Ratings based on 71 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

1 night stay

Posted Jan 8, 2017
Staff are extremly friendly and helpful. The room needs a face lift,, bed sheets had hair on them and weird smell. The curtain would not close all the way, so the street lights came in at night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Padre Island TX

Perfect Location

Posted Sep 27, 2016
Very comfortable hotel in a perfect location, just steps from the Avenue Louise tram line and about 200 meters from Place Chatrlain.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel and part of Expedia vip

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Pleasantly surprised at Tuscan patio and Expedia vip upgrade. Good location. Taxi stand outside which is very convenient in Brussels.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Lovely hotel, a good distance from the centre

Posted Mar 22, 2016
Lovely hotel with very friendly and helpful staff. Just outside of the centre, very close to the tram stop into the centre.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Purley, UK

Convenient for city centre

Posted Dec 4, 2015
Pros: Attentive and helpful staff. Clean comfortable room.
Cons: Black tea should be offered in the room; we had only Earl Grey, camomile and fruit teas.
Location: Convenient for access to the city centre. Trams 93 & 94 were 50 metres from the hotel and linked (2 stops) with the Metro.
Stayed for 4 nights visiting my sister and seeing the Brussels attractions. As our visit was during the security alert we had 2-4 armed soldiers at the entrance to the hotel but they were pleasant and greeted us whenever we arrived or departed the hotel. There were very few tourists so we the Atomium and the Parliamentarium and other attractions more or less to ourselves.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Intimate hotel experience

Posted Nov 9, 2015
We enjoyed our week-long stay at The Chatelain. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. The bartender in the hotel bar was a really nice fellow. Sadly, we were at the hotel for his final days. He really made the little bar fun for us. We loved the snacks they provided in the bar. The neighborhood is decent. The tram is close by. If you like to walk you won't mind walking to the main square. Unfortunately, the neighborhood is long on boutiques and somewhat short on bars and restaurants. Finding a welcoming bar or restaurant in Brussels proved tricky. We experienced quite a bit of rude service. And the poor service wasn't just because we were Americans. We saw many instances of shoddy service to others around us. Many in the Brussels "hospitality" industry did not really seem to understand the term hospitality. The room at The Chatelain was nice. There was definitely some wear and tear. The bathroom had a tub and a shower. Of course they decided to put the toilet in a separate little closet. Personally, I am not somebody that feels that a shower and a tub cannot get along together in the same room. Our room had a beautiful view of the office building across the street. So, the view did not help boost the room's star rating. Overall, I enjoyed staying at The Chatelain. You may want to bring your own pillow.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in good area

Posted Sep 20, 2015
I like the hotel from A to Z. Location about 50 minutes walk to center but the area surrounding the hotel is luxury area
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Wrong size bed on arrival, dirty room, no aircon

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Pros: Its setting was near where we needed to be.
Cons: If you book and pay for a king size bed then that's what you should get when you arrive, not excuses that sometimes those rooms are not available.
Location: Fine.
I booked two executive rooms with king size beds. On arrival one of the rooms for my partner, who is 6 months pregnant, didn't have a king size bed. The staff at reception said they didn't always have rooms spare with king size beds, in which case why was I allowed to book them in the first place! I complained and she was given a room with a king size bed. The first evening was hot and the room's air conditioning was not working. The night staff were good in trying to fix it and brought a portable air conditioner to the room but it was too noisy to sleep. My partner was then moved to another room (at 1.30am) which had dirty food stains on the carpet and a dirty bathroom floor. I complained and sent photos of the dirty floors to the manager and on my departure I was met by her and given credits for WIFI and meals I'd bought at the hotel in compensation. I accepted this but a five star hotel should be spot on - so was left disappointed with the experience.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not as comfortable as hoped

Posted Jul 16, 2015
Had three rooms in less than one night, air conditioning broken and one of rooms not clean to five star standards. Disappointing unfortunately.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Excellent hotel with wonderful staff

Posted Jul 15, 2015
Visited Brussels for one night. Wonderful small hotel, on a side street. Impressed by professionalism of staff. Location is good, short walk to city centre (20 minutes). Parking is expensive, but worry free. Very comfortable beds, had a good sleep.