Ratings based on 488 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Belfast

Filthy Room

Posted Oct 7, 2017
We stayed here last night. The staff were pleasant. The room had a stained carpet all over, filthy stained curtains. The lampshade was covered in a brown stain. My bed sheets had holes in them. The hair dryer did not work, although the receptionist quickly brought another one.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rio de Janeiro

Nice hotel close to Brussels airport

Posted Sep 24, 2017
Pros: Decor and location
Cons: Presentation of the rooms
Location: Not much around it. Restaurant has two nice restaurants and a bar though.
Nice decoration and convenient shuttle to airport. Couple of restaurants too. Limited service, you will likely have to do with your luggage yourself.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Funky smell in rooms

Posted Sep 20, 2017
Pros: Food quality
Cons: Staff friendliness. Make sure rooms are acceptable.
Location: Location is in business/industrial area. Nothing to do nearby.
This was the 3rd - and now last! - stay at a Vandervalk hotel. Good: Food. Bad: - some waiters and maintenance crew are plainly rude. - no airport shuttle during the late/early hours (they used to offer that). - our room smelled like sewer. Front desk tried to justify and explain it. They reluctantly gave us another room, which was a bit better. Still the smell woke us up at night when it got much stronger again. What kind of hotel would rent out such rooms? Disgusting! - Nothing to do around. This hotel is located in an industrial/business area. Even going for a walk to stretch your legs before your flight is not fun at all, limited sidewalks and it's too dangerous to walk on the streets. This hotel is geared towards businesses and conferences, not tourists. Just keep that in mind. Other Vandervalk hotels in Belgium had better rooms but really, at least half of the waiters are forgetful, don't know their own menu, bring the wrong food etc. No way I would stay here again. Now way.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hartsville, SC USA

Posted Sep 13, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Convenience to airport and accommodations Desk staff most cooperative Great food and service
Location: Great location for airport travelers
My sister and I stayed there three separate times during an extended vacation in Europe. Each time at the hotel we received a big welcome and full cooperation for our needs. On one occasion we were able to leave large bags at the hotel to take a two-day trip to Bruges. Very convenient.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Devon, UK

Air con did not work

Posted Aug 29, 2017
On the first evening I went to reception to let them know that our aircon was not working. The receptionist did not send anyone to check it, he just said it is an eco air con and it takes a long time to cool down but advised me what settings to put it to. I followed his instructions, went to bed and had a terribly hit and uncomfortable night. The following day I complained and they upgraded us to a better room awith working air con. Their reception staff need to learn to investigate complaints and not just assume that clients are idiots that cannot work the electronics. Our second issue was that we filled our room fridge with cans of gin and tonic. On our return from our day out they had all been taken out of the fridge and stolen by the cleaning staff. Again we reported it to reception who told us that they would look into it and would let us know. We never heard anything again about it. On checkout the following day I once again had to complain. The hotel has the potential to be good but the staff are poorly trained and need to seriously up their game.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco,CA

staying one night to catch early flight next day.

Posted Aug 22, 2017 on Orbitz
no shuttle service on Sunday. has to pay Taxi getting there 12.20€. Great service at the hotel resturant. staff courteous.
4 out of 5
by IGOR

Posted Jul 22, 2017 on Hotels
Super adequate, sweet stuff, more expensive than the Dutch branches. The hotel shuttle is very convenient. Overall, a very slick, if a bit bland. Will come back xxx
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 31, 2017
Dear Igor, Can't wait to host you again. Looking forward. Dorien Broothaerts Guest Experience Manager
4 out of 5
by Paul

Posted Jul 12, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 31, 2017
Dear Paul, 4/5, thank you for this nice score. Best regards, Dorien Broothaerts Guest Experience Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel very convenient

Posted Jun 5, 2017
very convenient near the buisness park, train, and airport. Hotel had a great bar, quite room, and great sushi restaurant.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 12, 2017 by Dorien, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your lovely review. Looking forwar to welcome you again. Kind regards, Dorien Broothaerts Guest Experience Manager
4 out of 5
by Louise

Posted Jun 2, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2017
Dear Guest, Thank you for reviewing our hotel. This is much appreciated. Kind regards, Dorien Broothaerts Guest Experience Manager