Ratings based on 124 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from england

Has character and great location

Posted Jan 3, 2015
I spent 3 nights here with my wife and we really enjoyed ourselves! The location is brilliant! It was easy to drive to and find and has parking spaces if you ring ahead and reserve one. It is a short walk away from the main Markt square and many shops, chocolatiers and bars. The staff were amazingly friendly which made it a joy to be staying there! Its interior is a bit dated but it's such an old building it's just part of the character, could do with a little update but isn't a real problem unless your expecting a fancy modern hotel!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Charming but slightly worn hotel

Posted Jan 3, 2015
Pros: The general atmosphere of the hotel seemed welcoming. Felt like being at home. The staff were lovely. Location was just right. Breakfast very good.
Cons: Perhaps needs some updating in some areas but without a major overhaul which would spoil it.
Location: Located in a quiet street just off 't Zand. Easy walk to all of the main attractions.. About 20 minutes walk from the railway station.
Overall a very pleasant experience. The hotel is very central but situated in a quiet street next to a canal. The hotel has a slightly worn air but I preferred its "shabby chic" to the cold uniformity of the chain hotels. Our room was OK, warm and comfortable but with views onto parked cars: other rooms look out on to the canal which would have been nicer. The staff were wonderful, clearly the hotel is a labour of love for them, very friendly The buffet breakfast was very nice, fresh and plentiful.
5 out of 5
by Jeffrey from Hampshire, UK

Enjoyable long weekend

Posted Dec 5, 2014 on Hotels
Really nice character hotel. A bit faded, but not in a bad way and perfectly clean and tidy. Location ideal for exploring Brugge on foot - didn't use the car all weekend. Staff were all very friendly and multi lingual!
3 out of 5
by trevor from Notts UK

Dissapointing Hotel.

Posted Dec 1, 2014 on Hotels
Location perfect for the city centre, pity the hotel is just not up to a better standard, it looks well overdue for a good make-over and re-fit. Carpets threadbare, sheets stained, and overall very tired interior, we did not rate the breakfast either, very basic, no toaster???? - The staff were very good...
5 out of 5
by Judith from Seattle

Birthday in Brugge

Posted Nov 15, 2014 on Hotels
Had a wonderful birthday celebration and a reunion with a special friend. The room was comfortable and we enjoyed going to the bar where the drinks were very reasonable. The only thing i missed were the cats that used to gather in the garden under my room near the canal.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

quaint and lovely

Posted Nov 1, 2014 on Hotels
Positives first: Quaint hotel with exceptionally friendly staff (with exception of grandpa who did breakfasts on one morning!) location was perfect...lovely quiet road closely situated to main attractions. Breakfast was fantastic...continental style with egg and bacon also, with windows on to canal. Coffee was fantastic....grandpa was kept busy serving us as he kept bringing half pots!!! Room was spacious and clean and value for money. Despite having booked 3 x single beds we were allocated 1 double and 1 put-u-up and given it was 3 adults, this wasn't ideal. Loo paper seemed in scarce supply and had to be requested from reception (never happened me before in a hotel!) and despite the room being for 3 adults, there were only 2 coffee cups and 2 sachets of coffee supplied each day! That said, we really enjoyed our 3 night stay and i would definitely make a return visit. I understand it is getting a badly needed makeover after Christmas which with a few tweaks in housekeeping, will make it a fabulous little hotel.
3 out of 5
by Glen from Denver CO

Yes and No

Posted Oct 30, 2014 on Hotels
This hotel was nice about 20 years ago, no new carpet since. The exhaust fan in the bath did not work, and a window screen was sitting inside the room by the window. This place is very funky and in need of some maintenance. The elevator got stuck between floors with us in it. Eventually we got it going again. The staff was nice. The breakfast was incredible and the location was incredible.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Essex

Disappointing "triple" room

Posted Oct 29, 2014
Pros: Location and the staff.
Cons: Hotel needs updating.
Location: A short walk from the centre in a quiet street.
We booked a triple room and expected 3 single beds. Two of the beds were together to form a double. The third bed was not a proper bed it was a camp bed. My nearly 6 foot tall 14 year old wasn't impressed and an adult would have struggled. The room was a little shabby and most of the hotel needs an update. The location of the hotel is very good. The staff were friendly and helpful.
3 out of 5
by Johnny from Solihull

Good Location but in need of updating

Posted Sep 27, 2014 on Hotels
Good location, friendly staff, continental breakfast, good, but our room (Room 1) was rather drab and is in need of an upgrade. Bed was comfy, bathroom ok. Decor needs changing and maybe few pictures on wall, but overall we enjoyed our stay. Came back with a few mossy bites too.
4 out of 5
by Glenys from australia

Posted Aug 15, 2014 on Hotels
Pleasant staff & helpful. Decor tired but charming. An overall very pleasant stay