Ratings based on 211 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pa

Time away

Posted Sep 7, 2016
Pros: Beds
Location: Southport is a must visit town but Bald Head Island is the place to be
Great room with an unbeatable breakfast close to Southport
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Weaverville, NC

Good Location

Posted Aug 20, 2016
Pros: Friendly and helpful staff.
Cons: Bed was comfortable, but the duvet was very heavy for sleeping in a hot climate, and invited the guest to turn the room AC down to 68F or so.
Location: Location close enough to beaches and downtown Southport.
Quality was as expected from Hampton Inns. Breakfast was reasonably good with a good variety of choices. Room was clean. Location was good for general touring of area, but there is no scenic view from any of the windows. Handy to mall-type shopping.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Posted Aug 19, 2016
Pros: Proximity to the town center and to the beach. Staff was exceptional.
Cons: Nothing
Location: There is shopping and historical sights in Southport. The river walk and park are perfect on a hot night. Tjere are numerous excellent restaurants.
The accommodations were perfect. Staff was friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Experience!

Posted Aug 4, 2016
The staff were very helpful on letting us know where to go in the area. They gave us a map to show us certain locations and even where to find parking. They were extra accommodating and the breakfast was very good!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Asheville, NC

Convenience and Great Hospitality

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff, good breakfast, good location.
Cons: More outdoor seating area would be nice. Just being able to get into the pool area before 9am would be helpful.
Location: Waterfront is just a 5 minute ride. Lots of restaurants to choose from for dinner. Ferry is a little further down the road but not inconvenient.
We stayed at the Hampton Inn Southport for a weekend wedding. Staff was very easy to work with. When I realized my daughter would be arriving earlier than I would, I called them and asked if she could check in without me even though she didn't have the credit card. They were glad to allow this and she got right in. Hotel is not within walking distance of the port area, but is a straight shot down the road about 5 minutes away. Hotel has bottled water available upon arrival, and breakfast was impressive. I will say that on Saturday morning the breakfast area was quite crowded and the lady in charge of breakfast was doing all she could to keep up with the demand. I like to get up early and go outside to read, and there was nowhere I could go except out the front door where smokers sit. The pool didn't open until 9 so I couldn't even get in there to sit. That was the only negative I found. I would certainly stay here again. We enjoyed our stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 26, 2016 on Hotels
The air conditioning did not seem to work very well-we had it down really low and it was barely ok. Our next door neighbor had 2 little girls who stayed up very late and were very loud-but we realize that was out of your control. Ran out of towels, tissues and weren't replaced.
5 out of 5
by kelly

Posted Jul 25, 2016 on Hotels
very nice hotel. great breakfast and very friendly staff. the only criticism that I have is that the room has a musty smell
4 out of 5
by Robert

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 12, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 26, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Deborah from NC

Super stay

Posted Jun 22, 2016 on Hotels
It was great...no wait to check in....ALL the staff was personable evn just meeting you on the common areas they stopped to speak and ask of there was anything we needed.