Ratings based on 1,441 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from UK

Great location. Friendly staff. Very comfortable

Posted Feb 25, 2017
Pros: Lounge, room, location
Location: We ate in the Diligence opposite which was good. The restaurant in the Crowne Plaza was also good and had a kids menu too. Loads of things to do.
We had a lovely stay. We had a deluxe room in a very quiet spot. The location of the hotel is great - so easy to pop back for a rest (our son was getting over an illness). Breakfast was very good - nothing too much trouble. Lounge was very comfortable and service was excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado Springs, CO

Wonderful Hotel!

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Pros: The history of the hotel is quite impressive, and it was in the perfect location to explore the town.
Cons: Nothing!
This hotel is beautiful. It is within walking distance of many restaurants, shops, and activities. The staff was wonderful, and the room was extremely nice. We had a canal view, and the room was quiet and spacious.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Cons: We found the air con in the room a little noisy, which did make the sleeping a bit of an issue to begin with until we got use to it.
We really enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend it everyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Hertfordshire, England

Fabulous hotel right in the middle

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Pros: Very luxurious feel, beautiful chandeliers and immaculate condition.
Cons: Shame the hotel does not have a restaurant, however there are lots of very good ones all within walking distance.
Location: Central location, all the main historic sites, churches , museums are within a few minutes walk. Fabulous city architecture.
beautiful hotel, clean, friendly, lovely room and upgraded on arrival. Central to all the sights of the old city. Helpful & knowledgeable staff. Excellent buffet breakfast with traditional English fare as well as the usual continental selection.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from essex

Nice hotel with excellent service

Posted Jan 24, 2017
We booked a family room at this hotel for a weekend celebration .The hotel was in beautiful condition,spotlessly clean ,the breakfast was very good.The hotel was close to the market square and overlooked the canal that runs through the city.All the staff were extremely helpful ,I would recommend this hotel ,it is very good value for money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Midlands UK

Beautiful, sumptuous hotel

Posted Jan 24, 2017
From check in through to the time we left everything was perfect. Friendly staff who were always keen to help. Setting was excellent for exploring the main attractions on foot. I thought the breakfast was a little pricey but perhaps we paid more as we didn't book this is advance. Definitely recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Standard business hotel

Posted Jan 19, 2017
Pros: Warm and comfortable
Cons: Decor - get rid of the awful rose prints lining the halls! Have a fuller hospitality tray, Give information about the history of the building.
Location: Perfect location.
The hotel was warm and the beds were comfortable but there was no special atmosphere. I had expected a hotel which was more historical rather than a normal chain which caters for business meetings. The beds were comfortable, the bathroom was large and the service acceptable but limited- 2 sachets of coffee, sugar and milk each day, one shower gel for two days. We paid extra for a canal view, which is probably beautiful from the top floors, but from first floor your view is mainly of the car park! Breakfast was OK - standard buffet in large basement dining room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Excellent service, ultra comfortable rooms

Posted Jan 18, 2017
Everything about our stay was perfect, the service was always friendly, our room was fantastic with a nice view over the canal.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

central location

Posted Dec 30, 2016
Stayed there for couple days for the Holidays. Staff was excellent and very helpful. The lobby looks good as the pictures from the website are showing. The beds are terrible and the pillows gave both of us a lot of neck pain.You could hear the noise from the neighbor bathroom. If you need a bath robe one needs to go to the front desk and ask for it.The buffet was disappointing for a 4 star hotel and there is no food service in the room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 29, 2016
Had the best experience ever on Christmas Eve. Hotel staff was very knowledgeable and helped get reservations to a fantastic restaurant. Room was also wonderful, very clean.