Ratings based on 9 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful and restful palace

Posted Sep 22, 2014
It's like staying at a friends manor. Beautiful rooms. Warm and helpful staff. And incredible food. And what appears to be a lovely golf course. Bring some nice clothes and imagine u r in a tv show.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Shelley from Winnipeg, Canada

What you see is not what you get!

Posted Jun 10, 2014
Reserved "the" orangerie supposedly with corner windows that get glorious south and west evening light. But when we got to the hotel we discovered that the room shown on the Expedia site was not the one allotted to us. Instead we got "the other" orangerie without any west facing windows & no amount of arguing that that was not what we were paying for would sway the management. Pretty poor- they gave us a glass of orange juice as compensation! Very disappointing!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2015 by Carin Agricola, Hotel Management
Dear Mrs Sweeney, As discussed during your stay we are sorry that you are disappointed about your Orangerie Suite and the way your complaint has been treated. Indeed Orangerie Suite 401 on the photo has one west facing window more than your Orangerie suite. But futher this suite is identical in size, interior, the terrace facing Castle’s moat and our golf course as well as the amenities in suite 403 were you stayed. Suite 403 in which you stayed has 7 metres of window with a height of 4 metres. In a 17th century Manor House as we are, no room or suite is the same. Every room has it’s own atmosphere and style. But also every room has a different view. Some face the gardens or the castle’s moat and others face the castle’s square. We believe the individuality of the rooms with it’s own charm make a stay at Kasteel Engelenburg very special. As mentioned in the conditions of Expedia: The photos on the Expedia website are an impression of the hotel and do not give a guarantee to your reservation. Obviously the most important is to make the stay of our guests enjoyable. Our staff has offered you a glass of champagne to enjoy on your private terrace and but you preferred a glass of Orange Juice. I have spoken to you during check out and do understand from your review that you did expect a financial compensation. To be honest I believe we have provided a suite as we promised and what discount should be reasonable for 4 in stead of 3 huge windows in the suite? Carin Agricola Owner and General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Philip from Kent, UK I

Impressive Mini Castle for couples or golfers.

Posted Sep 24, 2012
Pros: Decor - Service with a big (S) and the setting.
Cons: Distance from town, an hour wait for a cab and they wanted 25 euro's to come and get me plus the cab fare back to Zutphen. Book the night before!!!
Location: Brummen, small place outside of Zutphen
Impressive entrance, wonderful surroundings. The hotel - rooms and the gardens are imaculate. There is a thriving nine hole golf course there for the golfers, the waiters are very attentive and staff overly helpful. Had i been there with my wife it would have been so much better, but being there alone i felt i did not appreciate the experiance as i was only there to eat and sleep. On that note if there is a critisism at all -- the food is not cheap!! And for those of you who like a full plate this is not for you. But for those who are gastronic experts you will not be disappointed. Overall the hotel is a wonderful place for a couple, i am sure that they accomodate children - but on what i saw the clientele looked to be in the older age bracket and may not appreciate screaming children running through the ornatley decorated lounge.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

super locatie, warm welkom, een verwen adres

Posted Sep 7, 2016
Pros: de ambiance
Cons: Alles is perfect! Het enige zou ik kunnen noemen: het rolgordijn kan niet helemaal naar beneden als het raam iets omhoog is in de kamer.
Location: locatie perfect, naast golfbaan, en vele activiteiten in de omgeving: Hooge Veluwe, stad, etc etc
hier zou men vaker moeten logeren! Overal is aan gedacht, tot aan de tegeltjes met zuid Afrikaanse afbeeldingen! De bediening en aandacht geeft je een gevoel van welkom
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kerkrade

Zeer vriendelijk personeel.

Posted Aug 1, 2015
Sublieme kwaliteit eten en zeer vriendelijk en behulpzaam personeel in een voortreffelijke omgeving. Top!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Groningen

Zeer vriendelijk en voorkomend personeel

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Pros: Mooie kamer in de orangerie, interessante historie, super personeel.
Zeer vriendelijk personeel, ondanks de soms wat kille uitstraling van een golf resort, zorgt het personeel voor een persoonlijke, vriendelijke en behulpzame ervaring. mooie, klassieke uitstraling van het Hotel/kasteel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Einach nur Perfekt !

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Tolles Hotel, perfekter Service, freundlicher Empfang, sehr gutes Preisleistungsverhältnis, jeder Zeit wieder, traumhaft schön inmitten Wald und grünen Park gelegen!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastich mooie omgeving en natuur, heerlijk!

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Cons: Bedden
Prachtig hotel, uitstekende bediening, heerlijk eten, en we hadden mazzel met het weer. Enige minpunt: de bedden waren wat ons betreft te hard, stramme schouders in de ochtend. Voor de rest een heerlijke ervaring!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by jan willem from delft

Romantischlandhuis in een rustige omgeving

Posted Feb 25, 2013
Pros: luxe, bediening, rust
Wij hadden de suite geboekt en hadden een heerlijk verblijf met mooi uitzicht over het water. Hele nette bediening en lekker eten.