Ratings based on 136 Verified Reviews

2.8 out of 5
51% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tampa, FL

Red Roof - Brunswick

Posted Dec 28, 2016
It was just a place to stay for the night while we were traveling with our dogs. One of those "you get what you pay for" hotels. We had a non-smoking room that smelled of smoke, and it also had the smell of a kennel. The room was old and had wood floors, which is great for dogs. Walls were kinda coming apart and there was a roach near my bag in the morning we had to kill. If you have terrible neighbors, which we did, you won't get much sleep because the walls/doors are very thin. And if you're OCD weird like me and my family, the bars of soap in the bathroom were both broken into a few pieces before even opening them.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cape Coral, Florida

Great hotel for travelling stopover!

Posted Dec 24, 2016
I have stayed at this hotel whenever I am travelling through. The rooms are nice, the hotel friendly and comfortable.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Charlotte, NC

Not a good stay...

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Pros: Plenty of vending machines
Cons: Friendlier staff, cleaner rooms, soundproofing, offer conditioner and lotion and not just shampoo, don't try to swindle customers.
Location: Right outside of St Simon's Island so plenty to see and do and a convenient location.
Everything seemed fine at first. No problems with check in, rooms looked as if they'd been upgraded/renovated not so long ago, and it was early afternoon and quiet. Once we were in we realized our phones didn't pick up in our room and the room phone wasn't working. We pulled the bed back to get to the phone jack to make sure it was actually plugged in and found a woman's pair of dirty underwear. We left the bed out and went downstairs to ask for shampoo, conditioner, and lotion and inform them of the room's issues. They only offer shampoo and bar soap so don't expect anything special there. The girl at the front desk, when told about what we found in the room as well as the phone issue, asked me what I wanted her to do about it. I simply explained that I wasn't picking up someone elses unmentionables w/o gloves or something and I shouldn't have to in the first place. A gentleman, I'm assuming the owner, overheard the conversation and told her to put us in a different room. This room was fine except that it had an adjoining room and you could hear EVERYTHING in the next room... tv, conversations, doors opening and closing, and so on. We did stay two nights and the second night they tried to tell us we needed to come down and pay an additional $20 to cover our room costs. My husband explained that we booked and paid through Expedia and should not have any additional room rate fees and there shouldn't be any incidentals since the phone didn't even work in the first place.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cle. Ohio/Tarpon Springs, Fla.

Overight stopover during trip

Posted Dec 18, 2016
Pros: I guess, low price and pet friendly.
Cons: As a retired union plumber, 13 years as a plumbing dept supervisor at the Cleveland Clinic, I see the need for an extensive plumbing overhaul
Location: Location was fine next to I-95 and near to St. Simons Island, Jekyll Island, and downtown Brunswick Ga. places which we toured while waiting
Poor soundproofing in room, Terrible sewer odor in room continually. Male clerk indifferent and female clerk more cordial. Staff said they had shortage of housekeepers, room would not be ready maybe until after 3:30, 1 male housekeeper in hall on chair on cell phone. Breakfast experience less than stellar, waffle machine, cereal and prepackaged rolls with coffee pot not working very well. Very small area in lobby to accommodate guests for breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 26, 2016
It was a good stay and it was nice and clean and everything was good and the staff was a good help .
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not Happy at All

Posted Nov 19, 2016
We are not ones to complain about a hotel stay, but this hotel was the most unclean place i have ever stayed in. The bed was covered in dust, there was dirt and dust all over the baseboards and floor and the bathroom was disgusting. Shower head was almost completely rusted out. It was a very unpleasant stay. We needed a place to stay in our travels for a funeral, but sadly this was not it. Will not be coming back or recommending it to anyone in the future.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Red Roof needs more than a roof. It needs a total

Posted Nov 3, 2016
Location: Brunswick is a stay over stop for people headed to Florida. Lots of gas stations & hotels nearby.
Small bathroom, clothing rack separating from wall,room was dirty,carpeting old.Power went out for 5 hours.Towels old.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from US

Surprisingly clean and comfortable

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Pros: The room was large & clean. It was quiet and easily accessible.
Cons: The breakfast should be improved.
Location: Brunswick is a wonderful city that is very close to beaches, a short drive from Savannah, with St. Simon's & Jekyll right around the corner.
The room was very affordable, clean and large. The lady behind the front desk was very nice and personable. The property was well kept, and relatively quiet. The only thing that can be improved upon is their "breakfast". It's all sugar and not much to offer. Other than that though I would recommend this to anyone passing through Brunswick.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Yikes!!!!

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Pros: Location!
Cons: Cleanliness!
Location: I-95, Convenient!!!
I know it was a $50-Room, and you get what you pay for! Go ahead and pass this one buy if you can afford it...
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from orlando. fl

Terrible

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Location: Good location; off 95, lots of fast food restaurants around. Lots of hotel choices- next time I will use them!
No amenities. Went for breakfast at 9:30 am - already closed. No inside access to room, felt very unsafe. Room dingy, mattress old and saggy.