Ratings based on 1,328 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Special birthday treat

Posted Sep 23, 2017
Always wanted to visit Bruges and the location of the hotel was perfect. Beautiful town, loads to see and do. Perfect for culture and history.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Belfast, Ireland

This is not a 4 star hotel!

Posted Sep 17, 2017
This is the worst hotel I've stayed in for a long time. It bills itself as a 4 star hotel, I have NO idea how it acquired a 4 star rating, if indeed it did. The rooms were very very tired and required modernising, they were also small. The beds were very uncomfortable. The staff were almost invisible and when we did find a member of staff they were rude and quite uninterested in their guests. However the worst thing about this hotel was undoubtedly the breakfast. It was without doubt the worst buffet breakfast I have ever ever encountered. The hot food was cold and tasteless and continually running out, guests had to ask for more supplies regularly. The selection of breads and cold food was tasteless and very limited in selection. They couldn't even serve an acceptable quality of yogurt and muesli , I didn't know you could buy grey yogurt. Again staff in the breakfast room were supremely uninterested in their paying guests. And this hotel was definitely not cheap, despite this the decor, staff, facilities and food were all decidedly 2 star in quality.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Hotel full of character

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Pros: Old charm character
Cons: Drink facilities in the rooms
Location: A 5 minute walk to the main market square
The hotel is situated by a canal on the north side of the market square. The rooms are spacious and full of old charm character. The hotel is quiet. Breakfast was good. Luggage can be stored in reception after check out
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

canal side hotel

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Pros: The breakfast was good, and assuming you can get a window seat it had good views of the ducks on the canal.
Cons: The attention to customers, I reported a bulb had gone on after my first night and this was not fixed for the duration of my stay.
The hotel was well placed on the canal on the North side of town, and could have been great but for the small details. After the first night, I reported a bulb had gone in the room, this was not addressed during my stay. The bathroom had a shower over the bath but no shower curtain meaning it was difficult to shower without covering the floor of the bathroom with water.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worst place I ever stayed

Posted Sep 3, 2017
Pros: it seemed really nice on the outside
Cons: the hotel staff could be friendlier and they should close the room in the basement permanently.
Location: Bruges is the most amazing city in Belgium
They had forced us into the basement even though we payed for a premium room because they gave the rooms away. The staff was not friendly about helping us. The bath tub had a water roach in the bathtub. When we tried to show this to the front desk person she said usually they are clean and just ignored us. There was a terrible old smell and when we tried to open the window because it is the ground floor it is next to the water and all of the bugs flew inside. We could not stay there and had to book a different hotel around the corner and the hotel refused to refund the money.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 7, 2017 by Hotel Ter Brughe, Hotel Management
Dear Guest We believe you had the wrong expectations. Your review is also full of mistakes: first the room is in the basement, then it is suddenly it is on the ground floor? We do not sell 'premium rooms'. We also do not 'give rooms away'. Our Staff is always friendly and helpful. Their reputation is impeccable. It is not because they can not perform what you are demanding that they become unfriendly or unhelpful. It was your own decision to leave the hotel. You could also have contacted Expedia if you felt there was a problem. Regards
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Good position for exploring the town

Posted Sep 1, 2017
Cons: Breakfast room was a bit crowded - maybe a refectory table approach rather than separate tables would make it easier?
Enjoyed the canal-side position and the support from the staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 7, 2017 by Hotel Ter Brughe, Hotel Management
Dear Guest We thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Maybe we can welcome you another time in the future! Kind regards
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Quirky hotel within walking distance of main squar

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Cons: Shower in room.
Location: Easily accessible to all amenities. Lovely restaurant, the pigeon house, nearby.
Interesting hotel with very friendly staff. Quirky room, lots of steps, lovely views. Good breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 7, 2017 by Hotel Ter Brughe, Hotel Management
Dear Guest We thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Maybe we can welcome you another time in the future! Please note that it is mentioned very clearly in the description that taking a shower is not possible (due to age and structure of the building). Kind regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel

Posted Aug 19, 2017
Very nice place located outside of the noise and fuss of the tourist area and thus very quite but still only 15 minutes away from the Burg by foot. Very clean. Very professional staf.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 7, 2017 by Hotel Ter Brughe, Hotel Management
Dear Guest We thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Maybe we can welcome you another time in the future! Kind regards
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Woodcote

Great central location next to the canal

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Pros: It's character. Good size rooms and the breakfast selection was great. Breakfast staff was the most friendly even under immense pressure.
Cons: More staff at breakfast we had to wait for our crockery & cutlery after asking 3 times. The staff member coped as best she could on her own!
Location: 5 mins to beer museum, chocolate museum. 10 mins to canal boat trip. You can join a walking tour or do your own sightseeing. Bruges is beautiful
Bruge is a compact city with everything in walking distance. Fantastic museums at great prices and the beer is awesome. The buildings are beautiful. A very clean city with friendly people. Amazing architecture, churches and a great buzz.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 7, 2017 by Hotel Ter Brughe, Hotel Management
Dear Guest We thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Maybe we can welcome you another time in the future! We will take your remarks concerning our breakfast staff in consideration. Kind regards
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Woodcote

Great central location with character

Posted Aug 14, 2017
Pros: It has a lot of character and the room sizes are excellent.
Cons: No shower in the rooms. Breakfast staffing was lacking. Only one person serving guests and maintaining stocks. Had to keep asking for a plate/cutlery.
Location: Highly recommend the Chocolate Museum and the Beer Museum and the boat ride along the canal was fabulous. We loved it!
When you look on the map the hotel looks a little on the edge of the city but this city is small and it was only 5 mins walk to the city centre Markt Square. Bruge is a wonderful place and extremely clean and friendly with so many things to do at reasonable prices too.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 7, 2017 by Hotel Ter Brughe, Hotel Management
Dear Guest We thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Maybe we can welcome you another time in the future! We will take your remarks concerning our breakfast staff in consideration. Please note that it is mentioned very clearly in the description that taking a shower is not possible (due to age and structure of the building). Kind regards