Ratings based on 767 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Johannesburg South Africa

Great area walking distance to attractions.

Posted Sep 28, 2016
First time visit to Brussels. Fabulous welcoming experience on arrival at The Hotel. Concierge was so helpful with planning excursions. All our needs were met without hesitation. The breakfast was amazing. Enjoyed the teatime relaxing in the lounge area and the cakes so yummy. Pre dinner cocktails are delicious - try their grapefruit gin.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vienna, AUSTRIA

The location of The Hotel is Top Avenue

Posted Sep 24, 2016
I had some difficulty getting to the Hotel as the address has an ambiguity. The Hotel is on the Toison D'OR but on paper it is Boulevard Waterloo. The room has ultra modern equipment and a window with great view of the city. I needed an iron and iron board, I got then within 5 minutes after calling the reception. The room has an ugly tall table which is not suitable for eating or drinking nor writing. It has not wheels. I left my iphone charger and cable in the room and I hope I will manage to have them sent to me.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 26, 2016 by Community Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Tj, Many thanks for having taken the time to write down your comments. It's a pleasure to see you have enjoyed your stay with us and you liked the room. If you have contacted our housekeeping department, they would be more than happy to send over the charger and cable you forgot. In the hopes of welcoming you once again, the entire The Hotel team and myself wish you a very nice day. Kind regards, Max Decock Community Manager The Hotel. Brussels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Greece

Extraordinary hotel!!

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Amazing and unforgetabe hotel. 100% recomendable great location and beautiful instalation. The ambience super Chic and the staff very friendly. Spacious and comfortable rooms. Great experience......... Excelent
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 22, 2016 by Community Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Paris, What a pleasure it is reading your reviews, many thanks for your kind words! We're happy to see that you had enjoyed your stay with us and that you liked the location as well as the ambiance and our staff, that's always nice to hear. In the hopes of welcoming you once again, the entire The Hotel team and myself wish you a very nice day. Kind regards, Max Decock Community Manager The Hotel. Brussels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Great night with a fabulous view and a special late check-out at 18.00.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 20, 2016 by Community Manager, Hotel Management
Dear, What a pleasure it is reading your review, many thanks for your kind words. We're very happy to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you liked the view as well as the late check-out. In the hopes of welcoming you once again, the entire The Hotel team and myself wish you a very nice day. Kind regards, Max Decock Community Manager The Hotel. Brussels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Nice hotel

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: The location is fantastic and the room is comfortable.
Cons: Need other TV channels such as BBC 1 for those of us that can't speak french or but would like to watch other things but the news all the time.
Location: Location is fantastic and walking distance from all major attractions.
Location is brillient and the stuff was nice but I wish we had coffee/tea facilites in the room. I also wish they had an option of BBC 1 and not just the news .
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 21, 2016 by Community Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Simon, Many thanks for having taken the time to write down your comments. We're happy to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you liked the location as well the room. However, it's a pity that our in-room facilities did not live up to your expectations. I would like to rectify that we have over 100 international TV channels (among which also BBC1), our apologies if you didn't find that on our TV. Besides that we have ample coffee and tea amenities in the room, it was in the closet when entering the room. It's a pity you didn't discover this. In the hopes of welcoming you once again, the entire The Hotel team and myself wish you a very nice day. Kind regards, Max Decock Community Manager The Hotel. Brussels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

City break, close to all amenities

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Lovely break away with culture & retail therapy , Bruge was a beautiful place to visit
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 15, 2016 by Community Manager, Hotel Management
Dear, Many thanks for having taken the time to write down your comments. We're happy to see that you enjoyed a nice cultural break away. Retail therapy is always the best therapy! Glad to see you chose The Hotel as a starting point. In the hopes of welcoming you once again in the near future, the entire The Hotel team and myself wish you a fantastic day. Kind regards, Max Decock Community Manager The Hotel. Brussels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Large clean rooms and comfortable beds

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Room is large and clean. Beds are comfortable. Location is not exactly city center but close to subways to/from down town. Very good value. Will stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 13, 2016 by Community Manager, Hotel Management
Dear, Many thanks for having taken the time to write down your comments. It's a pleasure to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you like the room as well as the bed. We were thrilled to have you over and are happy you felt the same. We look forward to seeing you once again in the near future. Kind regards, Max Decock Community Manager The Hotel. Brussels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean and Comfortable, but terrible wifi.

Posted Sep 10, 2016
One of my main criteria in choosing a hotel when I travel is the access to (free) wifi. Unfortunately, this service at The Hotel was a source of frustration as all of my computer devices would show I was connected, but there was not always a connection to the Internet. Very frustrating to waste so much time trying to get the Internet to work, when I had work to do.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 12, 2016 by Community Manager, Hotel Management
Dear, Many thanks for having taken time to write down your comments. Our sincerest apologies for the issues you have encountered with our WiFi. It is true that we have experienced issues with our connectivity last week. We have put everything in the works to fix this and in the meantime the WiFi is up and running again. Of course this doesn't make up for the fact that you it didn't work while you were here. Once again our apologies. We hope this will not prevent you from staying with us again as it was a pleasure having you over. Kind regards, Max Decock Community Manager The Hotel. Brussels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montreal, QC, Canada

Great stay and wedding at The Hotel

Posted Sep 7, 2016
My girlfriend and I stayed here for a wedding taking place in the hotel. The room was excellent with an amazing view of the city, location was great as it was in walking distance of all major sites, shopping and restaurants. The wedding they hosted was also excellent, good facilities for cocktails and dinner. The spa is also worth checking out for a sauna with a view of the city and a steam room. My only complaint would be that the hotel seems to be infusing the common areas (lobby and hallways) with some kind of perfune scent. This was not a major issue and did not affect out room, but we didn't feel it was necessary and neither did many other guests attending the wedding. This would not affect my decision to come back or not, but is more of a constructive criticism.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2016 by Community Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Dylan, Many thanks for having taken the time to write down your comments. It's a pleasure to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you had a great wedding. We are happy that you liked the room as well as the location and spa. Thank you as well for your comment on our perfume. I will pass it to the concerned department so they can take into consideration. Our apologies if this caused any inconvenience. We were thrilled to have you over and would love to do so again, so we hope we'll be able to welcome you once again in the near future. In the meantime, the entire The Hotel team and myself wish you a very nice day. Kind regards, Max Decock Community Manager The Hotel. Brussels Boulevard de Waterloo 38 1000 Brussels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from G

À recommander...

Posted Sep 5, 2016
The Hotel est très bien situé, que ce soit pour le shopping ou pour visiter la ville. De plus, il possède un parking. L'hôtel est moderne, le personnel est à votre écoute. Les chambres sont très bien agencées et très jolies. La literie est de très bonne qualité Le petit déjeuner est à conseiller car il est délicieux et très varié.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 8, 2016 by Community Manager, Hotel Management
Bonjour Valérie, C'est un plaisir de lire vos commentaires, un grand merci pour vos jolis mots ! Nous sommes contents que vous avez aimé la localisation ainsi que les chambres et notre personnel. En espérant avoir le plaisir de vous accueillir lors d'une prochaine visite, toute l'équipe de The Hotel et moi-même vous souhaitons une excellente journée. Bien cordialement, Max Decock Community Manager The Hotel. Brussels