Ratings based on 23 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent

Just out of town hotel but good for getting around

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Pros: It was very quiet and comfortable with a lovely breakfast. There was ample free parking.
Cons: The noise from the rooms above could be noisy at times but it was generally a quiet location
We went to Bruge for a two night stay and were made very welcome by the owner and and although we arrived in the morning and were too early to get into our rooms we were given lots of information as to how to get into town and what to see. It was about 20 mins walking into the city so we left the car and did everyone on foot. Very comfortable hotel with ample continental breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 9, 2015
Lovely 20 minute walk to the city centre. Very helpful and friendly owners.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jules from Uk

Bring a kettle with you

Posted May 23, 2014
Pros: I did like the presentation of our room and the fact it was like being transported back in time.
Cons: Breakfast and a hot water machine and forewarned about non availability of bikes
Location: Not a lot to near by, unless you are into Ten pin bowling and finding somewhere to eat locally is a problem as most eateries are shut till wednesday
Rooms were lovely, but main reception a bit shabby. Breakfast is limited so get down early before some one else eats all the pies. The Hotel doesn't supply hot drinks after breakfast so if you have been out all day make sure you take a kettle with you for a cuppa when you get back. Opening times for restaurants vary and its a good 20 min walk to the main town of Bruge so wear sensible shoes - especially on the cobbled streets. But you can always fill up on munchies from the Careforre supermarket next door to the hotel Also if you are planning to use their bikes - you cant as they have been left to be garden ornaments as apparently it is to expensive to get them serviced, bring your own.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sally from Buckingham, England

Short stay in Brugge

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Pros: A lovely place to stay and ideal for walking into Brugge centre
Cons: Tea & Coffee facilities in the room, although this may not be normal on the continent.
Location: it was a 15-20 minute walk to the centre, to see the beautiful city, The canal tour is well worth it. better value than the horse carriage.
Perfect location with parking, excellent accommodation with our host helping with sight-seeing information and breakfast was First Class
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Nick from London

A comfortable hotel and a friendly, helpful owner.

Posted Jan 15, 2014
Pros: The beds, the breakfast, the location and the friendliness of the owner.
My fiancee and I very much enjoyed our stay at Gasthof Groenhove. The beds were comfy, the rooms had everything you would expect for a short stay, and the bathrooms were finished to a good standard with a nice hot and powerful shower. Hans, the owner, was very friendly and accommodating of our few, small queries and requests. Within a few minutes of arriving he had given us a useful run down of the main attractions of the town, marked on a map. Breakfast was tasty - a variety of bread rolls, cheeses, cereals, yoghurts and pastries, along with hot boiled eggs. The hotel is a nice, 20 minute stroll from the heart of the city, in a quiet residential area. We spent all our time in the city proper, so cannot speak for the quality of bars and restaurants in the immediate vicinity of the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 8, 2014
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Lesley from London

Clean and friendly

Posted Nov 30, 2013
Pros: Location
Location: This hotel is a 20 minute (easy) walk from the centre of town, there is also a bus that goes there.
Guest house/hotel about 20 mins walk from the centre of town. Hans, the proprietor is pleasant and will spend time when you first arrive to give you a map and explain where certain things to see are. The hotel is clean, and the rooms were spacious. The hotel is quiet, has pleasant gardens, and there is parking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Helen from Worcs

beautiful house in convenient location

Posted Aug 26, 2013
Pros: The location, the helpful staff, the breakfast and the free parking facilities.
Cons: The mattress on the bed felt 'foamy' and the sheets didn't feel like cotton.
Location: Easy walk to centre and all the sites, located in pleasant residential area with a Carrefour supermarket next door.
We travelled here by car so the parking facilities were excellent. The hotel is well located being an easy 20 minute walk to the city centre.The owners were very helpful in finding us an alternative hotel as we arrived a day early. They took a lot of trouble to show us interesting places to visit in Bruges using books and maps. The breakfast was plentiful and delicious, served in an attractive conservatory. The quality of the coffee, jams, yoghurts, cereals was firstrate.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

A family view

Posted Aug 14, 2013
Stayed at the hotel with my wife and son. It is well located with very friendly staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Phil & Lark from Chertsey, Surrey, UK

A super hotel with a first class host!

Posted Sep 8, 2012
We spent a most enjoyable 4 nights at the hotel on a recent visit to Bruges. The host, Hans, was an absolute superstar and nothing was too much trouble. Upon arrival at the hotel, we were briefed by Hans and given a map of Bruges with all the must-see places marked up for us to visit. The rooms were immaculate and the whole experience, from arrival to departure, was superb. Highly recommended!