Ratings based on 478 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Funky smell in rooms

Posted Sep 20, 2017
Pros: Food quality
Cons: Staff friendliness. Make sure rooms are acceptable.
Location: Location is in business/industrial area. Nothing to do nearby.
This was the 3rd - and now last! - stay at a Vandervalk hotel. Good: Food. Bad: - some waiters and maintenance crew are plainly rude. - no airport shuttle during the late/early hours (they used to offer that). - our room smelled like sewer. Front desk tried to justify and explain it. They reluctantly gave us another room, which was a bit better. Still the smell woke us up at night when it got much stronger again. What kind of hotel would rent out such rooms? Disgusting! - Nothing to do around. This hotel is located in an industrial/business area. Even going for a walk to stretch your legs before your flight is not fun at all, limited sidewalks and it's too dangerous to walk on the streets. This hotel is geared towards businesses and conferences, not tourists. Just keep that in mind. Other Vandervalk hotels in Belgium had better rooms but really, at least half of the waiters are forgetful, don't know their own menu, bring the wrong food etc. No way I would stay here again. Now way.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Devon, UK

Air con did not work

Posted Aug 29, 2017
On the first evening I went to reception to let them know that our aircon was not working. The receptionist did not send anyone to check it, he just said it is an eco air con and it takes a long time to cool down but advised me what settings to put it to. I followed his instructions, went to bed and had a terribly hit and uncomfortable night. The following day I complained and they upgraded us to a better room awith working air con. Their reception staff need to learn to investigate complaints and not just assume that clients are idiots that cannot work the electronics. Our second issue was that we filled our room fridge with cans of gin and tonic. On our return from our day out they had all been taken out of the fridge and stolen by the cleaning staff. Again we reported it to reception who told us that they would look into it and would let us know. We never heard anything again about it. On checkout the following day I once again had to complain. The hotel has the potential to be good but the staff are poorly trained and need to seriously up their game.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel very convenient

Posted Jun 5, 2017
very convenient near the buisness park, train, and airport. Hotel had a great bar, quite room, and great sushi restaurant.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 12, 2017 by Dorien, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your lovely review. Looking forwar to welcome you again. Kind regards, Dorien Broothaerts Guest Experience Manager
4 out of 5
by Louise

Posted Jun 2, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2017
Dear Guest, Thank you for reviewing our hotel. This is much appreciated. Kind regards, Dorien Broothaerts Guest Experience Manager
4 out of 5
by Vivian

Posted May 28, 2017 on Hotels
Conveniently close to Brussels Airport
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 2, 2017
Dear Vivian, Thank you very much for reviewing our hotel in such a positive way. Kindest regards, Dorien Broothaerts Guest Experience Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

perfect for flight-caused stay-over

Posted May 13, 2017 on Hotels
We had to stay one night in Brussels due to our flights. So we picked a hotel close to the airport. They have a convenient shuttle service - very nice! When we arrived in the lobby it was crowded and busy, however, the staff checked us in fast. We ate at one of their restaurants - nice service, funny server and good food. The room (special offer) was nice and quiet and perfect for that short stay. Wake-up call worked perfect - so did the shuttel back to the airport. We would definitvely go there again (not sure for a sight-seeing trip of Brussels).
Comment from Hotel Management
May 15, 2017
Dear Guest, Thank you for the time you took to write this wonderful review. This is much appreciated. Kind regards, Dorien Broothaerts Guest Experience Manager
5 out of 5
by Jason

Posted Apr 12, 2017 on Hotels
This was a great place to stay after a few days of less than fantastic accomodations.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 8, 2017
Dear Jason, Thank you very much for your kind words. Much appreciated. Warm regards, Dorien Broothaerts Guest Experience Manager
1 out of 5
by Lev

Avoid This Hotel!

Posted Mar 12, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel was very badly run. The room wasn't clean enough and it needed refurbishing. There was visible dust on the legs of the bed and the wall art--so how high are the standards there? The clerk at check-in didn't bother to tell me that early-departing guests get a free breakfast bag. I found that out on the shuttle to the airport. What sloppiness. At lunch, a chunk of wall was missing from right where I was sitting. Maybe someone got tired of waiting? Because at dinner, my main course took over half an hour to come. There was some kind of event there in the evening that made sleep impossible: the music was so loud that walls, the bed, the desk were vibrating. That is not hyperbole. I developed a migraine that hasn't left me. And when I got to the lobby at 4Am to leave, police were there in force to deal with some massive disturbance. Drunken teens or college-age kids in what Americans would call prom clothes were everywhere, one arguing and wrestling with a cop who was trying to eject her from the hotel. Some saw the police and ran as the elevator doors opened. Others lolled in the lobby, made out in front of the hotel, or drank or staggered. It was grotesque. I deserve a refund.
4 out of 5
by Anuroop

Close proximity to airport

Posted Jan 9, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel was pretty close to the airport and 10 mins away from a bunch of restaurants which is cool. There were a couple of issues with the room. The shower was broken and was leaking water and the TV antenna was broken.
4 out of 5
by Marie

Posted Jan 8, 2017 on Hotels
Easy access to the airport...good shuttle service