Ratings based on 992 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oldbury, West Midlands

Excellent budget hotel

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Pros: It's location and quiet environment
Cons: Heating in the bathroom
Location: Five minute walk to the main squares, and plenty of restaurants to choose from. All of the main attractions as easily within walking distance
We stayed in the hotel for three nights earlier in February. I picked the hotel after reading good reviews and it was the only hotel in central Bruges to include breakfast within the room price. Our room didn't have a canal view but it was clean and quiet despite being next to the lift. The bathroom could be on the cold side as the only radiator was in the bedroom. We did pay €5 to have a kettle and tea/coffee in our room. Breakfast was a good selection, and the location of the hotel cannot have been better, a five minute walk to Burg square/Markt square.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to centre and canals

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Pros: Price, breakfast included, good if you go early Excellent location Near canal and Markt
Cons: Shower and toilet-proper doors Sound proofing
Small room and Tiny bathroom with no privacy. Shower curtain sticks to you in shower which is tiny. Canal view on ground floor. Draughty windows but heating warmed room up in a day. We had to ask for a blanket. Toilet rolls weren't replenished without asking but towels were. Two good breakfast two disappointing breakfasts-go early. staff are lovely young people who are helpful and friendly and seem to work all day every day. Bed was very comfortable. We took a travel kettle to make drinks as none provided in room. The hotel was an excellent price and in an excellent location. Good wifi in room. You could hear people talking in the room next door.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Pros: Excellent location. Comfortable rooms.
Location: Excellent location. Close to all sites. Exhibitions. Chocolate story.
Have stayed in this hotel for the last four years. Near secured car park. 14 euros per day. Love the location of this hotel. Would stay there always when visiting brugge.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from n.yorks

Excellent location and well maintained

Posted Jan 24, 2017
Pros: The canal view room was charming
Cons: Blankets in the room would preclude waking up the owner to get some when required at bedtime.
Location: All of Old Bruges is easily walkable
We stayed here as part of a fleeting trip. It was so near to the centre, we were able to see all we wanted and more
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from b

Bathroom

Posted Jan 20, 2017
The hotel is in a great location for visiting Bruges. However I've never seen a bathroom like it in all of my years of travelling. It is like a caravan bathroom. Tiny. Not only that the shower is so small you can't move without the shower curtain sticking to you. The bathroom for want of a better word has no proper door. It has two saloon type doors that have opaque type plastic on them. Not wood. Not only that they are open top and bottom so when you do your business it is certainly not private. A couple of times we went back to our room about 10.30 am and there was building works being done close by in the hotel it's self. The breakfast was awful. Stale bread. Cold eggs and sweaty cheese. The good things were it was clean. The location ideal. And the staff were helpful
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from london

Good value

Posted Dec 14, 2016
Pros: Affordable,in an attractive position beside a canal and close to the main square
Cons: The pod style shower/toilet units could be more spacious
Location: All the main attractions/shopping streets in Bruge are only a short walk away.
If you are looking for a simple, affordable but comfortable hotel to stay in for a 2-3 day break in Bruges (that is close to the main square) the Canelview is definitely worth considering, and unlike many of the hotels in Bruges a reasonable buffet breakfast is included in the price. We stayed for 2 nights and did need to change rooms for the second night as the lights in the room weren't bright enough for us ( the member of staff at reception was more than happy to accommodate our request). Our first room was also rather small but did have a very comfortable bed and a proper bathroom; the second night's room was much larger, still with a very comfortable bed but this time with a pod style shower and toilet unit which was very compact - although for a short stay we found this manageable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 11, 2016
Room 115 was really small, tiny shower which made showering very unpleasant. Great location though
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canada

Beautiful location

Posted Oct 30, 2016
Very friendly staff, clean and quiet room. Bathroom is extremely small.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location but could use improvements

Posted Oct 15, 2016 on Hotels
The location was great for seeing the city and the people working here were nice. The wifi was annoying because you had to enter the username and password each time you got on your device. It's a non-smoking hotel, however smoking is allowed in the courtyard which you have to walk through to get to your room. My window faced the courtyard and I could smell smoke in my room, even with them closed. Bathroom was extremely tiny. There were hairs in my bed and on the pillowcase when I arrived.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel with Great Canal View as its name!

Posted Oct 9, 2016 on Hotels
Located in the old town so everything is just within walking distance. We have booked a room with canal view and it is really great to be greeted by duck and swan in the morning near your window. It was quite an experience! Hotel was converted from old house with not many rooms. Most of them are facing the canal but few of them are not. Room interior is a little bit shabby but the bed is okay. Bathroom is extremely small with no lockable door so do not share the room with anyone other than your spouse. Breakfast is okay for a normal small family hotel.