Ratings based on 817 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cambridge UK

lovely hotel in nice area not far from Grand Place

Posted Aug 7, 2016
Cons: offer package for breakfast particularly for families as it is expensive at €30 a person including children.
Location: close to Royal Palace and European Parliament.
overall very happy with the hotel and had a very enjoyable stay.Extremely pleasant and helpful reception staff, who often went beyond the call of duty.Did not try the breakfast as it would cost us as a family of five €150 per day which is expensive. the hotel has nice touches such as free smoothies in the reception, bowls of fruit and umbrellas to borrow for a rainy day. the hotel has an underground car park (chargeable) which is a great asset if you have a car. The only slight negative is that occassionally the quality of the cleaning of the room wasn't always consistent e.g. once the floor wasn't vacuumed, another time mugs and cutlery replacements were forgotten. also the TVs were unreliable, however the staff kindly allowed us to upgrade the room (although one of the TVs in the second room also didn't work!). my understanding is that they were installing a new software system in the TVs so teething issues are understandable. the coffee machine didn't initially work but this was soon fixed. We will definitely stay there again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Not really a 5-star place

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Pros: Cheap
Cons: Reduce the price of breakfast; and sort out the power problem (see above).
Location: Boring European quarter (which was, I guess, why I was there). Walk to the Marolles or Ixelles for a more interesting place for dinner.
I had a very cheap rate for the hotel, so maybe I'm being too picky in expecting it to be a 5-star location. But the room was pretty small (mezzanine bed), with an irritating system which turned all the power off when I turned the lights off for the night (thereby leaving my watch and phone uncharged for the next day). Shower (above a bath) was reasonably powerful, but with slight spraying from the side of the attachment.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Elegant hotel in central Brussels area

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Pros: Central, clean, elegant.
Cons: Room was quite warm. Breakfast is extortionate.
Location: Great location, just a stroll to the European Parliament.
I got a great deal from Expedia, probably because we are into the summer holiday period. The Stanhope is comfortable, clean, elegant and close the European Parliament. But I wouldn't pay the usual costs to stay there, it is not that great.
5 out of 5
by Felix

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 28, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by kirsten

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 27, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Kieu from Oslo

Perfekt for forretningsreise

Posted Apr 18, 2016 on Hotels
Supert hotell i EU parlament området. Perfekt for forretningsreise og kort vei til sentrum
Comment from Hotel Management
by Stanhope Management Team, Hotel Management
Dear Mr. Kieu, We thank your kind review, and look forward welcoming you again soon. Michael VDB Front Office Manager Stanhope Hotel
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A classic hotel with quirks

Posted Apr 12, 2016
Pros: Terrific breakfasts and the Brighton Restaurant is wonderful for an evening romantic treat.
Cons: There are AWFUL fluorescent green/crimson-covered faux antique chairs in the lobby. No no no -paintings, marble and antique Iranian rugs - and those!
Location: Walkable to either the lower town and the upper European district
A terrific three-day break in a wonderful room. The hotel is classic but has some quirks. My personal favourite was having breakfast and coffee in the inner courtyard under the Magnolia trees. A little sun trap. Staff are long-term employees and you can see they have a connection to the hotel... It was the first Five-star Hotel in Brussels and remains somewhere to relax and enjoy your time in Brussels.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 18, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Client, We would like to thank you for having chosen the Stanhope Hotel for your stay in Brussels and for having shared your wonderful comments with the Expedia costumers. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our Hotel and that our services completely met your expectations. Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back on your next trip to Brussels, we remain,Yours sincerely, The stanhope Management Team.
3 out of 5
by Tod from MD, US

Nice, but not for me.

Posted Mar 22, 2016 on Hotels
The location of the hotel was ideal for European government agency and Parliament meetings, all which were within 10 minute walking distance. The hotel had a very European charm. Doesn't look like much from the outside - there is no doorman and it's on a side street, but after walking in the corridor to the lobby, the hotel opens up and has a courtyard off the main lobby. The rooms were very clean and ok size for Europe, which tends towards the smaller side. The service was very friendly, although, I did have to wait over 30 minutes for them to deliver an iron and ironing board. I am used to them being in the room, so that was a negative. The temperature control did not work properly and the room was VERY warm. Also, I reserved a king sized bed, but the bed was actually a king frame with two separate twins put together. As I rolled over, the mattresses kept sliding apart. I am 6 foot 2 and 250 pounds and a twin sized bed is just exceptionally uncomfortable, especially when you're paying for a king. Also, there was only one outlet near the desk, so you had to either use it for your laptop and sit in the dark, or use it for the desk lamp and not use the desk when working. Totally useless. Overall, this was a charming hotel, perhaps good for a leisure visit and if you're not an above average sized person, but not very fit for business.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 19, 2016 by Stanhope Management Team, Hotel Management
Dear Tod, We would like to thank you for having chosen the Stanhope Hotel for your stay in Brussels and for having shared your comments with Expedia costumers. We are pleased to hear that the location of our Hotel met your expectations. As we are currently working to keep up the high standard of services, we have forwarded your comments concerning the room to our Housekeeping Manager and he will certainly take them into consideration for further improvements. Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back on your next trip to Brussels, we remain,Yours sincerely, The stanhope Management Team.
5 out of 5
by Saila from Espoo

Posted Mar 10, 2016 on Hotels
Kaunis hotelli, loistava palvelu ja erityisen ihanan pehmeä sänky ja liinavaatteet.
5 out of 5
by Dorin

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 4, 2016 on Hotels