Ratings based on 38 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by Jackie

Ruined first two days in Brussels - left hotel

Posted Jan 5, 2017 on Hotels
My stay at the Catalonia in Brussels was absolutely awful. So much so that my fiance and I literally packed up our bags after the second night and booked a stay at the Hotel Amigo. It was truly a trying experience. Our room was dirty, there were mysterious hairs all over the bathroom I noticed the day we checked in. It wreaked of old cigarettes, well the entire floor smelled of cigarettes - we asked for non smoking. It made both of us feel extremely unsafe. The bed/pillows were so UNCOMFORTABLE , I could barely sleep and woke up completely stiff in the neck / back both mornings. The turning point was when my lingering head ache of two days would not dissipate, which was due to all of the mold and cigarettes. Even worse my fiance suffers with severe asthma and he would start wheezing and coughing the second we would get into the hotel and woke up having serious asthma attacks. This all stopped when we checked into Hotel Amigo. Hotel Catalonia is completely unsanitary, unsafe, and a total rip off. I typically only book my hotels via Hotels.com, I am extremely disappointed and have lost a lot of trust in this company for listing this hotel as close to 4 stars (3.7). I don't know that I will trust hotels.com after this traumatic experience that costed us our health and my bank account having to book two hotels. I am hoping to hear from a Hotels.com representative to remedy this situation so they will not loose the business of myself and my network of family and friends.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 28, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Adequate hotel, bad neighborhood. Avoid!

Posted Dec 4, 2016
Hotel is about what you would expect for the rate, but the neighborhood is definitely on the downslope. It was impossible to drive to the hotel as all roads were blocked, and it was a long walk from the garage (which only accepts small cars; glad we did not have an SUV). Many homeless people begging within a few feet of the hotel door way; this did not feel like a safe neighborhood at any time of the day. It is close to the Grand Place as represented, but the drawbacks do not compensate for the proximity.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 23, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location, ok facility.

Posted Sep 11, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: location.
Cons: Air conditioning.
Location: a lot of restaurants nearby. Close to attractions.
The room key system was broken on the first day. Location was good enough. There were free snacks and drinks everyday, which was great. The air conditioner did not work well. The room was much warmer than the hallway, and the hallway was much warmer than outside.
4 out of 5
by HYUNGCHUL

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 7, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Cons: Fix the AC, on max-cold the room was stuffy at best. Noise-proof the emergency exit beside the bed as it opened to a high traffic hallway.
Nice room and decor, great staff service, easy check-in/out, bottle opener in room. AC leaves something to be desired. Emergency exit beside bed was noisy as it led to adjacent hallway lift.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dominican Republic

Nice hotel, is in the center of everything.

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Pros: The location is very good. The breakfast is superb.
Cons: Yes. if they change the windows of the first floor to anti noise windows this will be the dream hotel
Location: The location is very good, you have the restaurants, the catedral, the grand place, the bus and the opera.
This hotel has great service, excellent breakfast, so I recoment you book the breakfast. The first floor is a little noisy because is to near the street but otherwise everything is good.
4 out of 5
by Joshua from Birmingham

Comfortable and affordable central hotel

Posted Jul 19, 2016 on Hotels
Located in the centre of Brussels (only 5 mins walk from Grand Place), this recently refurbished hotel was great value compared to other hotels I looked at in the centre. The room was modernly refurbished, with a comfortable king size bed, sofa, desk, minibar and large flat screen TV. There was free wifi, although it was slow and seemed to struggle with the number of visitors. The reception staff seemed a bit overloaded and check-in was slow, but free afternoon/evening refreshments were provided in the foyer. I would strongly recommend this hotel for anyone who wanted a more affordable but still 4 star hotel in the centre of Brussels.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 9, 2016 on Hotels