Ratings based on 60 Verified Reviews

4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great décor and friendly, personalised service

Posted Apr 6, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Perhaps wall mounted flags(or the like) so it is easy to see the hotel entry as you enter the street (i.e you know you are in the right street).
A sunny afternoons relaxing on the terrace (which sits beside a canal) with red wine and canapés was divine. The hotel is a grand, restored aristocratic home a quiet street but close to main area, with beautiful décor surrounded by art, sculpture and books. I could not fault the personalised and friendly service given by all the staff and owners.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from vancouver

amazing hotel by the river

Posted Mar 1, 2017
Pros: everything
Everything about this hotel is 5 stars. the lobby, the service, the location on the river, the breakfast, the rooms,.... beautiful and romantic with gorgeous decor.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful and welcoming summer home style hotel

Posted Feb 19, 2017
We absolutely fell in love with the Van Cleef. The overall esthetic is like a welcoming summer home, I almost did not want to leave and explore the town. I could enjoy the many open rooms all day. Service was impeccable, breakfast is a must! The hotel is nicely situated and walkable to all the must see sites in Bruges. We received great dinner recommendations from the staff. We plan to make the Van Cleef a place we return to over and over again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Elegant and top quality hospitality

Posted Jan 6, 2017 on Hotels
Very impressed with attention to detail and warm welcome including tour and brief history of the hotel and the Bellini/champagne welcome glass was a nice touch! Very interesting and elegant interior design and very comfortable and cozy lounge area. Parking area was small but very secured. Wished was a true king bed instead of two single beds if listed as such. Excellent continental and hot breakfast with amazing selection. Also a very short walk to the main square. Overalll, no complaints, exceeded expectations, and would definitely recommend for great value and top notch service! Thank you for making our short trip/stay so memorable and our first trip to Bruges unforgettable!!!
5 out of 5
by Shannon

Top Hotel in Bruges!

Posted Jan 3, 2017 on Hotels
Exquisite stay at The Hotel Van Cleef. The staff, decor, food, rooms, and many other small details made the hotel stay a 5 STAR experience. I will stay here again for sure if I make it back to Bruges - it truly is an exceptional place.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 3, 2017 on Hotels
Wonderful experience. Highly recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Beautiful boutique hotel

Posted Dec 14, 2016
Pros: Lovely decor, staff at pains to make your stay as lovely as possible without being obsequious, breakfast delicious. Great location.
Location: Loved the location near the city centre but not on a main road. The hotel provide you with a map on arrival and explain all there is to see nearby.
I had a wonderful 3 night stay here in December to make the most of the Christmas markets. From the time of booking until the moment I left it was a fantastic experience. The staff couldn't do enough for me. I had a lovely room (accessed via a separate staircase in reception) which was very airy with windows along one wall, a lovely sitting room area with mini bar, TV, chaise longue/sofa, and desk. The bedroom area, with its comfy king size bed, was separated from the seating area by a large cabinet. The bathroom included a jacuzzi bath and separate shower and was huge. Breakfast was delicious and was taken in the room overlooking the canal; and although I took a canal trip and came past the hotel myself, I did not notice any boats or 'waving tourists' while I was eating, unlike another reviewer. I noted the lack of tea/coffee making facilities but did not find this a problem as all you have to do is call down and someone will bring up whatever you need. In fact, I think such facilities are what one would expect in a chain hotel, not a boutique hotel such as this one. I particularly loved the Christmas trees and seasonal decor - lovely touch.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Essex

Fantastic hotel!!!!

Posted Dec 6, 2016
Pros: Everything!
Location: Location is great. It is approx. 5 - 10 min walk into the main square of Brugge.
This hotel is fantastic! From the moment we walked in we were Wowed by the interior decoration. No details has been spared the hotel is simply beautiful. It was all we hoped for and more! We were originally greeted by the owner, Frederick who was superb and nothing was too much trouble for him! The lounges on the ground floor of the hotel were stunning especially the lounge to the rear with the open fire place. The room we had (no. 24) was amazing too... lovely decorations and a very comfortable large space! We ate breakfast in the hotel each morning - which was lovely. .. Maybe a little expensive but very nice. We also had afternoon tea one day which was very nice too. We found the drinks on the expensive side .. My husband had a double amaretto and diet coke which was 44 euros.. which actually seems extremely expensive seeing as the same drink over here would of been maybe £15 in a high end hotel? That was the only downside i would say about the hotel (if you can call it a downside)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

Pleasant stay

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Pros: Spacious room. Cozy environment.
Very nice boutique hotel. Friendly staffs. 7 mins walk to the center.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

What a stunning hotel...

Posted Nov 23, 2016
Pros: Lovely interiors, amazing Bellini cocktail, great eggs benedict and most of all the incredibly friendly and professional staff.
Location: Perfect, 5mins walk to the main squares. We loved the canal cruise again 5 mins walk from the hotel and the brewery about 10 mins walk from the hotel
This hotel is something very special. It's the attention to detail and the lovely little touches that make this hotel one of the best places I have ever stayed in. I loved the interior design, it has given me lots of inspiration for my own home. However, this hotel is not style over substance... From the moment we arrived to the last wave goodbye all the staff were amazing. A truly wonderful time.