Ratings based on 108 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from GLASGOW

nothing close by isolated

Posted Oct 4, 2017
Pros: nothing
Cons: staff hospitality breakfast times also more amenieties in rooms
Location: not a good location nothing nearby
staff very unpleasant hardly spoke two words to us room hardly big enough for one person no kettle or mini fridge for price would not stay here again ,
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 17, 2017 by K. Law, Hotel Management
Dear Lisbon67, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us regarding your stay in our hotel. We are sorry to hear that our hotel did not exceed your expectations. Your comment about our staff has been shared with them and remind them about the hospitality. Our amenities are sufficient for 1 to 2 days stay in the hotel. In case you would need extra, additional will be happily given to you at the reception. Our rooms are indeed not the biggest but they were carefully designed to optimize guest’s comfort and to give them a contemporary design. As our hotel is located near the Brussels Airport and the business discrict of Diegem, we do not have any shops or tourist attractions nearby the hotel but Brussels city centre is reachable by train. Please consider for your next visit in Brussels for our pentahotel Brussels City Center which is located in the uptown center of Brussels. We truly hope that we can welcome you back in our hotel in the near future and assure you of our best attention to your comfort and pleasure. Kind regards, K. Law Operations Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Belgium

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Pros: TV (free premium channels and free on-demand movies and series)
Cons: Pretty much the whole staff that was on duty Wifi
Location: Station and airport very close by. Distance to station is walkable if you don't have much bags (uphill) and the airport is a mere 5-minute drive away.
Fancy hotel with a nice lounge and games area but very disinterested and unfriendly staff. Both check-in and check-out took place with less than 5 words from the front desk staff. On top of that, check-in lasted more than 10 minutes (in total silence) and I was charged city tax twice. The only (literally) staff I encountered was my room attended who I've seen down the hallways a few times. I've only stayed here for 1 night and am certain it has been my last one as well. I often need a hotel near Brussels airport, but I won't return for free with staff this lacking in hospitality. I work in the tourism industry as well and would be very ashamed to have such an unfriendly team at my disposal. The room itself was basic with a very good TV for entertainment. Wifi however was disgraceful. Loading an e-mail (without any attachements) took several minutes and would often disconnect. 256KB/s is a horrible speed to offer nowadays. Especially for a hotel that sits right in the middle of the business park and tries everything to attract business customers. 24 hours of internet will set you back a whopping 14 euro. This is a big no-no in this day and age.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 7, 2017 by K. Law, Hotel Management
Dear Kefren, Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us, so we can constantly improve our services. We are very sorry to have learned that you have not received the treatment and service you had expected from us. Regarding your experience at the reception, we have shared your comments with our front office team and the necessary improvements will be applied. Furthermore, we are currently in examinating the possibilities to increase the wifi speed. We truly hope that we can welcome you back in our hotel in the near future and assure you of our best attention to your comfort and pleasure. Kind regards, K. Law Operations Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Good location, clean hotel. Room on the small side, basic but clean. Friendly and helpful staff always on hand to help. Lovely food, cooked to order. Expensive to utilise car park especially for a short stay. Overall good facilities and pleasant stay 😀
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dubai

Below Average

Posted Aug 26, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: everything
Location: no restaurants, no super markets , nothing around, Just close to the airport
Hotel well below average. Poor check in facilities. Excuse was system is not updated, I can see the booking but its not in the system. Then a staff comes past 1.30 am, wakes me up, saying the booking is cancelled, we have to pay for the room again for a room that is already prepaid. Then takes a deposit in the middle of the night.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 30, 2017 by Kristof Lemmens, Hotel Management
Dear Huzaifa, Thank you for your comment. I apologize if we did not meet your expectations. We hope to do better next time. Best regards, Kristof Lemmens / General Manager
5 out of 5
by S Adams

Posted Jun 17, 2017 on Hotels
Enjoyed our stay. Very hip hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 15, 2017 by Afrodite, Hotel Management
Dear S Adams, Thank you very much for your nice feedback! Your comments are really appreciated by us all, as we constantly attempt to improve our service. We are glad to hear that you appreciate the penta lifestyle design and we hope to welcome you back in the near future. Kind regards, K. Law Operations Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ontario, canada

Brussels Airport

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Pros: Good food, friendly staff, close to airport, and a great free movie channel.
Location: There was no need to leave as the restaurant was very good.
This hotel is a five minute drive from the airport. The restaurant has very good food. The staff were top notch!! The bus was full the following morning to get to the airport so the staff called taxis to get us to the airport on time!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 12, 2017 by Kristof Lemmens / General Manager, Hotel Management
Hi Peter, Great to read that you loved our hospitality, the food and overall product and service. Come back soon! Best regards, The penta team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cd juarez

Very cool different hotel

Posted May 15, 2017
Pros: Near form airport, free shuttle service, nice hotel.
Cons: nothing
Location: near to airport
Very cool different hotel, the moment you walk in into the reception-bar area you will say wow! We stayed only for one night to catch a flight next morning which this hotel was pretty convenient because its near to the airport and they have free shuttle service (both ways). Room was nice, modern and clean. Very recommendable, very affordable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 7, 2017 by K. Law, Hotel Management
Dear Noroy, Thank you very much for your nice feedback! Your comments are really appreciated by us all, as we constantly attempt to improve our service. We are pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and the penta concept has been appreciated. We hope to welcome you back soon pentahotel Brussels Airport. Kind regards, K. Law Operations Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Not reliable.

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Room was nothing like the photo. I had two single beds instead of a queen/double bed. Even though I arrived early, the shuttle never arrived, so me and other travellers ended up missing our flights.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 2, 2017 by K. Law, Hotel Management
Dear John, Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us, so we can constantly improve our services. We are very sorry to have learned that you have not received the treatment and service you had expected from us. The pictures on the website indicate the design of our rooms. Upon availability, we are able to provide our guests the desired room type. Furthermore we will have a closer look with the driver of the shuttle to leave on the exact time as indicated. We truly hope that we can welcome you back in our hotel in the near future and assure you of our best attention to your comfort and pleasure. Kind regards, K. Law Operations Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 20, 2017 on Hotels
Friendly staff
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 14, 2017 by Afrodite, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your comment. We are really pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We have shared your experiences with our team. We hope to see you back soon in our hotel! Kind regards, K. Law Operations Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from boston, MA

Bad hotel, terrible location

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Shuttle service doesn't work between 9 - 6:20 & after 10:40. They use the one from the Holiday Inn. Round trip taxis from/to airport: €35. Tiny room. Literally, had to walk sideways in parts of it. Loud lobby music past midnight.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 12, 2017 by K. Law, Hotel Management
Dear Bill, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of your stay with us. Although our rooms are not the biggest, they were carefully designed in 2015 to optimize guest’s comfort and to give them a contemporary design. This also reflex in the whole hotel where we try to give a relaxing atmosphere. Our airport shuttle schedule has slightly been changed from today on. The frequency of the use of the shuttle is concentrated during the morning and evening. This explains why we have opt for not having a 24/7 shuttle. Our hotel shares indeed the shuttle with other hotels mentioning clearly each hotel on the bus. We truly hope that we can welcome you back in our hotel in the near future. Kind regards, K. Law Operations Manager