to find when driving.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 7, 2017 by Hotel Ter Brughe, Hotel Management
Dear Guest We thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Maybe we can welcome you another time in the future! Kind regards
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Glasgow, Scotland

Nice hotel close to centre

Posted Dec 4, 2017
This is a very nice hotel very close to the city centre. It is very unique in style which we liked. Our room was at the very top of the hotel and just as well we are fit as carrying suitcases up three flights of stairs would test most. It was worth it though as the room was lovely, very clean and very big.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 7, 2017 by Hotel Ter Brughe, Hotel Management
Dear Guest We thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Maybe we can welcome you another time in the future! Kind regards
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 4, 2017
We had a fantastic stay! The breakfast was just what we needed and the location was ideal. Thank you so much!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 7, 2017 by Hotel Ter Brughe, Hotel Management
Dear Guest We thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Maybe we can welcome you another time in the future! Kind regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal, Canada

nice hotel, well located with excellent breakfast

Posted Nov 25, 2017
We loved our stay here. Centrally located on a canal, great service from the 24hr front desk, full breakfast included in the price. Room was great with a beautiful view of the canal and bridge. Be warned: there’s no elevator and our room only had a bath, no shower. Would still stay there in a heartbeat next time we’re in town.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 7, 2017 by Hotel Ter Brughe, Hotel Management
Dear Guest We thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Maybe we can welcome you another time in the future! Kind regards
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from East Sussex, UK

Good location for town.

Posted Nov 24, 2017
Pros: Lovely, characterful breakfast room providing everything you could possibly want for breakfast.
Cons: Very dim lighting but appreciate the age of property.
Location: Close to town Market Square and easy to walk around the lanes. Boat rides on the canal, horse drawn carriages in Market Square and numerous shops.
Bruge is a very enjoyable place to visit. It is easy to walk around the lanes and there are many shops, particularly chocolate shops to browse. The Chocolate Line in Simon Stevinplein Street provides a visual account of how the chocolates are made and there is a vast selection of produce in the shop to purchase. The architecture of the buildings is quite something to see, especially the tower in market square. We wandered around an enormous food market with a marvellous selection of cheeses, fruit, vegetables, meats, cooked chicken, and flowers. A boat trip on the canal is thoroughly recommended and you can take a tour around the town in a horse drawn carriage or in a tour bus from the market square. There are numerous restaurants, cafes and bars in and around the market square. Most of the restaurants look very warm and inviting (in winter) with local food on the menu such as Rabbit stew, Beef stew and Mussels & chips. The tea shops are also very inviting with a selection of cakes and pastries. We enjoyed a pre dinner drink in one particular bar as the staff were very friendly and your drink always arrives with a dish of nibbles. Food and drink in general is very expensive but typical of most cities. Bruge is an ideal destination to visit in all seasons. In the warm weather you can sit in the sunshine in a park or on a bench. The winter is still a nice time to wander around - the Christmas Market and street lights are wonderful to see in late November & December..
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 7, 2017 by Hotel Ter Brughe, Hotel Management
Dear Guest We thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Maybe we can welcome you another time in the future! Kind regards
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 5, 2017
Very nice hotel in a great location. The outside patio was a particularly pleasing place to drink a Belgian beer. We’ll be back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great Location!

Posted Nov 5, 2017
Pros: Location, style, beds, staff, specoloos pots were all wonderful.
Cons: Coffee, Showers
Location: Chocolate/ Frites museum is 2 minute walk away! 5 mins away is cool underground bar Le Trappiste and Jazz restaurant 'T Zwart Huis.
Really lovely hotel if you don't mind the stairs. Cosy clean rooms with lots of character and helpful staff that can switch languages in the blink of an eye. Charming breakfast room with views of the canal and an inquisitive swan or two. Only odd thing is the lack of shower curtains/ screens/ shower head holders. Not far from the main hustle and bustle of Brugge centre its a quiet spot to come back to after a long day walking and drinking!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 7, 2017 by Hotel Ter Brughe, Hotel Management
Dear Guest We thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Maybe we can welcome you another time in the future! The fact that taking a shower is not possible (due to age and structure of the building) is mentioned in every profile of the hotel. Even though it seems 'simple' and 'cheap' for guests to install shower curtains, it is just not possible. That is why we mention numerous times that you just can not take a shower standing in our bath tubs. Kind regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great place to stay for a weekend

Posted Nov 5, 2017
The hotel is located just five minutes from the old town centre and was such a great base to be. The rooms are large and spacious, and we had a great view over the river. The staff were great and gave us some good tips on what to see. Really recommend this hotel!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 7, 2017 by Hotel Ter Brughe, Hotel Management
Dear Guest We thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Maybe we can welcome you another time in the future! Kind regards