Ratings based on 611 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 25, 2017
A lovely hotel in the centre of Brugge, within walking distance to shops, restaurants and the square. Hotel staff were lovely and very helpful. We rented bikes and rode to Damme which was beautiful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from gloucestershire England

Nice hotel within walking distance of all the main

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: A very quiet location but within walking distance of the main square
My friend had had a fall just before we came away for our weekend and needed the aid of a stick to help him walk. I had not informed the Hotel, prior to my arriving of his condition. When we arrived the Staff went out of their way to make sure that he did not have to climb or descend any of the steep staircases to get to our room and therefore made our stay a very pleasant one. The helpfulness of the Staff was excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Suffolk, UK

Perfect blend of comfort, service, and location

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Pros: The location, the building and its decor, the quietness and comfort of the room, and the fabulous breakfast. Ideal for romantic breaks
Cons: Keep everything the way it is!!
Location: On a lovely canal with a photo worthy bridge in one direction and a pretty square in the other where you can find the most charming cafe - "Blackbird"
The fact we've vowed to return says it all. A historic building in a Beautiful location on a canal and away from noise, this is a lovely place to stay. Our room was spacious and well equipped with super comfy beds. Welcoming staff were very happy to help and gave good recommendations. The bar and lounge area was lovely (serviced on request from reception staff) but under used so great if you want to sit and read or chat; and anywhere that stocks Highland Park 18yr old rates a 10 in my book! The buffet breakfast is definitely worth the extra cost - extensive buffet with all variations you could want including (unusually) platefuls of smoked salmon and bottles of prosecco/cava to add the luxurious touch to breakfast. We loved Martin's Relais!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto Canada

Great Hotel, huge bed!!

Posted Sep 3, 2017
Traveling in Europe we found out fast what their "king size" bed is compared to North American KING SIZE beds. Thus hotel "Comfort Double" is an actual KING SIZE bed!! The room we were given was #99. It was huge and fantastic. The hotel itself was gorgeous and clean. Breakfast was a full breakfast with scrambled eggs, meat etc. Would for sure stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Bristol UK

Fantastic hotel close to everything

Posted Sep 3, 2017
Pros: Everything. It is in a quiet street but only a few minutes walk from the main square. The staff were really friendly and helpful.
Cons: Nothing
Location: The hotel is close to everything. The market Square is a 5 min walk.
This was our first visit to Bruges and we booked the Martin's Relais online based on the pictures, reviews and location of the hotel. We booked canal view rooms and for just a little extra, over the very hot August bank holiday weekend. We were not disappointed, The rooms were large and the beds must have been super kingsized and the most comfortable beds away from from home that we've ever slept in. The rooms were very clean and had everything we needed (mini fridge, plenty of power sockets, powerful showers, hairdryer, air conditioning etc). The hotel is very elegantly and tastefully decorated. The staff could not do enough to help us were on hand 24/7 to provide directions and make recommendations. We booked breakfast for our last morning only but, in hindsight, we should have booked for every day as trying to find somewhere that provided a breakfast to this standard was impossible. It included a glass of bubbly too! Book in advance and it's 5euro cheaper per person. Car parking is off site in a secured underground car park which is only a 5/10 min walk from the hotel and the car stayed there the whole time! No need for a car as everything is so close by....the Market Square is no more than 5 minutes away. We absolutely love this hotel and are already planning another trip next year to Martin's Relais and would highly recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Fab hotel

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Pros: See above for details
Cons: Can't think of anything
Location: Max 10 mins from the centre, beautifully quiet local action.
Hotel had a wonderfully warm atmosphere, with lots of local colour. The staff were enthusiastic and informative in equal measure. Location was perfect a max 10 min walk into the historic centre. Can't recommend this hotel enough!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

very conveniently located

Posted Aug 29, 2017
The hotel is only a short walk from the centre so the location is very convenient. We stayed here for 2 nights and would recommend it. We would stay here again. Staff is very friendly and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 29, 2017 by Delphine , Hotel Management
Good afternoon Megan, Firstly, we would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review here on expedia. We are very happy to read that you have appreciated our central location and the friendliness of our staff. It was a pleasure having you as our guests and thank you for recommending our hotel to future travelers. We are already looking forward to welcoming you next time. Kind Regards, Delphine Guest Relations Martin’s Relais
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

luxury,historical property with excellent service.

Posted Aug 20, 2017
Pros: Historical charm, large, well kept rooms maintaining the historical feel, lovely linens, terrific service.
Cons: I would recommend this hotel. Quality.
Location: On the canal, walk to everything. Away from the super crowded streets and bus loads
We had booked two nights on a can view and loved it so much we postponed our trip to Ghent to book two other nights here with a garden view. It is an old canal house near the square but in a quieter area. We book a taxi from the train station for 10 Euro. We rented bikes from Bruges Bicyles nearby for 3 days and did a tour to Damme, Sluis and Liessewegge. This hotel has excellent service, they will help you sort out any questions with transportation or rentals, taxis, bikes, restaurants etc. We did not take their breakfast but had a kettle and fridge in the room, along with a safe. We had room 10 and room 26. We were a short walk to bakeries and athe oldest cafe called Vlissinghe. Loved it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Excellent location on the canal. Walking distance to restaurants, sights and shops. An older hotel with alot of charm. Room overlooking canal comfortable and roomy. Staff friendly and welcoming on arrival and through our stay. Enjoyable stay in a beautiful town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel

Posted Jul 31, 2017
Excellent hotel close to all the city attractions but set in a quiet corner. Beautiful old building. We had a canal side room which was lovely. The staff were very helpful at all times.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 1, 2017 by Delphine, Hotel Management
Dear Paula, Thank you for choosing Hotel Martin's Relais and taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. We are delighted to have you describe us as an "excellent hotel" and we are glad you have enjoyed our convenient location! We strive to provide our guests with an unparalleled service and so it makes us extremely happy for you to acknowledge our strong effort. Our entire staff thanks you for your kind words about our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future at your new home in Bruges! Best regards, Delphine Guest Relations