Ratings based on 487 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable hotel

Posted Oct 7, 2017
We were there for 5 days. The room was spacious and nice. Large bathroom and very comfortable bed. We had the end room with 2 windows which opened for the fresh air. Close to lots of things to do. Breakfast was always nice. The staff were very helpful and kind.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from RI

Aging hotel with maintenance issues

Posted Oct 5, 2017
Pros: Patio on first floor would have been nice if dogs weren't allowed off-leash.
Cons: Facility cleanliness and security, breakfast tasted like it had been left out.
Location: 9 miles to Freeport shopping district.
Stayed on the first floor with a patio deck, neighbor let 2 aggressive dogs out off-leash and had to close and lock door to avoid them attacking my 2-year-old. Room was average-equipped but there was diarrhea in the shower drain.... Side door to building has a screw placed in the wall so it doesn't lock which made me and other guests feel insecure.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

This has been my "go to," but I was unimpressed

Posted Oct 3, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: I would request not to be in this room again. Also, the cleaning staff gets an early start--we were still sleeping when they began to clean rooms.
I stay here every time I am in Maine, but this experience may have soured me from staying here again. The room was smaller than usual, and had a door to the outside (with a deck). It must have been a pet-friendly room, as the smell was evident, and there was a bag of dog waste on the deck. The bathroom was also small. I have never stayed in a room like this at this hotel, and I was very disappointed. I may have to try a different hotel next time.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Hampshire

Technically as advertised in reality, not so much

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Pros: We like the location and the bed was very comfortable.
Cons: Staff needs to pay more attention to the cleanliness of the rooms. Management should remedy that electrical issue.....it is a fire hazard
Location: We like to explore the many peninsulas, restaurants and museums in the area.
Generally, our room was nice, but the bathroom was pathetic. The room was presented with a 'jetted tub', which it had, but it was a liner, it felt like stepping into a kiddie swimming pool, flimsy and uncomfortable, and was cracked around the outer edges. There was a single small vanity, maybe 24" and the faucet was covered with toothpaste residue. We had to ask for a hair dryer at the desk as the one from the room was missing and had not been replaced. Their breakfast offerings were wide ranging and plentiful, as expected, but one could not use the microwave without tripping a breaker that also controlled the toaster (??), then neither worked, which made for a lot of confusion among the diners.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Detroit, MI

Too many problems to overlook

Posted Sep 26, 2017
The room smelled damp and musty for our whole stay and, while it did work, the AC unit rattled loudly. Fruit flies constantly appeared in the room (my verified kill count was 37!), likely from the nearby breakfast area. The shower appeared to be handicap accessible but flooded the bathroom floor causing a safety concern. Wifi didn't work for our whole stay, side access door didn't work due to a broken card reader, and the driveway lighting was out. Bed creaked, towels were rough, and housekeeping did the bare minimum. Staff was mostly indifferent and we are entirely disappointed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location

Posted Sep 25, 2017
Convenient location and Breakfast was good!! Exercise equipment and fitness room need some serious help!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Nice staff

Posted Sep 8, 2017
This hotel is good, you get what you pay for. The staff is very friendly, they made the stay great.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston

Over priced for the location.

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Pros: It was available when we needed a place to stay (now I know why)
Cons: Cleanliness in the bathrooms!
Location: I do not know - we went for a specific family reason, so we did not tour the area at all.
The hotel looks ok from the outside and its generally ok inside, but the bathrooms were NOT clean and I would not return. Blood on the toilet seat that I had to clean up. Yech! The beds were ok and the rest of the room was ok. Overpriced for what you get. Not near anything.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sobieski, WI

We enjoyed our stay

Posted Aug 25, 2017
The rooms were clean, the staff was friendly and the stay was enjoyable. The only problem we experienced was a somewhat subpar breakfast. There seemed to be shortages of bacon, orange juice and scrambled eggs often. The juice was very watery and our last day there they were out of ketchup (who runs out of ketchup?). Lol! I was a little concerned, also, that the parking lot for the side entrance we used wasn't well lighted at night. For safety's sake, it would feel more secure to have it lit next to the woods area when arriving at the hotel at night, as we did often. In all we did really enjoy our stay and would be happy to stay there again in the future.
5 out of 5
by Radu

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 11, 2017 on Hotels