Ratings based on 111 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Maria

One of the best hotels in Italy!

Posted Oct 9, 2017 on Hotels
The owners of the hotel were extremely nice and accommodating to my daughter who was having trouble walking due to a bug bite that had swollen up her whole leg. The restaurant had delicious and fresh food, and the cook was also so kind.
5 out of 5
by Nicholas

Wonderful simple Italian inn high above Lake Como

Posted Jun 5, 2017 on Hotels
It was the second time I have stayed at this hotel. I loved it seven years ago and it was equally good this time round. Locanda Milano 1872 is a three star family run in perched high on the hillside above Brunate. The family that run it are extremely friendly and the food is good and the bar buzzing with locals every night. The accommodation is simple but comfortable and the breakfast very good with fresh fruit, breads, meats and cheese and excellent coffee. If you are looking for somewhere flash or ultra comfortable, you would probably be better off in one of the lakeside 5 star establishments. However for me, the charms of Brunate and the welcome at this stunning little inn are more than any 5 star lakeside hotel can offer. I like to drive up the winding road to Brunate and then leave the car at the hotel and travel to Como by funicular and use the ferries to get around the lake.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from America

hime away from home!

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Pros: The lounge was always full of friendly locals and the bedrooms/bathrooms were clean!
5 out of 5
by Yulia from Israel

Great expierience! Thanks!

Posted Jun 19, 2016 on Hotels
Enjoyed our stay at Locanda Milano very much! We felt very welcome, the hostess was very friendly, recomend it very much!
5 out of 5
by Tim from Melbourne

Old building but look beyond for Italian soul

Posted May 24, 2016 on Hotels
An excellent stay! The service was top notch. The restaurant was very good too - with a very good wine list (I recommend the San Felice). There is parking which is quite handy, and the drive up is definitely an adventure. A very short walk to the funicular and some great views of Como. The building itself is old, there is no getting around that - but the room was absolutely spotless. Their cleaner deserves a raise. Seems to be a local haunt and the bar downstairs can get quite lively - will definitely stay here again
4 out of 5
by Not Provided

Relaxing stay in Brunate

Posted Nov 18, 2015 on Hotels
Nice, family run hotel and restaurant. Fantastic breakfast that offers something for everyone. Staying in Brunate was very relaxing and puts you close by to an area for trekking above Lake Como. Would stay there again or recommend it to others.
3 out of 5
by Jeff from Napoli

Hotter than hades!

Posted Aug 22, 2015 on Hotels
The setting is great as you are up on the mountain top and the staff were friendly and largely helpful. I would not recommend staying on the family rooms, except in the winter as the hot water pipes for the kitchen/hotel run right in the floor. It wouldn't be bad in the winter to keep you warm, but on the 80-90 degree days we had it was unbearably hot. The room came with a small fan, but I had to keep putting cold towels on me during the night. I asked if they could turn off the heat, but they explained about the pipes and offered a second larger fan. I took that but it was still sweltering in there. The room only had one window and it was at street level and there was no air flow. I really wanted to like this place but additionally, the shower head leaked and sprayed water all over the bathroom which I remedied by wrapping a bidet towel around the shower head. While my wife's mattress was good, mine and both the two for our kids on the wobbly bunk beds, had more than exceeded their lifespan and were lumpy or thin. Also as a note to those staying on the hill, the fenicular while close by is not necessarily a cheap endeavor - plan for one trip up and down to cost around 14 euro.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good for a short stay

Posted Oct 21, 2014 on Hotels
Very basic room, but clean and good enough for one night. From Brunate you have a beautiful view over Como, and the funicular is just a 3 mins walk away from the hotel, so it's very convenient. Breakfast was good. If you have a small car, you can park right in front of the hotel, you just have to leave your keys, as they have to move around the cars since the space is not very big.
5 out of 5
by Carolyn S from Austin, Texas

Another Hidden Jewel

Posted Sep 18, 2014 on Hotels
The original hotel we were going to stay at was unacceptable, so we went to Hotels.com and booked this one, thinking it was close to Lake Como, and close to the city center within walking distance of restaurants and sights. When we began to make a steep climb up a mountain, we thought that our gps was on the blink. Once we got to the hotel and realized it was truly the one we booked, we were not less than delighted at the wonderful surprises that this hotel offered. Not only were the proprietor and staff wonderful, this boutique hotel was literally close to the top of the mountain, overlooking Lake Como. The view was wonderful and after we checked in, we took a walk even further up the mountain. It was stunning. We had a drink in the bar with the locals, and ate in the restaurant, which was wonderful. Breakfast was included the next day, and it offered a wide variety of items. Would definitely recommend to anyone going to that area.
4 out of 5
by Xiang from England

Good restaurant, bunk beds is wobbly

Posted Aug 19, 2014 on Hotels
Room is clean, staffs are very friendly and restaurant is good. The mattress of the bunk beds was too soft and the bed frame was wobbly.