Ratings based on 61 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Rolando

Good option

Posted Apr 16, 2017 on Hotels
Trendy and very nice Hotel. Nowhere is noted that there is construxtion and to access the hotel is a mess and you need to carry your bags or they will get damaged/ dirty. Service at checking was good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 24, 2017
Dear Rolando Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback about your stay in our hotel. We are delighted that the service at check-in met your expectations. It is also a pleasure to read that you appreciated our hotel and its design. There are indeed works going on at the moment on the square. We sincerely apologize for any inconvience you experienced because of this. Fortunately, the works are going well and a significant area in front of the hotel and surrounding restaurants and bars has already been paved so our guests can travel more comfortably. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again during your next stay in Bruges. Kind regards Hotel Portinari
4 out of 5
by Janet

Newly refurbished central hotel

Posted Apr 15, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent breakfast. Nice little bar. Friendly staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 17, 2017
Dear Janet We would like to thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay in our hotel. It pleases us greatly to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and that you liked our hot and cold breakfast buffet. We are equally glad that you enjoyed our bar where our guests can always relax and enjoy a nice drink. Your kind compliments about the staff have been passed along to our entire team. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in our hotel during your next visit to Bruges. Warm regards Hotel Portinari
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Nice hotel - close to centre and train station

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Our room was an attic room with a lovely view. The bathroom is lovely, but seperated from the bedroom by only a curtain. Staff were friendly and breakfast very nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 18, 2017 by Hotel Portinari, Hotel Management
Dear Greg Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience at Hotel Portinari. We are delighted that you enjoyed the room and its view on the historic city centre. We provide rooms for all types of travellers and our Budget rooms have been designed to accommodate people who are travelling on a more limited budget. To optimize the floor plan of these rooms, the bathroom is separated from the room by a curtain. It is also a pleasure to read that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet and that the staff was friendly and welcoming. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in our hotel. Kind regards Hotel Portinari
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from France

Experience just OK

Posted Mar 10, 2017
Pros: Very friendly staff, day and night.
Good location (now difficult to access because of the work on location). We found the room a little bit small and the bathroom "original" but not practical at all ! The staff was very friendly. The breakfast looked just OK and the terrace was closed. Was not as good as expected and described.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 11, 2017 by Hotel Portinari, Hotel Management
Thank you for this review of your recent stay at our hotel. We are sorry to read that your stay did not entirely meet your expectations. You are always welcome in our hotelbar for a drink when our tearoom is closed on Tuesday and Wednesday. Our breakfast buffet offers a variety of cold and warm foods with different kinds of bread, local cheeses, juices, cereals... to accommodate the various preferences of our guests as much as possible. Any suggestions are valuable as we are continuously looking to improve and add to our offer. It pleases us greatly that you were satisfied with our service and that our staff made you feel welcome. Your kind comments have been passed along to our team. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again at our hotel during your next stay. Kind regards Hotel Portinari
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel was good,but if you have a car you will get

Posted Jan 5, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel was good,but if you have a car you will get hard time to this hotel !
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 16, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Sir, Madam Thank you for your review. We are glad to read you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We are aware of the traffic difficulties our guests sometimes experience and have now added parking information and details in our e-mail which is sent before arrival to solve this inconvenience. We hope to welcome you again in our hotel. Kind regards Team Portinari
4 out of 5
by Jill

Nice hotel, good location.

Posted Jan 2, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel perfect location for NYE celebrations, easy access to rail station and city centre. We travelled as a group to bring in the New Year. Hotel has a small friendly bar and coffee shop. Would definitely recommend this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 16, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Portinari and we hope you had a good start into the new year. We hope to welcome you again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Newly renovated hotel on the zand!

Posted Dec 31, 2016
Great position right on the zand & with markets on a Wednesday & great Bar called Bras. It is only a short stroll to the centre & market. Newly renovated rooms . Very comfortable. I would recommend getting breakfast included as it has an extensive selection of hot & cold breakfast treats with all you need to set you up for the day. I was never hungry for lunch as i was still full from breakfast. I would stay here again without hesitation.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Newly renovated, great Hotel in superb location

Posted Dec 27, 2016 on Hotels
Everything was great, there only improvements we'd recommend is to not tie the wi-fi to a Facebook account... Seriously not everyone wants/has one and a secured network would be preferable. Breakfast was great only a few vegetables would be nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Moreno Valley, CA

The staff was the best.

Posted Dec 24, 2016
I visited Belgium and this hotel was really nice. Withing walking distance to everything.
4 out of 5
by Hayley

great base camp for Bruges

Posted Dec 22, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel Portinari is a great base to explore Bruges. Simple, modern and clean rooms. The door free shower room takes some getting used to though.