Ratings based on 1,046 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 30, 2016
Very close to the train station and in a great location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wellington, Somerset, UK

Last minute switch took us to this hotel

Posted Dec 24, 2016
We arrive at the Hotel Metropole because of the closure of our original hotel, and the very quick action by Expedia in arranging new accommodation at short notice. We had passed by the hotel on previous visits, but never been in, so when we arrived, we had no pre-conceived ideas. When we walked in, we were greeted by a gorgeous lobby & reception area, with an opulence & elegance indicative of the times the hotel was first opened, just beautiful. The room we were allocated was fine, if a little dated, but it was warm & comfortable. The breakfast buffet was superb, with everything you could wish for in ample supply. Our breakfast was included in the room, courtesy of the enforced move, but I'm not sure, good as it was, if we would have paid €28 a head for it, if it hadn't have been included. The Cafe' Metropole, which is attached to the hotel, was equally as elegant as the rest of the downstairs area, and was well used, by both guests and the public alike. The menu was varied, although not hugely extensive, but the food was excellent. All in all, a really pleasant stay, with helpful and pleasant staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Historic hotel right in the heart of Brussels

Posted Dec 23, 2016
Pros: Everything! Beautiful rooms, helpful and friendly staff, and in an amazing location.
Cons: The bed was a little uncomfortable (I also prefer a very soft mattress) & the restaurant's meals were so-so for the expensive prices.
Location: Shopping, Christmas markets, Grand Place - Everything was within walking distance!
Beautiful, historic, affordable, and right in the heart of Brussels... need I say more? Skip the expensive restaurant for anything other than a coffee or tea!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 16, 2016
The Hotel Metropole is very well situated an easy walk from all the places of interest in Brussels. It is well worth enjoying a coffee or drink the wonderful Cafe and admiring the architecture. As a single traveller I was made very comfortable and I felt very safe.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Grand and well located

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Excellent area, helpful staff, and a grand hotel with a touch of charm.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great hotel , rooms very old

Posted Dec 12, 2016
The communal areas of the hotel are great, it's very grand inside and the staff are lovely. Our room wasn't great though - the pictures make the rooms look big and grand , ours was small and it smelt like dust and very musky , the heating was on full the entire time and there no ventilation for the bathroom so it was always really hot which made the smell worse - - I think it was the furnishings - so rooms need an upgrade but overall a good stay and perfect location for markets and shopping
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Great location and loved the ground floor

Posted Dec 11, 2016
Pros: Staff, lobby, bar
Cons: Rooms are a little tired but large and comfortable. Gluten free cake option in th cafe would be nice!
Location: A few minutes from the metro and 5 stops to Eurostar station, lines 3 and 4. Walked to everything---Bozar, Beaux Arts, Grand Place
It you are in Brussels for a weekend this is perfect - walking distance to just about everything - Grand Place, Christmas market, Bozar and Beaux Arts plus the usual shops and many restaurants. Staff smart and professional, spectacular lobby and ground floor cafe/bar which is used by a lot of locals.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from E

Nice hotel close to Christmas Market

Posted Dec 10, 2016
Stayed in December for two nights over the weekend. Booked with Expedia and paid however was told at the hotel that you had to pay another 50 euro deposit per day for the room(I don't remember Expedia stating this- so I was quite shocked) Checked in and was given a double room with a double bed. Went downstairs and told the lady at check in. She didn't believe me that I ordered a twin so I had to show her the print out. She was a bit rude and you had a sense she couldn't be bothered. We went back to room and later told there were no rooms free in the hotel so to call in the morning and maybe we could move. As we were tired we couldn't be bothered to argue and stayed. The next morning we went downstairs after waiting to be contacted, and spoke to a very friendly man at the desk who found as a room on the fifth floor and we were moved in 15 minutes. Apart from that the room was fine on both the 6th floor and the 5 floor. Nice clean bathroom which were very spacious. Beds were comfy. Lovely room. Minibar has 6 drinks for free, though could do with another bottle of water rather than the beer! Hotel located close to the market, we walked everywhere and they booked us a taxi very quickly for our eurostar when we checked out on Sunday. Apart from the first lady at the check in and the wrong rooms it was a nice stay in a very beautiful hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Traditional art deco classic style

Posted Dec 10, 2016
Very smooth staff and classy place. It's like going back in time when things are slow and wood panels are everywhere. Enjoy the cafe too!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

well situated for the Christmas fair.

Posted Dec 9, 2016
Pros: Quite and well positioned
Cons: Breakfast self service
Location: Location great for all places of interest.
Lovely quite aspect - large comfortable bed - big room and good service.