Ratings based on 164 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Lisa D.

Interesting history

Posted Mar 22, 2016 on Ebookers
Like staying at quirky places with bit of history/character and this fits the bill. Great location especially for walking into town (walking back is bit up hill!) Brilliant value for money. Just what we were looking for.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Very romantic hotel- great for couples

Posted Jul 7, 2015
Pros: the ambiance, quality of food, room decor
Cons: bathroom setup, prices for food
My fiancee and I stayed here for about a week, and very much enjoyed our experience. The hotel has a very unique, very romantic, ambiance. Our room was small, but still comfortable. Breakfast and dinner at the hotel restaurant were fantastic, although expensive. I would not recommend the hotel to business travelers, as it is dark and people in adjacent rooms and the bar may be staying up late and making some noise. For a couple on vacation, however, it was a great deal for the price. The history of the hotel is pretty fascinating too, and the overall decor is fantastic.The setup of our room was a little strange, however: bathtub in the entryway (on carpet) and toilet in the shower.
5 out of 5
by Vahid from Venezia

Nice location and interesting history

Posted Jul 3, 2015 on Hotels
This was indeed a very interesting hotel for me since I didn't read about the history of the hotel before booking. (You should do it!) The hotel is recently renovated and it is clean, however expect very small rooms with little space and no fridge!. The location of the hotel is very good, you can reach the center in 15 minutes on foot and there is also a metro stop nearby. We tried the hotel's breakfast once and it was good but I think a bit expensive. The behavior of the staff was good, but they speak English only at the reception so I had some difficulties asking some questions at the breakfast time.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 30, 2015 on Hotels
Very nice hotel, great location. Only minus the noise in between rooms.
1 out of 5
by KO13UK

Worst hotel ever

Posted May 19, 2015 on Ebookers
Hotel never warned us there were construction work directly outside the hotel making it impossible to carry heavy luggages to the front of the hotel. The whole Rue du Berger road was dug up and had no pavements so no transport can drop off luggages in front of the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Aleksandr

Good place to stay

Posted Apr 27, 2015 on HotelClub
All is great, rooms little bit small, but this is not a problem.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Alison J.

4 days as a couple

Posted Apr 18, 2015 on Ebookers
The Hotel Berger is a quirky colourful hotel with an equally colourful past. The black and red stairwell leading up to the bedrooms and low lighting is evocative of the hotel's previous form as a bordello and while amusing, makes unlocking your black bedroom door somewhat of a challenge. The standard room in which we stayed was tiny, allowing room for a double bed, pressed up against a wall with one bedside table only. The en-suite shower room has only space for a good shower but with clinging shower curtain and a WC so that the hand basin is at the foot of the bed. Not ideal for cleanliness. The staff were all perfectly courteous and polite and the cleanliness of the hotel was extremely good. The public areas are all well maintained and comfortably weird looking with a stuffed peacock in reception. I would recommend this hotel for a weekend if you wish to visit Brussels with a partner and want somewhere reasonably priced within walking distance of the city and don't need to spend any time in your hotel room other than in bed. It would not be suitable for a business traveller who may need a desk or at least a chair in their hotel room.
2 out of 5
by jawan2013

Brothel Ambiance

Posted Apr 6, 2015 on Orbitz
The Hotel seems very nice when you walk into the lobby and the staff are friendly, but when you go to the back and up the elevator that barely fits two humans, the scenery changes significantly. The lighting is extremely dim, there is no sunlight, the wallpaper is very dark, and the lights are red and and corridors are very dark. I felt like I walked into a brothel. I felt very uncomfortable. The room had only one extremely small window that didn't open. The room BARELY fit the bed. If we weren't so exhausted from our trip, we would have walked out of the hotel and booked somewhere else.
4 out of 5
by Anne Marie from London

Good value option for those who dislike chains

Posted Feb 5, 2015 on Hotels
Stayed here one night for business. Room is clean and comfortable although very short on power sockets - had to unplug lamp to charge phone - but otherwise fine and the wifi works. Staff excellent, breakfast very good, and the location is extremely convenient for the Metro. The hotel is very quirkly decorated and is not your standard issue chain hotel so if you're the sort of person who likes a bit of character in your accommodation, it's an excellent choice If you're the sort of traveller who likes pale coloured walls and a desk facility, then this isn't for you
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Emily P.

Lovely stay for couple's weekend getaway

Posted Jan 7, 2015 on Orbitz
Brussels is a beautiful city and we were lucky enough to catch the tail end of all the Christmas markets! My boyfriend and I stayed for three nights at Le Berger and were very pleased with the pleasant staff, manageable distance to the city center (10-15 minute walk only) with a large shopping area nearby, and very cozy beds. It was hard to wake up in the morning after long days of exploring! We did not experience the attached restaurant but we found a really wonderful cafe/coffee shop called Jat that I highly recommend if you're into nice specialty drinks and delicious brunch/bagel sandwiches.