Ratings based on 264 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Birmingham

Great staff, great location-Just too noisy!

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Pros: Location, staff, decor, cleanliness
Cons: The noise, sorry! It was just so loud. I am hoping that it was just our room (105) and not the whole hotel. Walls were very thin.Sounded like a hostel
Location: Great location lots to do, very close to St.Michael's Church. We did a walking tour, beer tasting tour and a pub crawl on the evening. Recommended.
I've never left a negative review of any hotel that I've stayed in, as this does not come naturally I will start with the positives. The hotel is beautiful, very clean and modern decor. Lovely! The man on reception was so friendly and welcoming. Great stuff! Location wise it is perfect only a quick walk from the station and a 5 min stroll into town. Very easy to wander into town for a tour then nip back to the hotel to get changed before heading back for the evening. Now, the not so great side..I read loads of great reviews about this hotel before we came so I'm hoping that it was just our room that was the problem and not a reflection of the hotel as a whole...it was just so loud! We stayed in room 105 on the ground floor facing onto the street. The noise from outside was quite annoying from sirens to drunks to the ATM machine across the street, but that was understandable as the room was so close to the road. However, this combined with the noise within the hotel was the problem. There was a very, er, let's say amorous couple in the room next to us-we are a young couple ourselves and you expect this kind of thing when staying in a hotel but seriously, I'm pretty sure their bed was parallel to ours and we may as well have been in there with them. The walls are paper thin! We are not at all prudish and it was funny to start with but then became a bit cringey. Also, wooden floors in the corridor meant that you heard every person enter and leave. Great hotel just not room 105!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Oxon

Perfectly located between City & European Quarter

Posted Oct 28, 2016
Pros: Ideally located on the inner ring, beside the Madou metro station, and adjacent to bus lines that take one direct to the EU Institutions & NATO.
Cons: Better disabled access.
Location: City centre within walking distance, and the EU Institutions too. Good restaurants, theatre, bars and cafes.
Friendly, efficient, and still individual. What makes the Hôtel du Congrès stand out is the slight quirkiness that results from the rooms being built around the structure of three Brussels townhouses, so some have lovely bathrooms that go upstairs, but all en suite, others look out on the glorious interior courtyard, whilst others still are the old staterooms of this splendid building. The hotel offers comfortable rooms, conferencing facilities, and helpful, constructive staff. The breakfasts are good, the rooms spotlessly clean, and all are spacious and well (but not luxuriously) appointed. This is reflected in the extremely competitive prices, which follow availability, but are always better than the chains.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean and easy to find.

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Hotel was pretty easy to find, only 15 mins from the central station. Staff were helpful, and I was able to check in early. Room was small (an actual single, with a single bed), and the bathroom was split into basin/shower and toilet. There was no way to sit and watch TV, only lie on bed. Still, it was clean, comfortable and quiet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with great staff

Posted Jul 26, 2016
5 of us shared a room including my baby daughter. The staff were very friendly and accommodating, having provided us with a baby cot and a fan to combat the heat at that time. The bathroom was clean and spacious with a lovely bath-shower combo. The beds were comfy and the wifi connection was good. The location of the hotel was nice; a pretty area, with only a 3 minute walk to grab a metro or bus. We all really enjoyed our stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Convenient Hotel

Posted May 23, 2016
Pros: Clean hotel and rooms. Good Wifi connection
Cons: Tiny shower cubical. May be it's for certain room.
Location: Close to Madou metro station
Room was clean. Bed was done properly. TV has a good selection of channels. Close to the Madou Metro station. There is a Carrefour nearby. 20mins walk to the Grand square.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from UK

Good value

Posted May 6, 2016
Cons: A better bar area
Conveniently situated near the centre of the city; our room faced the road and was a little noisy other than that it is good value for money. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Ireland

excellent value for money for short breaks

Posted Apr 24, 2016
Pros: staff, price, location
Cons: tea/coffee facility in rooms would be great
good location, basic room facilities, but comfortable. reasonable pricing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Spacious, clean, no air-cond

Posted Apr 12, 2016
Pros: spacious, quiet, clean, near brussels central.
Cons: Receptionist on morning shift is somewhat unfriendly.
Location: The restaurants nearby are mostly closed on Sunday.
Booked a triple room at GBP 117 for 2 nights. The room is much more spacious than in the photo.No air conditioning in the room and it was a hot day, we had the windows opened all night. The bathroom and toilet are separated. The lobby and hall way was messy when we arrived, but our room was clean. They would leave your luggage at a corner in the lobby if you arrive before check in time. The evening shift receptionist (Kase?) is very friendly. Around 10-15 minutes walk to brussels central train station. Overall, value for money. Would only recommend if the price is lower or stay the same.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Timisoara,Romania

Nice hotel not far away from center

Posted Mar 31, 2016
Pros: Stuff very positive
Cons: Frige in the room , maybe ?
Location: about 20 min walk to centre
Nice experience in this hotel, stuff friendly, clean room, not far away from downtown. waffles must be tasted. Metro station not faraway too. Nice experience for three nights.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel but zero amenities

Posted Mar 7, 2016
Pros: The location is good as it is a 2 minute walk to the metro and also there is a great square around the corner offering local beers and some nice food.
Cons: Provide amenities in the room, even if just a kettle with tea and coffee options.
Location: 2 minute walk from the Madou metro station, nearby coffee shops and bars.
The hotel looks stunning from the outside, however there are zero amenities in the room so you cannot even have a drink. In addition to this, there is no bar or coffee station, just a selection of beers and espressos from reception.