Ratings based on 248 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

LOVELY HOTEL NEAR BOWDOIN COLLEGE AND RESTAURANTS

Posted Oct 18, 2017
Pros: See above
Cons: NA
Location: Slightly off the beaten path, but just a short (2 -5minute) drive from the college and the restaurants on Main St.
We stayed just one night during a brief visit with our grandson. The hotel was upscale, and pleasing in every way - comfortable bed, roomy countertop in the bathroom, clean, well appointed. Staff were friendly and helpful. The bar was cozy (with a fireplace) and the free appetizer was quite a treat. Continental breakfast was very nicely done. We recommend the hotel to anyone who visits Brunswick, ME.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Lovely hotel in Maine.

Posted Sep 29, 2017
Pros: It has a very friendly feel, on top of being clean.
Location: Near Bowdoin College and close to the main street in Brunswick.
We stayed with our two teenage children and had such a nice stay. The room was clean and comfortable. The staff were super friendly and accommodating and the restaurant, conveniently located there, had good food. At first I thought the location was odd; however, it's very quiet and a short walk away from the Main Street, with it's adorable shops and restaurants. I would recommend.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Brunswick Hotel

Posted Sep 20, 2017
Pros: Nice lobby Good location
Cons: Matteress was thin and squeaky. Not comfortable Breakfast was bagels and cereal. Tacky "spa"
Location: Walking distance to Maine street with lots of good restaurants and shopping.
This hotel was a bit disappointing after reading other reviews. It was just okay. I did not feel like it was a 4+ star place
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Cape Cod

An Inn With Real Character

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Pros: Character, ambience, a sense of "home".
Cons: Ventilation was a tad spotty in our room, no biggie.
Location: I have no information on this, just passing through.
We used the Daniel as a waypoint inn to break up a journey from Cape Cod to Bar Harbor, and it was fantastic. A great rehab of an historic building, rooms with real character, a terrific bar and pub, friendly staff, and a way better than average continental breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Beloit , Wisconsin

unique hotel

Posted Aug 26, 2017
friendly staff. great on sight restaurant. close to a nice walking path and within walking distance of town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 24, 2017
This is a very nice hotel. Enjoyed our stay very much.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gen cove, NY

value

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: all
Cons: nothing
Location: could be better
pricedperfectly. Do not change anything! The bartender was excellent. so was the check in lady.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Clinton township, Michigan

Family vacation

Posted Aug 23, 2017
This is out 2nd visit to Maine and the Daniel. Love staying there. The bed was a little hard this time but everything else was awesome. Will definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cambridge, Ma

Grounds need attention

Posted Aug 20, 2017
We have stayed at The Daniel before and find it perfect for our needs. Still do. But it looks like the gardener quit early in the summer and no replacement was found! Gardens now dead or dying and weeds rampant.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 8, 2017
Pros: Location to Main Street in Brunswick.
Cons: The efficiency of the breakfast.
The location is ideal and a nice walk to town and restaurants. Unfortunately, our room was directly above the hotel restaurant so we could hear the music on some nights. There was also a private party in one of the rooms down the hall from us. The crowd was very loud and quite annoying (some one stood outside our room and had a conversation on his cell phone while drinking his beer). The hotel 's response was that the group having the party have it every month and it is a ongoing event at the hotel. The continental breakfast was adequate but often low on supplies which took a while to replenish as the kitchen is not close by.