Ratings based on 85 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

On the beach

Posted Dec 29, 2016
My family and I stayed in 608. Average room. Amenities are ok. The breakfast was very good!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Asheboro, United States of America

Very nice complex

Posted Nov 17, 2016
Good value, quaint and a lot of amenities. Close walk to beach, very clean, friendly staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Asheville, NC

On a scale of 1 to 10: a 20.

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Pros: I highly pleased with the service, location, room, and amenities.
Cons: I did not particularly like the location of my room. I would have preferred an ocean view room. I cannot complain because I did not reserve until the day before I arrived, so was pleased to have the room I was assigned--nothing wrong with it.
Location: Ideal for me. I wanted peace and quiet.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 2, 2016
My husband and I stayed for a week in October. We had a wonderful week. The staff at the Winds was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

A pleasant weekend away.

Posted Oct 30, 2016
Location: Walk to the Intercoastal at the north end; go fishing; bike the island with free bikes; go thrift store shopping in town; hit a movie in Shallotte.
We had a good experience at The Winds. It's friendly, clean, and met our simple needs. The hotel is composed of several modest buildings at the north end of the island with nice views and beautiful tropical landscaping. In the off-season, there was adequate parking and the hotel and beach weren't too crowded. The coffee and breakfast are nothing to write home about but there is good coffee a mile away at "Drift." We slept okay at night - it was quiet - and the room met our expectations. If you want a luxury beach vacation, this is jot your place - this a place for regular people wanting to get away for some time on the beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The place to stay in OIB !!!!

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Location: Oyster Fest !!
Very comfortable, terrific staff, I will go back and back and back
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Relaxing at Ocean Isle

Posted Oct 5, 2016
Location: Couple of restaurants nearby. Fishing on pier. Bicycling. Relaxing on beach.
We went during off season, October. Not crowded. Water was still warm. Great to relax. Everyone very nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 13, 2016
We loved this hotel. The ocean front suite was cute and comfortable. Access to pool and beach was great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NC

ver Nice!

Posted Aug 27, 2016
Very pleasant helpful checkin staff. Room was attractive, clean and functional. Couldn't afford ON. beach but very short walk. Morning breakfast good. Let us stay at beach after checkout and use pool shower. Close to everything!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from West Virginia

Don't tell anyone

Posted Aug 19, 2016
Pros: It was very clean, beautiful grounds, 3 pools, 2 outside and 1 inside in case of rain.
Location: The Ingram Planetarium and Maritime museum are worth a visit,as well as a short drive to Cape Fear.
Keep this place a secret. It is so peaceful and relaxing. If you want to go to the beach for the beach, this is the place to go. I was disappointed to be placed across the street from the beach, but it turned out to be the very best place. It was a quiet place away from the Tiki Bar and a short and easy walk right across from the beach. The beach was never crowded, always quiet and clean. The breakfast was great, a variety of hot food each day. The staff was very sweet and helpful. We often had the 2nd outside pool (3 all together) all to ourselves. It is our new favorite place to vacation.