Ratings based on 86 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Avoid this hotel

Posted May 15, 2016
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Everything.
Location: Choose downtown or elsewhere instead.
The desk staff are rude. The breakfast is set up late (so you don't actually have the hot part of the breakfast) and then they accuse you of not having paid for it even though you were on a list and had to sign it before you even had breakfast (and even though it was not set up so you missed most of it). Then, while they are stopping you from leaving because they are having an argument with you over whether you paid for breakfast or not (when you did and made sure of this with a different staff person prior to having breakfast), they are making you late for your bus to the airport so that you might miss your plane. Rude, completely inappropriate, careless about their behavior, and inconsiderate. They do not understand the concept of graciousness or how to treat a paying guest (even one that paid the whole bill in advance). Just a disaster. To make matters worse, when I asked for a quiet room, they put me in a tiny room near the elevator.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 19, 2015
Had a great experience, room was nice, clean and staff was friendly. Very quiet, had an excellent night sleep.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Wales

VFM in the European quarter

Posted Sep 29, 2015
Pros: Location/cost.
Cons: Problem with the TV in my room.
Location: Very easy to get to the EU buildings and associated offices.
A fairly small hotel close to the main EU buildings of the city and close to the Schumann metro/railway station. Staff friendly and food very good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LE, TX

Excellent room

Posted Nov 20, 2014
Pros: Room size, cleanliness, free Wifi, and comfort.
Cons: Better lit entrance to the hotel
Location: To the roundabout at Schurman station and there are many restaurants/pubs. No fast food places. Beware, at roundabout prostitution is active.
Great hotel. Room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The hotel has signs placed to find it when coming out of Schurman subway station, which was very helpful. The downside to the Schurman station area is plenty of prostitution in that area. Give the feeling of being unsafe.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london uk

Very poor

Posted Nov 6, 2014
Hotel no clean And car park no suitable ,beds very old
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from u

Nice small Holiday Inn. Good location for tourists

Posted Aug 30, 2014
Pros: Receptionists were very helpful. Gave us good advice regarding travel and restaurants. Very apologetic about the broken elevator.
Cons: Staff at the breakfast room could have been more friendlier. No leaflets about places to visit.
Location: Very good location to visit central city. Ideal place to learn about EU.
We had four pleasant days in the hotel. Breakfast was good for the size of the hotel. Fresh Orange juice maker was a treat.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Selly from UK Midlands

Excellent hotel for exploring Brussels

Posted Jun 16, 2014
The overall condition of the hotel is good, and what you'd expect from Holiday Inn. But the staff were the reason for my overall rating, in a word fantastic
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location for weekend break in Brussels

Posted May 7, 2014
Pros: The room was a good size, well equipped, clean and comfortable.
Cons: Unfortunately, the lift was out of order during our stay but staff were available to carry bags up/down the stairs.
Location: It's 5 minutes' walk from the metro and bus-stops and so within easy reach of the city centre; a short walk to the European Parliament and a park.
We stayed for two nights. The staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel was well situated for visiting the main sites due to the proximity of the metro and buses. It's located in the business districts so not many restaurants close by but there are a couple of patisseries if you want to get your own breakfast. We had a drink and a meal in the hotel bar on Sunday evening - the omelettes were very nice and the atmosphere very pleasant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Pilot from UK

Friendly helpful staff make a difference

Posted Mar 30, 2014
Pros: The staff
Cons: Plumbing now looking tired - shower outflow suspect, marks on the shower tray, no plug in the sink, etc.
Location: Very central to a number of museums and the European Council Offices.
Friendly and helpful staff made a big difference. The breakfast was excellent. The evening meal was very average. The room was good but the plumbing is beginning to look a little tired.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Albert from Texas

Nice, very comfortable hotel in Horfddorp

Posted Jan 8, 2014
This hotel was perfect, breakfast was very good, bed was really comfortable and tv was perfect. I thought I was going to have a problem getting to Amsterdam Central but it was in fact very easy. Just take the shuttle from the hotel, which is free and they will drop you in the Schiphol train station, from there you can take the train to go to Amsterdam Central. The whole ride takes around 20 min for less than 5 Euros. Not bad at all! Would definitely book this hotel if I go back to AMS!