Ratings based on 3,278 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasant Hotel

Posted Mar 24, 2017
Pros: Modern and upmarket -Good breakfast included
Cons: Check in staff
Location: Not close to train station if walking Can walk to good food and shopping area.
Check in terrible -We arrived after check in time but had to wait almost an hour to get in Hotel upmarket and room was good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nanaimo, BC, Canada

Nice hotel close to Grand Place

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Pros: The location of this hotel is really good. Very close to Grand Place and also to the train station.
Location: This hotel is very close to Grand Place and many restaurants.
We only spent 3 nights here in March but really enjoyed it. Check in went smoothly, although the staff was not overly friendly. We had booked a standard double room and it was a nice size. However, it was cold, windy and raining outside and the heat did not work in the room. We decided to stop at the desk before going out to see about getting it fixed. Staff at the desk was busy so we spoke with a male staff member, (who may have been the concierge). He came up to our room immediately but could not get the heat to work. in no time at all, he had us moved just down the hall to a suite! This man knows about customer service. The room was perfect with a very comfortable king bed. The hotel is located less than 10 minutes walk from Grand Place. Many, many restaurants are within 10 to 15 minutes walk. We found it so easy to get around, even in the miserable weather. The included breakfast offered a good variety of hot and cold items and was quite tasty. Our experience at the Bedford, of course, was great. Aside from the suite upgrade, we found our stay very pleasant The hotel has a very nice ambience. We would definitely stay here again
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location but no iron or external call to room

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Pros: Convenient location: walking distance to Eurostar & City Centre. Quiet area.
Cons: Warn people well in advance about your no-irons policy. Do a proper review of what is going on with the customer service dealing with calls to guests
Location: Worth trying the famous Houtsiplou burgers or just a local beer in that square at the Quartier Midi-Lemonnier.
1. The hotel's lobby is ample and looks fine. There are several lifts and they work efficiently. 2. Acceptable internet connection. Connection dropped a few times, though. 3. The bed was comfortable. 4. Breakfast was included but I didn't try it. 5. No irons available. I learned about it once I was there. The alternative was to pay for a rather expensive service provided by the hotel, but that service cannot be contacted in the evening and they re-open after 8am. By that time I had to be elsewhere in a formal business meeting. I could have decided about it much earlier when I did the check-in before 5pm. 6. An important phone call to my room was transferred to the wrong room, and the staff handling the phone calls said to the person calling me that there was nothing else they could do. That created inconveniences during my visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester, England

Well located hotel close to Grand Place

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Pros: Well located within easy walking distance of main transport, shops, bars and restaurants, helpful reception stafff
Cons: Sometimes some features in the rooms are a little care worn, rooms are often very warm and air conditioning will rarely cool it down.
Location: Within easy walking distance of public transport, Grand Place, shopping, bars and restaurants
We have stayed at this hotel many times, within walking distance to Brussels Midi (Eurostar) and Central stations and easy walking distance to Grand Place and several bars, restaurants and shops. We will be happy to use this hotel again for our next visit
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Englang

Obnoxious new receptionist

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Pros: Convenient location, cheap room.
Cons: Responsiveness to customer needs.
Location: Well located for easy walk from station, to grand place, shopping area and museums
We've stayed at this hotel several times before but we were very disappointed on this occasion. The room we were initially allocated was unsuitable as there was very limited space between the bed and the wall. My partner would not have been able to get round the room safely. We immediately asked for a different room. The receptionist tried to extort more money from us for an upgrade. We explained we only wanted a different standard room. She said they were all the same, we knew they weren't but she said "we know better than you" and "you will have the room you're allocated". Eventually her colleagues persuaded her to give us a different room. She said "you'll be back for your original room when you see it". It was small, with one bar of soap and one chair so we wondered if it was a "double room for single occupancy" but there was more space Between the bed and the wall so safer for us. It's a shame that this receptionist doesn't listen to people, the old staff were so nice. I had started to recommend this hotel to colleagues at work but I don't feel I can continue to do that.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from f

Very convenient hotel just a step away from the ci

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Not expensive and outstanding value for money. Yes the hotel would need some refurbishment and the breakfast room it's packed.....for the price I was not expecting a 5 star experience
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, Az

Nice hotel, nice staff, good location.

Posted Mar 11, 2017
All the above in the title plus good breakfast Buffett every morning and large room with comfortable beds but, pillows are uncomfortable short and provides not enough support (head and shoulders), bathrooms need better ventilation, No courtesy ice or drinking water available.:(
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

A tired hotel with poor customer service

Posted Mar 6, 2017
The welcome and customer service I received was shocking, it took 25 minute to check in despite there being lots of staff in the office. When it was my turn, the only thing the receptionist said was 'passport' and 'lift left'.... not a great start. The room was spacious and clean but my room was on the front and with only single glazed windows, i was woken up continually during the night. Breakfast was good but generally this is hotel is tired and not one I would recommend if you are looking for a romantic trip or if you are visiting Brussels for the first time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ottawa

Close to down town.

Posted Mar 3, 2017
Early check in on the first day. Very good. No more.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, D.C.

Great Hotel, right in the heart of Brussels!

Posted Mar 2, 2017
Pros: Staff is great. Food is good. Location is very convenient.
Cons: Hotel is great, the people nice. Stay here!
Location: The Grand Plaz is amazing to see, either during the day or night. Restaurants are very close and nightlife abundant.
Staff is very attentive and happy to help. My luggage was lost for 4 days (From Delta) and the Bell Captain kept calling the airline and delivery company for the delivery. I was furious with Delta, but the hotel staff was great in assisting me in recovery. They were also very helpful in helping my party with train stations, directions, and great restaurants. If you're in Brussels, stay here! Rooms are clean! I'm a GM for a hotel in the USA and this place is great!